Contemporary Ethical Issues in Engineering by
For most professions, a code of ethics exists to promote positive behavior among practitioners in order to enrich others within the field as well as the communities they serve. Similar to the medical, law, and business fields, the engineering discipline also instills a code of ethical conduct. Contemporary Ethical Issues in Engineering highlights a modern approach to the topic of engineering ethics and the current moral dilemmas facing practitioners in the field. Focusing on key issues, theoretical foundations, and the best methods for promoting engineering ethics from the pre-practitioner to the managerial level, this timely publication is ideally designed for use by engineering students, active professionals, and academics, as well as researchers in all disciplines of engineering.
Engineering as a global profession by
Looks to establish worldwide technical and ethical standards of engineering as an occupation. The author is the most senior thinker in this field and has spent much of his career developing this thesis.
Engineering ethics, 3rd ed. by
For use in undergraduate engineering programs incorporating ethics topics. The purpose of this book is to provide a text and a resource for the study of engineering ethics and to help future engineers be prepared for confronting and resolving ethical dilemmas that they might encounter during their professional careers.
Engineering ethics: Concepts and cases, 6th ed. by
Successful engineers need more than strong technical skills; they also need a rock-solid ethical foundation. Equips you with the tools for the highest ethical standards and practice. Helps you understand the importance of your conduct as a future professional engineer and shows how your actions can affect the health, safety and welfare of the public and environment. Analysing examples of engineering achievements and failures via intriguing case studies of modern-day ethical dilemmas.
Engineering Ethics: Contemporary and Enduring Debates by
An engaging, accessible survey of the ethical issues faced by engineers, designed for students The first engineering ethics textbook to use debates as the framework for presenting engineering ethics topics, this engaging, accessible survey explores the most difficult and controversial issues that engineers face in daily practice. Written by a leading scholar in the field of engineering and computer ethics, Deborah Johnson approaches engineering ethics with three premises: that engineering is both a technical and a social endeavor; that engineers don't just build things, they build society; and that engineering is an inherently ethical enterprise.
Engineering ethics: Real world case studies by
How do you handle conflicts of interest? Have you ever been offered a kickback or asked for a "voluntary" contribution to a cause? Are there cases where we can - and should - act against an important principle to achieve an even-more-important benefit? To tweet or not to tweet? Entrusted by the public to provide professional solutions to complex situations, engineers can face ethical dilemmas of all forms. In Pursuing Engineering Ethics through Real-World Case Studies, Starrett, Lara, and Bertha provide in-depth analysis with extended discussions and study questions of case studies that are based on real work situations. Important concepts such as rights and obligations; conflict of interest; professionalism and mentoring; confidentiality; whistleblowing; bribery, fraud, and corruption; and ethical communication with the public in a social media world are discussed in practical and approachable terms. Organized by the canons of the ASCE Code of Ethics, this book is intended for practitioners, consultants, government engineers, engineering educators, and students in all engineering disciplines.
Engineering ethics and design for product safety by
A systematic guide to product design and safety from an ethical engineering perspective. This hands-on textbook offers a holistic approach to product safety and engineering ethics across many products, fields, and industries. The book shows, step by step, how to "design in" safety characteristics early in the engineering process using design for product safety (DfPS) methods. Written by a P.E. and skilled educator with industry experience, Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety addresses all aspects of the product system from the perspective of an active product-safety engineering manager. You will get detailed case studies, real-world examples, and side discussions that provide a deep dive into key topics.
Ethical engineering: a practical guide with case studies (What every engineer should know) by
Detailed and practical guidance in making decisions about the many ethical issues practicing engineers may face in their professional lives. It outlines a decision-making procedure and helps engineers construct an ethics toolkit consisting of professional models, a comprehensive set of ethical considerations and factors that help in weighing those considerations, and analyses of particular issues, such as reverse engineering a patented process. Illustrating case studies, both brief and detailed, are provided. Features: * Introduces the nature of ethical decision making as applied to engineering values and issues. * Helps readers develop a detailed ethics toolkit that identifies options and solutions and allows them to monitor and adjust as necessary. * Features topics such as safety, sustainability, bioethics, diversity and equality, information technology and AI, as well as critical areas often overlooked in engineering texts, such as mentoring, advertising (for consulting firms), engineering sales, and much more. * Includes more than 50 case studies to illustrate a variety of scenarios. * Offers an international perspective with codes of ethics from around the world, including Saudi Arabia, India, New Zealand, Chile, and Japan. * Adds further cases and samples for discussion and a summary of key ideas. Emphasizing the importance of the moral life and of engineering as an occupation with high ideals, this book helps readers navigate a variety of real-world ethical issues they are likely to face in this increasingly interdisciplinary, global, and diverse profession.
