E is for Economic

ABI/INFORM collection (via ProQuest) QUT Library Database  - business, economics and information systems subject focus providing access to journal articles, working papers, business and industry news plus country and industry focused reports. Search for industry & market reports in this database (use the filter facets on the left hand side of the website). Global industry reports can be found under this series in the database.

Australian Bureau of Statistics - Australia’s national statistical agency. Look for thematic or topical surveys by searching the website. See this entry point for employment and education.  Labour statistics are available at occupation level via quarterly reports - search for these by name on the ABS site for more information on employment data reporting see here.

Business Council of Australia - An industry organisation representing Australia’s largest employers, advocating for policy on behalf of the business community and Australians employed by business enterprises. As an industry advocacy group BCA will also have input into workplace preparedness, in-demand labour market skills and the place of tertiary education.

CEDA - Formed in 1960 by one of Australia's foremost economists, Sir Douglas Copland, CEDA's purpose is harness the ideas and influence of leading thinkers from business, government, community and academia. Start with the pages providing research and policy - these will be most useful in defining current and future economic directions. Look for the CEDA series, "Economic & Political Outlook 2024".

Department of the Treasury (Australian Government) - The Treasury is the Australian Government ministerial department responsible for economic policy, fiscal policy, market regulation, and the Australian federal budget. The treasury website hosts information on and for business and industry alongside submissions from various industry and business stakeholders in the lead up to each budget.

EIU Viewpoint (QUT Library Database) - See, Business Environment, overview for countries and industries. Macro-economic forecasts indicators for Australia, the Asia-Pacific region and all other locales are available with rich description to provide context.

Factiva (QUT Library Database) - Australian and international newspapers and journals plus global company information. Extensive company information is provided, including financial data for more than 42,500 worldwide companies (from Reuters Investor) as well as access to historical market data and interactive charting. Tip: filter your search upon subject and publication - targeting national newspapers for more in depth commentary and analysis. More guidance available via the QUT Library.

IBISWorld (QUT Library Database)  - Key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast and major industry participants. Industry level reports are available for educational technologies as well as providers.

IDEAS - Working papers (preprint or unpublished research papers) are often a more timely way to locate scholarship on current events. IDEAS provides a convenient way to search the RePec (Research Papers in Economics) archive via keywords, topics or terms to locate relevant information or data. Articles and papers in the RePec collection often go on to be published as peer-reviewed journals so be sure to check via the QUT Library search for subsequent published versions of any papers retrieved. See here for tips on retrieving research and papers via JEL subject categories.

MarketLine (QUT Library Database) - Public company, industry and country information extending across over 200 countries and every major industry sector. PESTLE analyses are available under Analysis - Countries & Cities - Country Profiles.

OECD - facilitates discovery of publications and data by country and topic. Start early with this source as there may be some investment of time required to orient yourself to the available tools and publications on the website. Look for forecast report series that attempt to outline the future environment and shape of the industry. 

OECD publications and data - Freely available statistics, reports, journals, books and data from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

Our World in Data - is an online publication that focuses on large global problems such as poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, education, conflict, demography and inequality. A source of data often cited in other scholarly research useful for data, charts and commentary.

Passport (QUT Library Database) - A market research database with reports and data on industries, economies and consumers internationally. Published by Euromonitor International. An excellent source of trend data for price, consumption and trade data for a variety of industries.

QLD Government Publications & Data - Go to the central source - both data and publications across a variety of sites will be available through this website.

Reserve Bank of Australia - the RBA website has a range of pages which provide statistical summaries as snapshots. 

Trade Magazines - A trade publication is a regularly published collection of articles that address topics of interest to members of a particular profession. Articles often provide industry members with national and international summary statistics that are commonly drawn from other publicly available sources.

UNESCO -  The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. 

Worldbank Data - Web portlets featured on the site outline WB programmes and activities in regard to culture. Note: when investigating data published by WorldBank data indicators that relate to the university sector may be documented according to more generic terms such as 'cultural industries' or 'creative industries'. Drill down deeper into statistics featured in reports.

World Resources Institute - WRI’s mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth’s environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations.