Construction project management : an integrated approach, 3rd ed by Peter Fewings; Christian HenjeweleA management approach to leading projects and the effective choice and use of project management tools and techniques. It seeks to push the boundaries of project management to take on board future needs and user issues. Integration of the construction project, meaning closer relations between the project team, the supply chain and the client, is long overdue; however, despite some signs of growth in this area, the industry nonetheless remains fragmented in its approach. The role of the project manager is to integrate diverse interests and unify objectives to achieve a common goal. This has now broadened to include a responsibility, on the parts of both client and team, to ensure that construction addresses current and future societal needs. From an economic perspective, a great deal of waste is connected with conflict, thus a holistic approach that increases the efficiency and effectiveness of the task at hand will inject energy into project management. This third edition now takes on board the impact of technology in building information modelling and other digitised technologies such as artificial intelligence. Together, they open up avenues for more direct and incisive action to test creative design, manufacture directly and communicate spontaneously and intuitively. In time, such technologies will change the role of project managers but will never take away their responsibility to be passionate about construction and to integrate the team. A new chapter has been added that considers future societal needs. This edition is also reordered to make the project life cycle and process chapters clearer. This book combines best practice in construction with the theories underpinning project management and presents a wealth of practical case studies - many new. It focuses on all construction disciplines that may manage projects. The book is of unique value to students in the later years of undergraduate courses and those on specialist postgraduate courses in project management and also for practitioners in all disciplines and clients who have experienced the frustration caused by the fragmentation of construction projects.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2019
Construction project management : a practical guide to field construction management, 6th ed. by S. Keoki Sears; Glenn A. Sears; Richard H. Clough; Jerald L. Rounds; Robert O. SegnerGuide to all aspects of the construction project management process, including the Critical Path Method (CPM) of project scheduling. A solid foundation of the principles and fundamentals of project management, with a particular emphasis on project planning, demonstrated through an example project. Has information on the Earned Value Analysis (EVA) system and introductory coverage of Building Information Modelling (BIM) and Lean Construction in the context of project scheduling. Contains building construction examples, which illustrate each of the principles of project management. This information, combined with the case studies provided in the appendix, gives readers access to hands-on project management experience in the context of real-world project management problems. Features two integrated example projects--one civil and one commercial--fully developed through the text.
Publication Date: 2016
Effective project management : guidance and checklists for engineering and construction by Garth G. F. WardPractical and accessible guide to managing a successful project based around an activities and action check list approach to project management. It provides a guide to the basic principles and the disciplines that managers need to master in order to be successful. The author's check lists approach (based on his years of practical experience on projects) ensure that project managers are following valid processes, helping them to be innovative in their approach to developing plans and resolving problems. In addition, the author's check list pick and mix format is designed to be flexible in order to meet the individual needs of the reader. Effective Project Management also contains some information on the theories underpinning project management. Knowledge of the theory helps in the understanding of how project management works in practice. In addition to the book's check lists of what activities need to be performed, the author offers suggestions on how tasks could be carried out. This important resource: Covers a wide range of project management topics including the project management process, programme and portfolio management, initiating and contracting a project, personal skills and more Offers a highly accessible guide to the author's verified check list approach Presents flexible guidelines applicable for a wide range projects Includes guidance for project managers at all levels of experience Written for project managers working on engineering or construction projects, Effective Project Management reviews all aspects of a project from initiation and execution to project completion together with the specialist topics and personal skills needed to manage projects effectively.
Publication Date: 2018
Managing complex construction projects by John K. BriesemeisterTo many program, project, or construction managers, a complex project seems to be a labyrinth with many hidden dangers. This book is a guide through that labyrinth. It explains best practices and provides insight so they cannot only identify hidden dangers but also effectively manage the construction process to either mitigate or eliminate these risks. The book presents a systems-based approach to construction project management that can facilitate a greater understanding of the complexity inherent in large construction projects and how that complexity can be effectively managed. The systems approach permits the onsite construction project manager to take a complex construction project, break it down into manageable pieces, and ensure that all systems are in alignment with the original goal of the project. This approach combines industrial engineering, project management, and finance into a unified approach for effective management of complex construction projects, ranging from a power plant to a highway project. The book explains how to manage construction projects successfully through an approach based on the three following systems: Project Management System Work Management System Quality Management System The problem with complex programs and projects is that many managers are only equipped with a knowledge of project management. A system for construction is a collection of many processes effectively working together to produce a specific deliverable, which is usually defined in the program or project's contract. This system has a series of specific inputs and outputs, which are what the customer expects from the company or companies performing the work. This book develops checklists based on these inputs and outputs, which managers can use when first arriving onsite, and provides a "nuts and bolts" approach for managing a complex construction project onsite. The author shares valuable lessons learned during a career of more than thirty years of working on various construction sites around the world. These lessons learned are filled with valuable information to aid readers become more effective as a program, project, or construction manager of complex construction projects.
