Books on statistical analytical tools for engineering
Books on Engineering Numerical Methods
Engineering optimization: theory and practice, 4th ed. by Singiresu S. RaoThis comprehensive text covers nonlinear, linear, geometric, dynamic, and stochastic programming techniques as well as more specialized methods such as multiobjective, genetic algorithms, simulated annealing, neural networks, particle swarm optimization, ant colony optimization, and fuzzy optimization. Each method is presented in clear, straightforward language, making even the more sophisticated techniques easy to grasp.
Publication Date: 2009
The Finite element method in engineering, 5th ed. by Singiresu S. RaoThis new edition provides a thorough grounding of the mathematical principles for setting up finite element solutions in civil, mechanical, and aerospace engineering applications. It includes examples using modern computer tools such as Matlab, Ansys, Nastran, and Abaqus. Professional engineers will benefit from the introduction to the many useful applications of finite element analysis, and will gain a better understanding of its limitations and special uses.
This text provides an overview for students who need to know the methods without having to perform the analysis. This concise approach still includes mathematical justifications, but only when they are necessary to understand the methods. The emphasis is placed on describing each technique from an implementation standpoint, and on convincing the reader that the method is reasonable both mathematically and computationally.
Covers the standard numerical methods employed by both students and practicing engineers. Although relevant theory is covered, the primary emphasis is on how the methods are applied for engineering problem solving. Each part of the book includes a chapter devoted to case studies from the major engineering disciplines. Numerous new or revised end-of chapter problems and case studies are drawn from actual engineering practice. This edition also includes several new topics including a new formulation for cubic splines, Monte Carlo integration, and supplementary material on hyperbolic partial differential equations.
Useful LCSH subject headings that will link you to further books and other material listed in the library catalogue:
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists by Brian Hahn; Daniel T. ValentineEssential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists, Seventh Edition, provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality, covering both fundamentals and applications. The essentials are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This edition has been updated to include the latest MATLAB versions through 2018b. This is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB, but is also ideal for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB. Updated to include all the newer features through MATLAB R2018b Includes new chapter on useful toolboxes Provides additional examples on engineering applications
MATLAB Programming with Applications for Engineers by Stephen J. ChapmanThe book provides a complete introduction to the fundamentals of good procedural programming. It aids students in developing good design habits that will serve them well in any other language that he or she may pick up later. Programming topics and examples are used as a jumping off point for exploring the rich set of highly optimized application functions that are built directly into MATLAB.