Data Science For Dummies is the perfect starting point for IT professionals and students who want a quick primer on all areas of the expansive data science space. With a focus on business cases, the book explores topics in big data, data science, and data engineering, and how these three areas are combined to produce tremendous value.
Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the theory and practice of statistical analysis in geography...coverage of a wide range of topics including graphical and numerical description of datasets, probability, calculation of confidence intervals, hypothesis testing, collection and analysis of data using analysis of variance and linear regression.
The aim of this book is to provide an internationally respected collection of scientific research methods, technologies and applications in the area of data science. In this book, some of the chapters are written in tutorial style concerning machine learning algorithms, data analysis, information design, infographics, relevant applications, etc.
Learn the basics of Data Science through an easy to understand conceptual framework and immediately practice using RapidMiner platform. Whether you are brand new to data science or working on your tenth project, this book will show you how to analyze data, uncover hidden patterns and relationships to aid important decisions and predictions.
This business analytics text discusses the models based on fact-based data to measure past business performance to guide an organization in visualizing and predicting future business performance and outcomes.
This text brings together all the information, tools and methods a professional will need to efficiently use text mining applications and statistical analysis. It presents a comprehensive how-to reference that shows the user how to conduct text mining and statistically analyze results.
This title presents a comprehensive discussion of the state-of-the-art in text mining and link detection. In addition to providing an in-depth examination of core text mining and link detection algorithms and operations, the book examines advanced pre-processing techniques, knowledge representation considerations, and visualization approaches.
This book provides a perspective on the application of machine learning-based methods in knowledge discovery from natural languages texts. The book provides explanations of principles of time-proven machine learning algorithms applied in text mining together with step-by-step demonstrations of how to reveal the semantic contents in real-world datasets using the popular R-language with its implemented machine learning algorithms.
This title introduces the essential ideas behind all key algorithms and techniques for data mining and machine learning, along with optimization techniques. Its strong formal mathematical approach, well selected examples, and practical software recommendations help readers develop confidence in their data modeling skills so they can process and interpret data for classification, clustering, curve-fitting and predictions.
This handbook brings together a variety of approaches to the uses of big data in multiple fields, primarily science, medicine, and business. This single resource features contributions from researchers around the world from a variety of fields, where they share their findings and experience.
The first book to present the common mathematical foundations of big data analysis across a range of applications and technologies. Today, the volume, velocity, and variety of data are increasing rapidly across a range of fields, including Internet search, healthcare, finance, social media, wireless devices, and cybersecurity.
Big Data Systems encompass massive challenges related to data diversity, storage mechanisms, and requirements of massive computational power. Further, capabilities of big data systems also vary with respect to type of problems. The purpose of this book is to provide a detailed explanation of big data systems.
This book covers IoT and Big Data from a technical and business point of view. The book explains the design principles, algorithms, technical knowledge, and marketing for IoT systems. It emphasizes applications of big data and IoT.
Useful Call Numbers
Some useful Call Numbers for print books on data mining in our collection are: