Books

Beautiful Evidence by Edward R. Tufte The book identifies excellent and effective methods for presenting information, suggests new designs, and provides tools for assessing the credibility of evidence presentations. Here we will see serious evidence presentations-ranging through evolutionary trees and rocket science to economics, art history, and sculpture.

Data points : visualization that means something by Nathan Yau

Good Charts by Scott Berinato This book provides an essential guide to how visualization works and how to use this new language to impress and persuade. Dataviz and a good visualization can communicate the nature and potential impact of information and powerfully convey ideas more powerfully than any other form of communication.

Information dashboard design : displaying data for at-a-glance monitoring, 2nd ed. by Stephen Few Stephen Few exposes the common problems in dashboard design and describes its best practices in great detail and with a multitude of examples in this updated 2nd edition. Dashboards have become a popular means to present critical information at a glance, yet few do so effectively. The book not only teaches how to design dashboards but also gives a deep understanding of the concepts "rooted in brain science" that explain the why behind the how.

Say It with Presentations by Gene Zelazny Say It With Presentations features a wealth of practical information on: Selecting the best medium_traditional standup presentation, discussion meeting, video conference, or virtual presentation Designing your presentation_knowing what to put in and what to leave out Determining your message_how to make it clear, direct, and appropriate for the intended audience Writing the presentation_crafting the most effective story line, introduction, and ending Making the most of visuals_including computer-driven onscreen presentations with animation, scanned images, sound, video, and links Creating charts, text visuals, and storyboards_to produce the most attractive and convincing presentation Projecting confidence, conviction, and enthusiasm_to hold audience attention and generate interest in your ideas Rehearsing the presentation_to search out imperfections and make the event as compelling as possible Setting up facilities and equipment_to ensure that everything is working smoothly and geared for a first-rate presentation Applying your delivery skills_putting together all the oral, video, and audio effects and delivering them at the right pace Getting used to answering questions_by preparing for and anticipating post-presentation queries from the audience.

Semiology of graphics : diagrams, networks, maps by Jacques Bertin Semiology of Graphics holds a significant place in the theory of information design. Founded on Jacques Bertin's practical experience as a cartographer, Part One of this work is an unprecedented attempt to synthesize principles of graphic communication with the logic of standard rules applied to writing and topography. Part Two brings Bertin's theory to life, presenting a close study of graphic techniques including shape, orientation, color, texture, volume, and size in an array of more than 1,000 maps and diagrams.

Signal: understanding what matters in a world of noise by Stephen Few In and of itself, data is neither. Assuming that data is accurate, it is merely a collection of facts. When a fact is true and useful, only then is it a signal. When it's not, it's noise. This provides the straightforward, practical instruction using data visualization methods, the author teaches how to apply statistics to gain a comprehensive understanding of one's data and adapts the techniques of Statistical Process Control in new ways to detect not just changes in the metrics but also changes in the patterns that characterize data.

Storytelling with Data by Cole Nussbaumer Knaflic Storytelling with Data is not an inherent skill, especially when it comes to data visualization, and the tools at our disposal don't make it any easier. This book demonstrates how to go beyond conventional tools to reach the root of your data, and how to use your data to create an engaging, informative, compelling story.

The Truthful Art by Alberto Cairo The Truthful Art is an introduction to quantitative thinking and statistical and cartographical representation written specifically for journalists and designers. A follow-up to The Functional Art, it goes into the specifics of how to create functional charts, maps, and graphs.

Turning Numbers into Knowledge by Jonathan Garo Koomey; John P. Holdren (Foreword by) This book (intended for beginning analysts, students, and the people training them) bridges general business problem solving and mathematics for improved effectiveness in work and life. This new edition is full of tools for solving real-world problems - an ideal training manual for those who are intimidated by quantitative analysis and an excellent refresher for those looking to improve the quality of their data, the clarity of their graphics, and the cogency of their arguments.

Visualize This : The FlowingData Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics, 2nd ed. by Nathan Yau One of the most influential data visualization books--updated with new techniques, technologies, and examples Visualize This demonstrates how to explain data visually, so that you can present and communicate information in a way that is appealing and easy to understand. Today, there is a continuous flow of data available to answer almost any question. Thoughtful charts, maps, and analysis can help us make sense of this data. But the data does not speak for itself. As leading data expert Nathan Yau explains in this book, graphics provide little value unless they are built upon a firm understanding of the data behind them. Visualize This teaches you a data-first approach from a practical point of view. You'll start by exploring what your data has to say, and then you'll design visualizations that are both remarkable and meaningful. With this book, you'll discover what tools are available to you without becoming overwhelmed with options. You'll be exposed to a variety of software and code and jump right into real-world datasets so that you can learn visualization by doing. You'll learn to ask and answer questions with data, so that you can make charts that are both beautiful and useful. Visualize This also provides you with opportunities to apply what you learn to your own data. This completely updated, full-color second edition: Presents a unique approach to visualizing and telling stories with data, from data visualization expert Nathan Yau Offers step-by-step tutorials and practical design tips for creating statistical graphics, geographical maps, and information design Details tools that can be used to visualize data graphics for reports, presentations, and stories, for the web or for print, with major updates for the latest R packages, Python libraries, JavaScript libraries, illustration software, and point-and-click applications Contains numerous examples and descriptions of patterns and outliers and explains how to show them Information designers, analysts, journalists, statisticians, data scientists--as well as anyone studying for careers in these fields--will gain a valuable background in the concepts and techniques of data visualization, thanks to this legendary book.

Visual Strategies by Felice C. Frankel; Angela H. DePace For researchers in all disciplines, this book offers a practical, hands-on course in communicating scientific findings and concepts through visual graphics Any scientist or engineer who communicates research results will immediately recognize this practical handbook as an indispensable tool. The guide sets out clear strategies and offers abundant examples to assist researchers--even those with no previous design training--with creating effective visual graphics for use in multiple contexts, including journal submissions, grant proposals, conference posters, or presentations. Visual communicator Felice Frankel and systems biologist Angela DePace, along with experts in various fields, demonstrate how small changes can vastly improve the success of a graphic image. They dissect individual graphics, show why some work while others don't, and suggest specific improvements. The book includes analyses of graphics that have appeared in such journals as Science, Nature, Annual Reviews, Cell, PNAS, and the New England Journal of Medicine, as well as an insightful personal conversation with designer Stefan Sagmeister and narratives by prominent researchers and animators.

Graph it : reading charts and graphs by Gillian Gosman Charts and graphs help students illustrate their point in research papers, presentations, and other class projects. This book teaches readers how to read, understand, and create charts and graphs. It also teaches them how to apply that knowledge to real-world situations. Readers will learn different kinds of charts and graphs for different subjects, including science, social studies, and ELA. "Quick Tip" boxes give applicable advice, while supplemental websites provide a gate for further exploration. A glossary, table of contents, and index make it easy to gain full understanding of the topic.