Dictionaries and encyclopaedias
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Economics by Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth Myles; John Black
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and publicfinance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area. The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions fromaround the world. Fully revised to keep up to date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as austerity measures, General Anti Abuse Rule, propensity score matching, and shadow bank.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a listof Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
Publication Date: 2017
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Palgrave Macmillan Ltd Staff (Editor)
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world’s most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
Publication Date: 2018
Terms of Trade by Alan V. Deardorff
"Have you ever wondered what a term in international economics means? This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered." "Besides an extensive glossary of terms, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by several lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall."--BOOK JACKET.
Publication Date: 2006
Dictionary of Environmental Economics by Anil Markandya; Renat Perelet; Tim Taylor; Pamela Mason; Peter Hough
A comprehensive dictionary of environmental economics, compiled by leading academics in the field. Each expression or phrase is explained clearly in non-technical language, with references given to its use in the growing literature on the subject area. From abatement to zonal travel cost method (ZTCM), there are over 1000 cross-referenced entries covering topics such as: environmental instruments for policy-making, techniques applied in environmental and natural resource economics, major issues in environmental economics and environmental management, economics of sustainable development, natural resource accounting, and international environmental agreements. As well as providing incisive answers to questions such as 'What is natural capital?' or 'when are crowding diseconomies important?', the dictionary includes a list of commonly used acronyms and abbreviations, and a complete bibliography detailing the major texts in the field is provided.
Publication Date: 2001
The Dictionary of Health Economics, Third Edition by Anthony J. Culyer
This third edition of Anthony Culyer's authoritative The Dictionary of Health Economics brings the material right up to date as well as adding plentiful amounts of new information, with a number of revised definitions. There are now nearly 3,000 entries in this comprehensive work. This third edition includes 250 new references as sources for definitions and examples of practice and the bibliography comprises roughly 1,400 items. Anthony Culyer has refined and made the system of cross-references and internet links even more comprehensive than in previous editions. This Dictionary is as complete a statement as exists anywhere of what it is that every health economist ought to know. Acclaim for the second edition:'In the second edition of this Dictionary, Culyer, a well-known and highly respected health economist, attempts to define many of the complex health care terms used not only in the field of medicine, but also in the fields of allied health sciences, nursing, public health, and economics. The Dictionary's main strength is its comprehensiveness. It features 2,310 terms used by various national health care systems including those of the US, Australia, Canada, and the UK. The Dictionary clearly identifies and concisely defines each term, and cites current literature that uses the term. . . this Dictionary is an extraordinary work, and Culyer should be commended for his effort.'- R.M. Mullner, Choice
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopaedias
Economics: the Definitive Encyclopedia from Theory to Practice [4 Volumes] by David A. Dieterle (Editor)
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. * Provides readers with a comprehensive one-stop reference source on the subject of economics that serves as an easy-to-read "textbook" * Presents more than 800 entries in four books that address economics foundations, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics as well as a glossary and a documents section * Spotlights the concepts, movements, events, people, organizations, places, and objects relevant to the study of economics at the macro, micro, and global levels * Includes excerpts from key court and legislative documents that influenced the U.S. economy
Publication Date: 2017
The Sage Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: #65533; 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions #65533; Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups related entries #65533; Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys #65533; Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader's Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version #65533; Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Economics by
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and publicfinance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area. The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions fromaround the world. Fully revised to keep up to date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as austerity measures, General Anti Abuse Rule, propensity score matching, and shadow bank.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a listof Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world’s most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
Terms of Trade by
"Have you ever wondered what a term in international economics means? This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered." "Besides an extensive glossary of terms, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by several lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall."--BOOK JACKET.
Dictionary of Environmental Economics by
A comprehensive dictionary of environmental economics, compiled by leading academics in the field. Each expression or phrase is explained clearly in non-technical language, with references given to its use in the growing literature on the subject area. From abatement to zonal travel cost method (ZTCM), there are over 1000 cross-referenced entries covering topics such as: environmental instruments for policy-making, techniques applied in environmental and natural resource economics, major issues in environmental economics and environmental management, economics of sustainable development, natural resource accounting, and international environmental agreements. As well as providing incisive answers to questions such as 'What is natural capital?' or 'when are crowding diseconomies important?', the dictionary includes a list of commonly used acronyms and abbreviations, and a complete bibliography detailing the major texts in the field is provided.
The Dictionary of Health Economics, Third Edition by
This third edition of Anthony Culyer's authoritative The Dictionary of Health Economics brings the material right up to date as well as adding plentiful amounts of new information, with a number of revised definitions. There are now nearly 3,000 entries in this comprehensive work. This third edition includes 250 new references as sources for definitions and examples of practice and the bibliography comprises roughly 1,400 items. Anthony Culyer has refined and made the system of cross-references and internet links even more comprehensive than in previous editions. This Dictionary is as complete a statement as exists anywhere of what it is that every health economist ought to know. Acclaim for the second edition:'In the second edition of this Dictionary, Culyer, a well-known and highly respected health economist, attempts to define many of the complex health care terms used not only in the field of medicine, but also in the fields of allied health sciences, nursing, public health, and economics. The Dictionary's main strength is its comprehensiveness. It features 2,310 terms used by various national health care systems including those of the US, Australia, Canada, and the UK. The Dictionary clearly identifies and concisely defines each term, and cites current literature that uses the term. . . this Dictionary is an extraordinary work, and Culyer should be commended for his effort.'- R.M. Mullner, Choice
Economics: the Definitive Encyclopedia from Theory to Practice [4 Volumes] by
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. * Provides readers with a comprehensive one-stop reference source on the subject of economics that serves as an easy-to-read "textbook" * Presents more than 800 entries in four books that address economics foundations, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics as well as a glossary and a documents section * Spotlights the concepts, movements, events, people, organizations, places, and objects relevant to the study of economics at the macro, micro, and global levels * Includes excerpts from key court and legislative documents that influenced the U.S. economy
The Sage Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by
Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: #65533; 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions #65533; Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups related entries #65533; Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys #65533; Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader's Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version #65533; Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
