Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries

An encyclopaedia containing over 4,000 legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law, with introductory notes explaining the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicating where and when each should be used. Available online and in print. Hard copy volumes are located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 347.92 AUST.

A plain English reference dictionary for Australian law students. Available in print only, in the Law Library's textbook and reference collections at call number 345.03 BUTT.

An online reference work containing over 25,000 definitions. Terms are defined in an Australian context and entries list Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.

The Australian Law Dictionary has been built from the ground up and ‘mapped’ around 25 key legal subject areas to ensure comprehensive coverage of core legal content. Available via Oxford Reference Online. Hard copy also located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.03 AUST.

This work provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined by legislation or interpreted by judges in the courts. Available online or in print. Hard copy volumes are located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.03 AUST.

Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, MPEPIL represents a fully updated, comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law. The authors of the articles are legal scholars and practitioners from all over the world.

An encyclopaedia offering a comparative law analysis of the world’s legal systems. Individual country reports are included as well as volumes addressing specific legal topics. Available in print only, in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 340.50023 INTE.

An online encyclopaedia which provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales. Entries are also annotated with references to relevant case law and legislation.

A British encyclopaedia covering all areas of law and legal systems. It consists of over 1,700 alphabetically arranged entries which are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation. Available online and in print. The hard copy is located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.03 NEW

An online encyclopaedia offering a comprehensive guide to the development and current status of American law, featuring over 500 alphabetically arranged entries.

An online American legal encyclopaedia which contains over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics.
To find this title in Westlaw (International Materials) database, type 'american jurisprudence' in the search box and select the corresponding suggested result.

An online dictionary containing over 4,200 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.

A United States plain English online legal dictionary which provide definitions of more than 4,000 legal terms together with common abbreviations, foreign words and phrases, and a full copy of the United States Constitution.

An online reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. A hard copy is also available in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 341.403 PARR.