Handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias

Arranged according to the most important themes in the field. Readers can feel confident that they will find all the relevant information in one place, with helpful cross-referencing between and within all the subject areas, to broaden their understanding and deepen their knowledge.

Every aspect of Energy - production, conversion and use - is discussed and explained in this unique dictionary. Comprehensive and well-illustrated entries cover fossil and other types of chemical fuel; hydro-electric and nuclear power; energy conservation; solar energy of every kind; wind, wave and tidal power. Every type of nuclear reactor is described, with emphasis on the energy technologies that have the greatest relevance and future promise. This is an excellent introduction and invaluable reference work for general readers, students and all workers in energy and energy-related fields.

This authoritative resource covers all aspects of energy and its role in society. Over 8,000 definitions spanning 40 scientific disciplines, with more than 100 'window essays' written by experts, and covering topics of particular scientific, historical or social significance.

This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of energy; to appreciate the influence of energy on societies around the world; to learn the history of energy; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work.

This title covers the foremost trends and technologies in energy engineering today. This book is divided into five sections, providing a comprehensive look at renewable energy technologies and systems. Additionally, this title focuses on the successful promotion of a sustainable energy supply for the future, and offers new and relevant information providing a clear reference to sustainable-development goals.

This handbook is one of the most comprehensive and practical reference available on energy auditing in buildings and industry.

Filled with step-by-step procedures for performing hundreds of calculations, this practical guide helps you solve a variety of applied energy engineering design and operating problems. Handbook of Energy Engineering Calculations features worked-out examples and enables you to obtain accurately results with minimum time and effort.

The second edition of this authoritative textbook equips students with the tools they will need to tackle the challenges of sustainable building design and engineering. The book looks at how to design, engineer and monitor energy efficient buildings, how to adapt buildings to climate change, and how to make buildings healthy, comfortable and secure.

Major contemporary issues and debates relating to the sustainable use of energy are addressed in this far-reaching Handbook. The contributing authors discuss the ongoing debates about sustainability and energy use, energy economics, renewable energy, efficiency and climate policy.