Skip to Main Content

Other Common Law Jurisdictions Sites

United Kingdom Resources

United Kingdom Legislation  - official government site for UK Legislation

House of Lords Judgments (up to 30 July 2009)

Scottish Courts

Supreme Court

BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute). Gives access to case law and legislation from Britain and Ireland.

New Zealand Resources

New Zealand Legislation - Published by Parliamentary Counsel Office.

Courts of New Zealand

Judicial Decisions Online - Published by the Ministry of Justice

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)

United States Resources

THOMAS - Library of Congress site giving access to US Federal legislative materials.

Guide to Law Online - U.S. Federal - from the Law Library of Congress

Guide to Law Online - U.S. States and Territories - from the Law Library of Congress

LII (Legal Information Institute). Maintained by Cornell University Law School

Supreme Court of the United States

Government Printing Office - Federal Digital System (FDsys) - Official publications of the Federal Government (Retiring December 14 2018)

Government Printing Office - Federal Digital System  - Official publications of the Federal Government (Activating December 14 2018)

Legal Information Institute sites

These sites link to organisations that provide free access to a range of legal resources from the relevant jurisdiction. Typically they provide access to legislation and case law with some providing more extensive resources such as journal articles.

  • AsianLII (Asian Legal Information Institute) covers individual Asian jurisdictions.
  • AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) covers Australasian jurisdictions.
  • BAILII (British and Irish Information Institute) covers the United Kingdom as well as the Republic of Ireland. Bailii also provides access to decisions of the Court of Justice of the European and the European Court of Human Rights.
  • CanLII  (Canadian Legal Information Institute) provides access to legislation and case law from both the federal and provincial jurisdictions of Canada.
  • CommonLII (Commonwealth Legal Information Institute) provides access to resources from Commonwealth and Common Law jurisdictions.
  • HKLlII (Hong Kong Legal Information Institute)
  • LII (Legal Information Institute) Maintained by Cornell University Law School. This site includes both Federal and State resources.
  • LIIofIndia (Legal Information Institute of India) contains information from the Central, State and Territory jurisdictions of India
  • NZLII (New Zealand Legal Information Institute) New Zealand resources.
  • PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute)
  • SAFLII (Southern African Legal Information Institute)
  • ULII - (Uganda Legal Information Institute)
  • WorldLII - (World Legal Information Institute)