| Consensus https://consensus.app/search/ |
Uses AI to find answers in research papers. Can ask questions about relations between concepts, a yes/no question or the effects of a concept | GPT 4 | • Familiar search interface • Can perform searches without signing up for account • Easily share results with others • Provides brief summary of paper, journal details where it was found and link to full text • Can filter results by publication date and study type |
• Works best if phrase is asked in question form • Limited scope - covers economics, health supplements, medicine, mental health, sleep and social policy • Unable to locate any information about what their dataset is (where they get their academic article from) • "This journal is in the top 5% of our database" - however we don't know how large database is |
• Free option: Unlimited search and research quality indicators. Three GPT-4 summaries (600 word input) and consensus meters a month •Premium [USD 9.99 p/m]: Unlimited search, research quality indicators, GPT-4 summaries (1,200 word input) and consensus. Bookmarks coming soon •Enterprise [Custom price on application]: Premium + manage organisational accounts, share bookmarks and lists with your team and integrate with your research library • 40% student discount available (unsure if Aus supported) |
https://consensus.app/results/?q=Is%20agile%20an%20effective%20project%20management%20style%3F&synthesize=on |
| Elict https://elicit.org/ |
Uses language models to help you automate research workflows, like parts of a literature review. Can find relevant papers without perfect keyword match, summarize takeaways from the paper specific to your question, and extract key information from the papers. | "language models like GPT-3" castorini/monot5-base-msmarco-10k |
• Provides details about dataset used (115M papers from the Semantic Scholar Academic Graph dataset) • Uses semantic similarity, which finds papers related to your question even if they don't use the same keywords • For every search result, Elicit reads the abstract and generates a custom summary that is relevant to your question |
• "80- 90% accurate, definitely not 100% accurate." • Unable to see past FAQ'S without signing up |
• Unable find any information without going through signup process | |
| scite.ai https://scite.ai/ |
scite uses access to full-text articles and its deep learning model to tell you, for a given publication: • how many times it was cited by others • how it was cited by others by displaying the text where the citation happened from each citing paper • whether each citation offers supporting or contrasting evidence of the cited claims in the publication of interest, or simply mention it |
Not advised | • Zotero and Chrome plugins • Detailed help guides • Large dataset with some information about data included • Can flag citations for review Ability to make custom dashboards using Zotero & Mendeley libraries, manual comma-separated listed of DOIs or CSVfiles. |
• No summary generated, but creates a smart citation • Creating dashboards can be time consuming |
• 7 day day trial • Monthly AUD $22.21 •Yearly AUD 159.94 |
Very popular for evaluting sources |
| Research Rabbit https://www.researchrabbit.ai/ |
ResearchRabbit is a “citation-based literature mapping tool”. The scope of such tool is to optimise your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review. |
Not advised | • Users can add papers to 'collections', the AI then learns what you like and provides you with tailored recommendations. • Can represent collections and connections between them visually • Allows searching within the interface. • Can import and export from citation managers |
• dataset not disclosed • has a higher learning curve due to the variety of options available |
Free | Singapore Management University has a very good guide: https://library.smu.edu.sg/topics-insights/new-literature-mapping-tool-researchrabbit |
| Chat PDF https://www.chatpdf.com/ |
Your PDF AI - like ChatGPT but for PDFs. Summarize and answer questions for free. | Chat GPT-3.5 | • Users upload PDF and can then ask questions, create summaries and tests. | • Can only look at a few paragraphs from the PDF at once • doesn't understand images and has issues with tables • Can only 'chat' with one pdf at a time |
• Free: 3 PDFs every day, each up to 120 pages, 50 questions per day. • USD 5 per month : 50 PDFs every day, each up to 2000 pages, 100 questions per day. |
|
| Perplexity https://www.perplexity.ai |
AI search engine with powerful academic research abilities. | Chat GPT-3.5, GPT-4 if paid | • Connected to the internet • iPhone app • Focus allows you to fine tune your search by narrowing down the sources, for more targeted and relevant results. • Copilot allows you to ask clarifying questions to guide the AI search process and find the best answer |
• Struggles with PDF's | • Free option: limited access to GPT-4 •Premium: USD 20 per month. Access to GPT-4, dedicated support, |
|
| Semantic Scholar https://www.semanticscholar.org/ |
An academic search engine driven by artificial intelligence that enables users to filter through millions of scholarly pieces. | • Covers disciplines including biology, medicine, computer science, geography, business, history, and economics • No login required • Can export library |
• Limited research scope • evaluation metric are narrow |
Free |
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.