Principles and techniques of managing engineering and construction projects, from the initial conceptual stage, to design and construction, all the way to completion. Addresses all project lifecycle phases and drills down to risk assessment and project document control at each phase. Emphasizes project management during the beginning stages of project development to influence the quality, cost, and schedule of a project as early in the process as possible. Mirrors the chronology of a real project. Complete coverage of early estimate classifications, budgeting specifications, work packaging, scheduling, contract administration, progress measurement systems. Discusses the owner's team, the design engineer's team, and the construction team.
Project management in construction, 6th ed by Anthony WalkerFocuses on systems theory as the approach suitable for organizing and managing people skilled in the design and completion of construction projects. It discusses the many competing paradigms and alternative perspectives available, for example in relation to differentiation and integration, as well as the emerging study of temporary organizations and its relevance to construction project management. Whilst encompassing the need to develop further theoretical aspects of construction project organization theory, this edition has also enhanced the application of organization studies to practical issues of construction project management. More emphasis has been placed on the added complexity of construction project management by issues surrounding clients and stakeholders, and the control and empowerment of project participants. Additional focus has been placed on sustainability issues as they impinge on construction project management, on reworked views on supply chain management and on developments in partnering, together with clarification of the shifting terms and definitions relating to construction organization structures and their uses.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2015
Project management in construction, 7th ed. by Sidney M. LevyNecessary information to efficiently execute every phase of any construction job. The book features complete details on estimating, purchasing, contract administration, team management, quality control and assurance, and other topics essential to completing a project on time and within budget. Covers new US OSHA regulations and new contract formats that emphasize collaboration and teamwork.
Publication Date: 2018
Value management of construction projects, 2nd ed. by John Kelly; Steven Male; Drummond GrahamValue Management is a philosophy, set of principles and a structured management methodology for improving organisational decision-making and value-for-money. The second edition builds on the success of the first edition by extending the integrated value philosophy, methodology and tool kit to describe the application of Value Management to the areas of service delivery, asset management, and, Programmes, in addition to Projects, products and processes. Value Management is a well-established methodology in the international construction industry, and in the UK has been endorsed as good practice in a range of government sponsored reports. In this book the authors have addressed the practical opportunities and difficulties of Value Management by synthesising the background, international developments, benchmarking and their own extensive consultancy and action research experience in Value Management to provide a comprehensive package of theory and practice. The second edition retains the structure of the first edition, covering methods and practices, frameworks of value and the future of value management. It has been thoroughly updated, and a number of new chapters added to encapsulate further extensions to current theory and practice. In particular, the new edition responds to: A range of recent UK industry and government publications; and most notably BS EN 16271:2012 - Value management: Functional expression of the need and functional performance specification; the imminent update of BS EN 12973:2000 Value Management; BS EN 1325 Value Management - Vocabulary, Terms and definitions; the changes to "Value for Europe" governing the training and certification of Value Management in European Union countries; the UK Government''s Management of Value (MoV) initiative, together with other leading reports, international guidance and standards on Value Management. Research in Value Management undertaken since publication of the first edition. Changes in Value Management practice particularly in Programmes and Projects. Developments in the theory of value, principally value for money measures, whole life value option appraisal, and benefits realisation. Initiatives in asset management initiatives covering the management of physical infrastructure, for example the recent launch of a suite of three standards under the generic title of BS ISO 55000: 2014 Asset Management, and its predecessor BSI PAS55 2008 "Asset Management: Specification For The Optimized Management Of Physical Assets" The second edition contains a dedicated chapter of exemplar case studies drawn from the authors'' experience, selected to demonstrate the new areas of theory and practice. An Appendix includes an extensive set of tools and techniques of use in Value Management practice. Construction clients, including those in both the public and private sectors, and professionals such as construction cost consultants, quantity surveyors, architects, asset managers, construction engineers, and construction managers will all find Value Management of Construction Projects to be essential reading. It will also be of interest to researchers and students on construction related courses in Higher Education - particularly those at final year undergraduate and at Masters level.