Encyclopedia of GIS by Shashi Shekhar (Editor); Hui Xiong (Editor); Xun Zhou (Editor)New In This Edition: This second edition of the Encyclopedia of GIS includes 30% to 50% new content. It provides up-to-date information on emerging topics such as spatial big data, smart-phone GIS, urban computing and mobile recommender systems. It also expands the first edition's rich set of GIS-related commercial and societal applications such as geo-targeting, geo-fencing and understanding climate changes, while enabling more comprehensive coverage of classical GIS topics such as map projections, global positioning systems and spatial cognition. The entries explain the key software, data sets and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Additionally, the reference emphasizes the role of GIS in business and mobile intelligence. By offering more diversified GIS-related topics from theory and research than most of the other available literature, the authors equip newcomers to the field with principles as well as applications. With an accessible breadth of content and intuitive A-Z organization, this new edition of the encyclopedia is an invaluable reference for newcomers to the field of GIS, as well as researchers, students, developers and professionals who are interested in exploring this new dynamic area. Praise For The First Edition: "The focus here, however, is on the mathematical and computational aspects of GIS ... . This is very welcome to those practitioners who have been less exposed to some of the mathematical and computational aspects of GIS. This is also very welcome to the researcher or graduate student within any of the interdisciplinary areas that use GIS. ... I highly recommend it." (Pascal V. Calarco, ACM Computing Reviews, November, 2008) "This single-volume reference work is a highly welcome ... addition to the rapidly advancing field of geographic information systems. Peer-reviewed entries from over 300 contributors cover 41 topical subfields, with an overall emphasis on computational aspects of GIS. The volume is adequately illustrated with 723 figures and 90 tables in black and white. A full bibliography and concise list of entry terms are provided at the back of the work. ... Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division geography students through professionals." (C. E. Smith, CHOICE, Vol. 45 (11), 2008) "The encyclopedia is divided into 41 fields, each one an important sub-area within GIS. ... the editors' organization of the material and comprehensive and systematic approach are superb and shall give students, eager readers as well as researchers an understanding of the topics in quite full depth and breadth. ... is lavishly illustrated with figures, graphs and tables, the design and execution of which are as perfect as the material they illustrate. ... it is sturdy and opens out nicely for study and reference." (Current Engineering Practice, 2008).
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Research on Geospatial Science and Technologies by Joyce Gosata Maphanyane (Editor); Read Brown Mthanganyika Mapeo (Editor); Modupe O. Akinola (Editor)The impacts of climate change are beginning to be felt throughout the world, yet there is no clear explanation as to how these changes will alter our future. The research being conducted within the geospatial science field is pivotal to understanding the effects the global environment is experiencing. The Handbook of Research on Geospatial Science and Technologies is an essential scholarly reference source that evaluates the current methodologies and trends in geospatial science, and how these insights provide society with more efficient and effective ways to manage natural resources. Featuring discussions on relevant topics such as cartography, geographical information systems, remotely sensed data, and sustainability management, this publication is an informative resource for all academicians, students, scientists, and researchers that are interested in emerging developments within geospatial science.
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems by Kang-Tsung ChangIntroduction to Geographic Information Systems, 8th edition is designed to provide students in a first or second GIS course with a solid foundation in both GIS concepts and the use of GIS. Introduction to GIS strikes a careful balance between GIS concepts and hands-on applications. The main portion of the chapter presents GIS terms and concepts and helps students learn how each one fits into a complete GIS system. At the end of each chapter, an application section with 2-7 tasks presents students with actual GIS exercises and the necessary data to solve the problem.
Publication Date: 2015
The Routledge Companion to Spatial History by Ian Gregory (Editor); Don DeBats (Editor); Don Lafreniere (Editor)The Routledge Companion to Spatial History explores the full range of ways in which GIS can be used to study the past, considering key questions such as what types of new knowledge can be developed solely as a consequence of using GIS and how effective GIS can be for different types of research. Global in scope and covering a broad range of subjects, the chapters in this volume discuss ways of turning sources into a GIS database, methods of analysing these databases, methods of visualising the results of the analyses, and approaches to interpreting analyses and visualisations. Chapter authors draw from a diverse collection of case studies from around the world, covering topics from state power in imperial China to the urban property market in nineteenth-century Rio de Janeiro, health and society in twentieth-century Britain and the demographic impact of the Second Battle of Ypres in 1915. Critically evaluating both the strengths and limitations of GIS and illustrated with over two hundred maps and figures, this volume is an essential resource for all students and scholars interested in the use of GIS and spatial analysis as a method of historical research.
Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE Handbook of GIS and Society by Timothy L. Nyerges (Editor); Helen Couclelis (Editor); Robert McMasterOver the past twenty years research on the evolving relationship between GIS and Society has been expanding into a wide variety of topical areas, becoming in the process an increasingly challenging and multifaced endeavor. The SAGE Handbook of GIS and Society is a retrospective and prospective overview of GIS and Society research that provides an expansive and critical assessment of work in that field.Emphasizing the theoretical, methodological and substantive diversity within GIS and Society research, the book highlights the distinctiveness and intellectual coherence of the subject as a field of study, while also examining its resonances with and between key themes, and among disciplines ranging from geography and computer science to sociology, anthropology, and the health and environmental sciences. Comprising 27 chapters, often with an international focus, the book is organized into six sections:Foundations of Geographic Information and SocietyGeographic Information and Modern LifeAlternative Representations of Geographic Information and SocietyOrganizations and InstitutionsParticipation and Community IssuesValue, Fairness, and Privacy
Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE Handbook of Spatial Analysis by A. Stewart Fotheringham (Editor); Peter A. Rogerson (Editor)The widespread use of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) has significantly increased the demand for knowledge about spatial analytical techniques across a range of disciplines. As growing numbers of researchers realize they are dealing with spatial data, the demand for specialized statistical and mathematical methods designed to deal with spatial data is undergoing a rapid increase. Responding to this demand, The SAGE Handbook of Spatial Analysis is a comprehensive and authoritative discussion of issues and techniques in the field of spatial data analysis. Its principal focus is on: Why the analysis of spatial data needs separate treatment The main areas of spatial analysis The key debates within spatial analysis Examples of the application of various spatial analytical techniques Problems in spatial analysis Areas for future research Aimed at an international audience of academics, The SAGE Handbook of Spatial Analysis will also prove essential to graduate level students and researchers in government agencies and the private sector.