Finding Relevant Literature

Economics & Business Databases

EconLit (via ProQuest)
EconLit facilitates search via keyword or JEL Codes (See below) and will return a variety of content from typical subject specific publications such as working papers through to journals, books and thesis. For the purposes of A2 investigating specific JEL subject descriptors 'J' (Labour and Demographic Economics), 'O' (Economic Development, Innovation, Technological Change, & Growth) by integrating these into your search can assist with identifying suitable evidence for your recommendations.
American Economic Association (AEA) journals
Provides online access to all nine American Economic Association journals, including American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, American Economic Journal: Applied Economics, as well as AEA Papers & Proceedings. See EconLit as an overlay database to search across all AEA Journals alongside Macroeconomics journals such as American Economic Association: Macroeconomics
Login help:
- If you are off-campus: to download fulltext please select the link: "You may also click here for pay-per-view, Athens login and other access options."
Elgar Online
Elgar Online provides Encyclopaedias, Handbooks, Books and Research Reviews. Short literature reviews on key concepts and topics in Economics are a useful way to quickly find major researchers, theorists or economists in a given area and provide a rapid overview of the context, development and debates of economics theories or topics. To locate Research Reviews use the search facility provided using either common language or disciplines specific terms then filter the returned results using the search facet filter.
ABI/INFORM collection (via ProQuest)
Key database for business and economics which includes content for organisational psychology and information systems. ABI/INFORM provides access to journal articles, working papers, business and industry news plus country and industry focused reports.
tag-community access
Informit (Australian databases)
Australian journals and magazines covering areas including business, engineering, science and health plus humanities and education as well as extensive coverage of Indigenous affairs.
tag-community access

Economics Working Papers

SSRN : Social Science Research Network eLibrary
SSRN is another excellent source from which to locate working papers or other preprint (pre-publication) articles. Consider widening your search on this platform to target social science research that investigates the prevalence or demography associated with the issue under investigation.
Personal and site licence registration for QUT staff, students and Alumni is required to access the Legal Scholarship Network.

National Bureau of Economics Research
The NBER conducts and disseminates independent, cutting-edge, non-partisan research that advances economic knowledge and informs policy makers and the business community. Research content includes working papers, books and collected works and other report series.

Economics Theory Reference Works

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
A comprehensive work that provides succinct definitions of economic theory and terms. Each entry features cross references to foundational articles and monographs.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics by Donald Rutherford
It's an international dictionary that includes succinctly explained A to Z entries and definitive explanations of the key terms, accompanied by a short bibliography and comprising supplementary online definitions.
Edward Elgar Handbooks
the EE Handbooks series provide an overview of many aspects of a particular field of economics. This book series is useful for applied economics research in particular environmental and social conditions. Presented here are many such handbooks published by Edward Elgar. Page through results or revise the sample search with title or subject keywords to pinpoint relevant volumes.
Modern Labour Economics by Peter Sloane; Paul Latreille; Nigel O'Leary
ISBN: 0203069307
The book is written in a clear, accessible way with some mathematical exposition, reflecting the text's grounding in current microeconomic theory. The book also contains case studies designed to illuminate theoretical concepts.
The Digital Transformation of Labor by Larsson, Anthony Teigland, Robin
ISBN: 9781032084930
Publication Date: 2020
Through a series of studies, the overarching aim of this book is to investigate if and how the digitalization/digital transformation process causes (or may cause) the autonomy of various labor functions, and its impact in creating (or stymieing) various job opportunities on the labor market.
Automation and Its Macroeconomic Consequences by Klaus Prettner; David E. Bloom
ISBN: 9780128180297
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Automation and Its Macroeconomic Consequences reveals new ways to understand the economic characteristics of our increasing dependence on machines.
The Political Economy of Digital Automation by Sreenath Majumder; Anuradha SenGupta
ISBN: 9781003008200
Publication Date: 2020-08-31
This book enables the reader to visualize the changes brought by automation on our producer and buyer identities, and suggests policy changes that global leaders could adopt to deal with the increasing discord. The book is heavily dependent on a few fundamental concepts of both economics and sociology, such as globalization, labor economics, and cultural homogenization.
Artificial Intelligence, Automation and the Future of Competence at Work by Jon-Arild Johannessen
ISBN: 9781003121923
Publication Date: 2020-12-07
Artificial intelligence and the autonomous robots of the Fourth Industrial Revolution will render certain jobs and competences obsolete but will also create new roles, which in turn require new sets of skills. The book provides a human-centric view of the current technological advancements of artificial intelligence and robotics and offers a positive outlook for human actors seeking continued relevance.

Finding Relevant Literature

Economics & Business Databases

Economics Working Papers

Economics Theory Reference Works

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners