Journal articles, conference papers and databases

Journal articles

Journal articles are published within journals and contain up-to-date (often specialised) information. They are written by experts in the field, and often outline new research findings. Journal articles are often scholarly or peer-reviewed. You can locate journal articles by searching Library Search or a specialised database.

Search or browse for a journal, trade publication or magazine

To search for journals, trade publications or magazines use Library Search or browse scholarly journals in this area using BrowZine.

Get started with BrowZine by setting up access to fulltext articles, sign up for a BrowZine account to create bookshelves and save articles - plus troubleshoot common problems.

Databases

Databases are a great source for journal articles, conference papers, videos and images. Some databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), whilst others may only contain citations. The following databases are examples of key databases for this area. Explore the Engineering database page for a complete list of potentially relevant databases.

ANSTI - Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (via Informit) by Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
Compendex by (via Engineering Village)
OSTI.GOV by United States. Dept. of Energy. Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Search sixty-five years of energy-related citations created and/or collected by OSTI. With over 2.5 million citations the collection includes access to technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information sponsored by the DOE (US Department of Energy).
Scopus An index of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference papers covering a wide range of subject areas. It is primarily aimed at researchers and provides a number of tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Web of Science A collection of citation databases that provide citation count information for articles, books and conferences.