an edited collected work
Approaches to Water Sensitive Urban Design: Potential, Design, Ecological Health, Economics, Policies and Community Perceptions covers all aspects on the implementation of sustainable storm water systems for urban and suburban areas whether they are labeled as WSUD, Low Impact Development (LID), Green Infrastructure (GI), Sustainable Urban Drainage Systems (SUDS) or the Sponge City Concept. These systems and approaches are becoming an integral part of developing water sensitive cities as they are considered very capable solutions in addressing issues relating to urbanization, climate change and heat island impacts in dealing with storm water issues. The book is based on research conducted in Australia and around the world, bringing in perspectives in an ecosystems approach, a water quality approach, and a sewer based approach to stormwater, all of which are uniquely covered in this single resource.
an edited collected work that examines Australian cities with a focus on Sydney
Cities and their role in society, from the public places created in cities to the visionary and more abstract views on large scale developments. The chapter authors argue, each in their own way, how urban design can produce an answer to these questions.Detailed insights are given into how current designers, architects, urbanists and landscape architects deal with the contemporary urban problems of our time: climate change, migration, resiliency, politics, environmental change Includes chapters from leading thinkers in urban design, city development and landscape urbanism fields.
A roadmap to create great places. Imagining and designing urban environments where all people thrive is an extraordinary task, and in this compelling narrative, Cushing and Miller remind us that theory is a powerful starting point. Drawing on international research, illustrated case studies, personal experiences, as well as fascinating examples from history and pop culture, this practical book provides the reader with inspiration, guidance and tools. The first section outlines six critical theories for contemporary urban design - affordance, prospect-refuge, personal space, sense of place/genius loci, place attachment, and biophilic design. The second section, using their innovative 'theory-storming' process, demonstrates how designers can create great places that are inclusive, sustainable, and salutogenic
The main threats to public health are now considered 'avoidable illnesses', which are often caused by a lack of exercise and physical activity. Research suggests that architectural and urban design strategies play an important role in reducing the amount of avoidable illnesses by enabling physical activity through healthier streets. Practitioners must now consider how they can encourage people to lead healthier lifestyles and improve health through urban design. Presents the path to healthier cities through six core themes - urban planning, walkable communities, neighbourhood building blocks, movement networks, environmental integration and community empowerment. Each theme is approached first with an overview of the issues, then solutions and how to apply them practically with exemplars and precedents. It's an essential text that provides practitioners across urban design, architecture, master planning with the necessary knowledge and guidance to understand their role in producing healthier places and put it in to practice.
eBook direct from the publisher Taylor & Francis online.
Thorough introduction to the principles of urban design theory and practice. Contains relevant case studies to show students how design principles have been put into practice. Sustainability is the driving factor in urban regeneration and new urban development, and this 2nd edition is focused on best sustainable design and practice.
A comprehensive overview of the principles, theory, and practices of urban design for those new to the subject and for those requiring a clear and systematic guide. In this new edition the book has been extensively revised and re-structured. Carmona advances the idea of urban design as a continuous process of shaping places, fashioned in turn by shifting global, local, and power contexts. At the heart of the book are eight key dimensions of urban design theory and practice-temporal, perceptual, morphological, visual, social, functional-and two new process dimensions-design governance and place production. This extensively updated and revised third edition is more international in its scope and coverage, incorporating new thinking on technological impact, climate change adaptation, strategies for urban decline, cultural and social diversity, place value, heathy cities, and more, all illustrated with nearly 1000 carefully chosen images. Public Places Urban Spaces is a classic urban design text, and everyone in the field should own a copy"--
This book, part of a series of four, offers a detailed analysis of urban design, covering the streets, squares and buildings that make up the public face of towns and cities. It outlines the theory of the principal features of urban design from which method is developed and provides a better understanding of the main elements of urban design. This includes the arrangement, design and details of the streets and squares, and the roles they play in city planning. This third edition includes chapters on "Sustainable Urban Design" and "Visual Analysis", introducing the latest theories and influences in the field and bringing greater practical significance to the book. Cliff Moughtin explores the street and square in terms of function, structure and symbolism and examines fine examples in their historical context. These are set against the background of the laws of urban design composition, culled from Renaissance and modern writers.
Urban design is a process of establishing a structural order within human settlements; responding to dynamic emergent meanings and functions in a constant state of flux. The planning/design process is complex due to the myriad of ongoing (urban) organizational and structural relationships and contexts. Mixing accessible theory, practical examples and carefully designed exercises in composition from simple to complex settings this is a textbook for classrooms and design studios across the full spectrum of planning and urban studies fields.
A manual for reconciling contemporary approaches with increasingly complex demands in the shaping of urban living spaces. Architects and landscape architects, as well as city, regional, and landscape planners, often find that they are unable to do modern projects justice with their specialist skills alone. Cooperative approaches are needed to deal with both the complexity of raising questions and the growing number of affected parties who need to be involved. Urban design - understood as an inter- and transdisciplinary field at the interface of architecture, city and regional planning, landscape architecture, sociology, and the diverse stakeholders involved in any project - requires a compendium of adaptable methods to dissolve the boundaries between theory and praxis and between natural and social systems. For the first time, this book collects a broad spectrum of methods intended to support urban designers in deciphering the contexts in which they work, and help them attain a greater individual professional understanding.
This useful guide Sets out clearly the urban-design process in practice, from initial site analysis through consultation, design development, and design delivery across a range of scales within the built environment. Provides a clear overview of the role that urban design and urban designers play in shaping and creating places today and how designers conceive and deliver contextually responsive, high-quality design solutions. Discusses costing, phasing, construction, post-construction monitoring, and maintenance. Describes the complexity of project management in delivering large-scale projects, such as master planning and major public-realm and civic schemes. Illustrated with a series of international case studies, this book concludes by highlighting several growing urban challenges facing cities today.
A conceptual toolkit for urban design. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, it shows how the design of our cities and urban spaces can be interpreted and informed through contemporary theories of urbanism, architecture and spatial analysis. Relating abstract ideas to real-world examples, and taking assemblage thinking as its critical framework. Introduces an array of key theoretical principles and demonstrates how theory is central to urban design critique and practice. Thirty short chapters can be read alone or in sequence, each opening a different kind of conceptual window onto how cities work and how they are transformed through design practice.