Ethics, politics, and whistle blowing in engineering by
The aim of this book is to generate a strong operational ethic in the work of engineers from all disciplines. It provides numerous examples of engineers who sought to meet the highest ethical standards, risking both professional and personal retaliations. In short, it presents the fields of engineering ethics in the context of actual conflict situations on the job, and points to an urgent need for a strong ethical framework for the profession.
Ethics, Technology, and Engineering by
A systematic approach for engineering students to deal with the ethical issues that are increasingly inherent in engineering practice. Utilizes a systematic approach to ethical case analysis -- the ethical cycle -- which features a wide range of real-life international case studies including the Challenger Space Shuttle, the Herald of Free Enterprise and biofuels. Covers a broad range of topics, including ethics in design, risks, responsibility, sustainability, and emerging technologies Can be used in conjunction with the online ethics tool Agora (http://www.ethicsandtechnology.com) Provides engineering students with a clear introduction to the main ethical theories Includes an extensive glossary with key terms
Ethics and engineering : an introduction by
The world population is growing, yet we continue to pursue higher levels of well-being, and as a result, increasing energy demands and the destructive effects of climate change are just two of many major threats that we face. Engineers play an indispensable role in addressing these challenges, and whether they recognize it or not, in doing so they will inevitably encounter a whole range of ethical choices and dilemmas. This book examines and explains the ethical issues in engineering, showing how they affect assessment, design, sustainability, and globalization, and explores many recent examples including the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster, Dieselgate, 'naked scanners' at airports, and biofuel production. Detailed but accessible, the book will enable advanced engineering students and professional engineers to better identify and address the ethical problems in their practice.
Ethics and Responsibilities of Engineers by
In today's increasingly competitive business world, engineers are continually faced with ethical questions that balance the needs of clients with those of society as a whole. With the dynamic nature of technological growth, the ethical challenges become more and more difficult to quantify and the potential for unintended and unwanted consequences increases exponentially. Individual profits and public service do not often align, hence the need for a code of ethics. Ethics and Responsibilities of Engineers is designed to help students and new practitioners understand from where ethics originate and how they have developed in the profession. It is written to help engineers understand how the coursework they take in school aligns with the public good. What separates this book from others is the focus on the historical development of ethics for the profession and the role played by our educational system, accreditation commissions, and licensing boards. The trust that the public has in their judgment to protect and serve society is what allows engineers to be held in high esteem.
Ethics for Biomedical Engineers by
Over the last few decades, there are increasing public awareness of adverse events involving engineering failures that not only led to monetary losses but also more importantly, human injuries and deaths. Whilst it is vital for an engineering professional or student to acquire the necessary technical knowledge and skills in their respective field, they must also understand the ethical essences that are relevant to their profession. Engineering professionals like biomedical engineers, need to appreciate the fundamentals of best practices and recognise how any derivation from such practices can have undesirable impacts on human lives. Through this book, it is hoped that readers would draw the relevance between the study of ethics and biomedical engineering. The book would be a useful source and reference for college-level and university-level students. Moreover, the contents are written so as to also provide valuable insights even for existing biomedical engineers and those enrolled in continual engineering education programs.
Ethics for Engineers by
An essential all-in-one introduction, Ethics for Engineers provides in-depth coverage of major ethical theories, professional codes of ethics, and case studies in a single volume. Incorporating numerous practical examples and about 100 review questions, it helps students better understand andaddress ethical issues that they may face in their future careers. Topics covered include whistle-blowing, the problem of many hands, gifts, bribes, conflicts of interest, engineering and environmental ethics, privacy and computer ethics, ethical technology assessment, and the ethics of cost-benefitanalysis and risk and uncertainty.
