"Many scientists and engineers consider themselves poor writers or find the writing process difficult. The good news is that you do not have to be a talented writer to produce a good scientific paper, but you do have to be a careful writer. This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal.
From the introduction: "This book is designed to be lying beside the PC... You will get important information regarding how to avoid mistakes and obstacles during the presentation of your Technical Report. Moreover, this book will show you many important rules and checklists for text, table and image creation as well as for working with literature. Applying these rules and hints will make your Technical Reports readable and clearly understandable and comprehensible for your audience."
Demystifies the dissertation writing process.Step-by-step approach to the dissertation life cycle and highlighting examples of good and bad practice and the common mistakes that students often make, the book provides clear guidance on how to gain marks, as well as how to avoid losing them.
This title combines practical applications with clear writing and examples. Rhetorical principles are explained, illustrated, and applied to an array of documents, from brief memos and summaries to formal reports and proposals. Coverage of such topics as document design, electronic communication, and oral presentations reflect the realm of technical communication today.
This book helps you make the leap from writing in college to writing in workplace settings. Full of clear, practical advice and real-world examples from a range of sources, this text helps you develop the kinds of writing processes and documents that you'll encournter on the job.
Engineers and scientists of all types are often required to write reports, summaries, manuals, guides, and so forth. While these individuals certainly have had some sort of English or writing course, it is less likely that they have had any instruction in the special requirements of technical writing. Filling this void, Technical Writing: A Practic
This engaging and practical approach to workplace writing helps you in the process of thinking, listening, researching, planning, composing, revising, and editing documents for use in business, science, hi-tech, and other demanding fields. This text makes it easy to show the importance of regular writing practice as you produce your own proposal content, manual instructions, informative briefs, lab reports, news releases, and other documents.
A practical manual for anyone who wants to turn scientific facts into gripping science stories, this book provides an overview of story elements and structure, guidance on where to locate them in scientific papers and a step-by-step guide to applying storytelling techniques to writing about science.
Telling people about research is just as important as doing it. This title presents a way of thinking about writing that builds on the way good scientists think about research. The simple principles in this book will help you to clarify the objectives of your work and present your results with impact.
Catering to the specific needs of science students, this guide will equip students of all scientific disciplines with the skills they need to communicate effectively in written assignments. The book guides students through each of the key stages involved in producing a piece of scientific writing. This is an essential resource for all science students who are required to produce lab reports, extended essays, dissertations and other written assignments as part of their course.
This title provides practical advice to help scientists become more effective writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact. The author emphasizes that the goal of all scientific writing should be absolute clarity; that good writing takes deliberate practice; and that what many scientists need are not long lists of prescriptive rules but rather direct engagement with their behaviors and attitudes when they write.
This title guides students through the writing process itself, and will help them to produce clear, well-written and well-organised essays and reports. The book covers a range of issues such as how to explain complex ideas clearly and concisely, how to develop a coherent argument, and how to avoid plagiarism by making effective reference to sources.
This ninth edition of The Best Australian Science Writing showcases the most powerful, insightful, and brilliant essays and poetry from Australian writers and scientists. It roams the length and breadth of science, revealing how a ceramic artist is helping to save the handfish, what is so dangerous about the hype around artificial intelligence, and whether too much exercise is bad for the heart. It makes us think, feel, and hopefully act.
This title presents a novel approach to technical writing, positioning formal writing tasks as engineering design problems with requirements, constraints, protocols, standards, and customers (readers) to satisfy. Its mantra is: to write like an engineer, you must think like an engineer. This book is packed with valuable tips and information practicing and aspiring engineers need to become effective writers.
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer provides essential guidance towards critical writing skills, with practical examples, expert discussion, and real-world models that illustrate the techniques engineers use every day.
This book is full of practical advice and useful examples to help students and engineers write clearly, accurately and impressively. This updated fourth edition features new material on technical notes, inspection reports and business cases, along with abstracts and summaries. It is an essential aid for today's engineers.
This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings.
At once sophisticated and practical, Writing in Engineering: A Brief Guide leads students through how to compose design reports, lab reports, and other key engineering genres while attending to the principles of argument, style, and visual design.
Technical Writing for Engineering Professionals provides a toolkit for developing technical reports quickly and efficiently. The book offers clear, specific guidelines for developing each of the sections (abstract, conclusions, introduction, and discussion) and designing and using graphics that illustrate your results.