Handbooks, encyclopaedias and dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Computer Graphics and Games by Newton Lee
The largest, most complete compilation of HCI theories, principles, advances, case studies, and more that exist within a single volume. The book captures the current and emerging sub-disciplines within HCI related to research, development, and practice that continue to advance at an astonishing rate. It features cutting-edge advances to the scientific knowledge base as well as visionary perspectives and developments that fundamentally transform the way in which researchers and practitioners view the discipline.
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9783319082349
Publication Date: 2012
The Game Producer's Handbook by Dan Irish
"The Game Producer's Handbook" offers a behind-the-scenes look at what it takes to succeed in the game industry, answering the question "what does it take to be a successful video game producer?" It is for those who yearn to achieve excellence in their work--individuals whose desire for excellence will define their careers in the entertainment software industry. It is for students who view the video game industry from the outside and want the knowledge and skills to succeed inside this burgeoning future of entertainment. Whatever their current role in the game industry, readers will be fascinated by this insider's glimpse into the role of Game Producer. They'll discover the reasoning behind some of the most common mistakes made in video game development. The author offers tips on how financial aspects of a project govern a producer's decisions and shows readers how to negotiate a good development deal that ensures a win-win situation for everyone. Readers will even learn how to produce an excellent soundtrack and will learn why the music is as important as the graphics.
Call Number: Ebook (Proquest Ebook Central)
ISBN: 9781592006175
Publication Date: 2005
Building Blocks of Tabletop Game Design by Geoffrey Engelstein; Isaac Shalev
Building Blocks of Tabletop Game Design: An Encyclopedia of Mechanismscompiles hundreds of different mechanisms, organized by category. Each has a description of how it works, discussion of its pros and cons, how it can be implemented, and examples of specific games that use it. Building Blockscan be read cover to cover, used as a reference when looking for inspiration for a new design, help solving a specific problem, or assist in getting unstuck in the midst of a project. This book, the first to collect mechanisms like this in the tabletop game design field, aims to be a practical guide that will be a great starting point for beginning designers, a handy guidebook for the experienced, and an ideal classroom textbook. 　 Key Features The first compendium of its kind in the tabletop game field. Covers the nuts and bolts of design to resolve specific challenges. Serves as a practical guide, a great starting point for beginning designers, and a reference for seasoned professionals. Contains discussion of a series of standalone mechanisms, in a standard format and style, with cross-links to related mechanics and specific examples. Includes hundreds of mechanism entries with accompanying diagrams and sample games to study. Ideal for professional or classroom use. Covers the nuts and bolts of design to resolve specific challenges. Serves as a practical guide, a great starting point for beginning designers, and a reference for seasoned professionals. Contains discussion of a series of standalone mechanisms, in a standard format and style, with cross-links to related mechanics and specific examples. Includes hundreds of mechanism entries with accompanying diagrams and sample games to study. Ideal for professional or classroom use.
Call Number: 794
ISBN: 9781138365490
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies by Ryohei Nakatsu (Editor); Matthias Rauterberg (Editor)
The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field. Engineers and researchers who want to learn about this emerging area will be able to find adequate answers regarding technology issues on digital entertainment. Designers and artists can learn how their skills and expertise can contribute to this emerging area. Also researchers working in the field of sociology and psychology will find how their experience and knowledge are connected to other areas such as technology and art/design. Although topics are written by foremost experts from the field, the description for each topic has been intended to be easily understandable but yet comprehensive enough so that it caters not only for the experts but also beginners and students in the field.
ISBN: 9789814560504
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Digital Games by Marios C. Angelides
This book covers the state-of-the-art in digital games research and development for anyone working with or studying digital games and those who are considering entering into this rapidly growing industry. Many books have been published that sufficiently describe popular topics in digital games; however, until now there has not been a comprehensive book that draws the traditional and emerging facets of gaming together across multiple disciplines within a single volume.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118796276
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Computer Graphics and Games by
The largest, most complete compilation of HCI theories, principles, advances, case studies, and more that exist within a single volume. The book captures the current and emerging sub-disciplines within HCI related to research, development, and practice that continue to advance at an astonishing rate. It features cutting-edge advances to the scientific knowledge base as well as visionary perspectives and developments that fundamentally transform the way in which researchers and practitioners view the discipline.
The Game Producer's Handbook by
"The Game Producer's Handbook" offers a behind-the-scenes look at what it takes to succeed in the game industry, answering the question "what does it take to be a successful video game producer?" It is for those who yearn to achieve excellence in their work--individuals whose desire for excellence will define their careers in the entertainment software industry. It is for students who view the video game industry from the outside and want the knowledge and skills to succeed inside this burgeoning future of entertainment. Whatever their current role in the game industry, readers will be fascinated by this insider's glimpse into the role of Game Producer. They'll discover the reasoning behind some of the most common mistakes made in video game development. The author offers tips on how financial aspects of a project govern a producer's decisions and shows readers how to negotiate a good development deal that ensures a win-win situation for everyone. Readers will even learn how to produce an excellent soundtrack and will learn why the music is as important as the graphics.
Building Blocks of Tabletop Game Design by
Building Blocks of Tabletop Game Design: An Encyclopedia of Mechanismscompiles hundreds of different mechanisms, organized by category. Each has a description of how it works, discussion of its pros and cons, how it can be implemented, and examples of specific games that use it. Building Blockscan be read cover to cover, used as a reference when looking for inspiration for a new design, help solving a specific problem, or assist in getting unstuck in the midst of a project. This book, the first to collect mechanisms like this in the tabletop game design field, aims to be a practical guide that will be a great starting point for beginning designers, a handy guidebook for the experienced, and an ideal classroom textbook. 　 Key Features The first compendium of its kind in the tabletop game field. Covers the nuts and bolts of design to resolve specific challenges. Serves as a practical guide, a great starting point for beginning designers, and a reference for seasoned professionals. Contains discussion of a series of standalone mechanisms, in a standard format and style, with cross-links to related mechanics and specific examples. Includes hundreds of mechanism entries with accompanying diagrams and sample games to study. Ideal for professional or classroom use. Covers the nuts and bolts of design to resolve specific challenges. Serves as a practical guide, a great starting point for beginning designers, and a reference for seasoned professionals. Contains discussion of a series of standalone mechanisms, in a standard format and style, with cross-links to related mechanics and specific examples. Includes hundreds of mechanism entries with accompanying diagrams and sample games to study. Ideal for professional or classroom use.
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies by
The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field. Engineers and researchers who want to learn about this emerging area will be able to find adequate answers regarding technology issues on digital entertainment. Designers and artists can learn how their skills and expertise can contribute to this emerging area. Also researchers working in the field of sociology and psychology will find how their experience and knowledge are connected to other areas such as technology and art/design. Although topics are written by foremost experts from the field, the description for each topic has been intended to be easily understandable but yet comprehensive enough so that it caters not only for the experts but also beginners and students in the field.
Handbook of Digital Games by
This book covers the state-of-the-art in digital games research and development for anyone working with or studying digital games and those who are considering entering into this rapidly growing industry. Many books have been published that sufficiently describe popular topics in digital games; however, until now there has not been a comprehensive book that draws the traditional and emerging facets of gaming together across multiple disciplines within a single volume.