Ethics for engineers : a brief introduction by
Provides professionals at all stages of their career with guidance on navigating the increasingly complex world of practicing engineering ethically on an international scale. Engineering professionals face a duty to uphold reliable and trustworthy behaviour when working across all disciplines and industries. Accuracy and rigour are essential parts of the modern workplace, and are increasingly of concern to practising engineers. Using case studies to highlight examples of issues within the workplace and how these can be appropriately handled, this book is an accessible tool through which engineers can gain confidence in dealing with ethical dilemmas in the workplace. Touching upon safety, risk, artificial intelligence, autonomous systems, and intellectual property, alongside sustainability and environmental matters,
Ethics in engineering, 5th ed. by
Systemically discusses the global dimension of engineering ethics and includes tools for training students on global ethical competency. Has a strong emphasis on the role of technology and design in shaping ethical decision-making in engineering. Introduces issues in engineering ethics by placing those issues within a philosophical framework, while seeking to exhibit their social importance and intellectual challenge. The goal of which is to stimulate reasoning and to provide the conceptual tools necessary for responsible decision making.
Global Engineering Ethics by
Global Engineering Ethics introduces the fundamentals of ethics in a context specific to engineering without privileging any one national or cultural conception of ethics. Numerous case studies from around the world help the reader to see clearly the relevance of design, safety, and professionalism to engineers. Engineering increasingly takes place in global contexts, with industrial and research teams operating across national and cultural borders. This adds a layer of complexity to already challenging ethical issues. This book is essential reading for anyone wanting to understand or communicate the ethics of engineering, including students, academics, and researchers, and is indispensable for those involved in international and cross-cultural environments. Takes a global-values approach to engineering ethics rather than prioritizing any one national or regional culture Uses engineering case studies to explain ethical issues and principles in relatable, practical contexts Approaches engineering from a business perspective, emphasizing the extent to which engineering occurs in terms of profit-driven markets, addressing potential conflicts that arise as a result Provides extensive guidance on how to carry out ethical analysis by using case studies, to practice addressing and thinking through issues before confronting them in the world
Professional Ethics in Construction and Engineering by
Comprehensive and incisive how-to guide that walks readers through the implementation of robust ethical standards in everyday construction management and decision-making Recent and high-profile incidents--including the 2017 Grenfell Tower tragedy and the Lakanal House fire in 2009--have been attributed to failures in the building construction, design, and certification industries. Some commentators have suggested that, while professional construction organizations are bound by codes of ethics, such codes may be downplayed or sometimes even ignored in the day-to-day activities of construction professionals. Professional Ethics in Construction and Engineering is a practical and industry-aligned guide on ethical practice in construction management. The book addresses how existing ethical standards should be applied in daily practice and offers case studies and examples to illustrate their effective implementation. The author also provides a toolkit that can be employed by frontline managers facing common ethical dilemmas. Readers will find: Thorough discussions of how problematic and dangerous ethical situations arise and how they should be addressed In-depth explorations of conflicts between legal and moral expectations, as well as mismatches between clients' business goals and the duties of contracting organizations Playbooks for how impactful decisions should be made and how to uphold ethical standards and values Comprehensive review of existing ethical standards and the legal requirements binding construction professionals found in organizations like RICS, RIBA, and the CIOB A must-read document for construction management practitioners, Professional Ethics in Construction and Engineering will also be invaluable to construction clients, contractors, surveyors, and architects, as well as students of construction-related disciplines at undergraduate and postgraduate level.
Ethics within Engineering : An introduction, 2nd ed. by
Exploring key ethical concerns in the engineering industry, this 2nd edition of Ethics Within Engineering is fully revised and updated to educate a new generation of engineers in ethical decision-making. By focusing on critical issues concerning tracking harm, contract work, and collective action, Wade L. Robison provides educational tools and solutions that match the complexity of the engineering landscape today.
Two new chapters on the responsibility of the engineer and the ethical issues that arise when teams work together to solve design problems, together with new material on tracking harms in the design process, provide a fuller comprehension of risk and harm in engineering. Robison further enhances this new edition with contemporary examples that highlight the enduring necessity of ethics to engineering. These range from the Boeing 737-MAX to General Motors’ controversial 20-gallon fuel tanks.
Useful LCSH subject headings that will link you to further books and other material:
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.