Key books

Original ideas start in a person s mind, but the environment where they operate is crucial for the capture and development of these ideas. Equally important is the interaction with others in developing and evaluating ideas, as a brilliant idea only influences the world if it is put into use. This book hopes to inspire the team leader, innovation manager or research group leader. It deals with the delicate balance of managing and controlling intellectual property in a collaborative environment. Insights on how new inventions can be evaluated are offered. Following the whole cycle of innovation from a creative idea to where a product or service can be put on the market, examples illustrate how an innovative environment can be created and maintained. Strategies and solutions based on the science of team development are presented and leadership models for the different phases of group development are provided. The book will be of interest to researchers, academics, product developers, entrepreneurs, and advanced students in the fields of technology and innovation management and entrepreneurship and small business management but also for leadership.

Creativity for Innovation Management is a rigorous yet applied guide, which illustrates what creativity is, why it matters, and how it can be developed at both individual and group levels.

Most firms perceive innovation as the best way to grow. However, how it can best be managed is still unclear. While the number of publications on innovation has skyrocketed over the past two decades, it is still increasingly difficult to gain an overview of its most critical aspects. Much has been written about the possible benefits of innovation, but there is still a lack of understanding of its downsides at the innovative firm level. This can lead to detrimental effects, such as a lower commitment to innovation, a lack of effective innovation strategy, inappropriate organizational design that does not enhance innovation, and either a too cautious or too risky approach to innovation. Thus, the book aims to explore the concept of innovation management as well as to identify the bright and dark sides of innovation in innovative firms. A better understanding of the positive and negative effects of product and process innovation expands the knowledge base on innovation management and allows managers to manage innovation in a more efficient and effective manner. This book will be valuable to researchers, academics, managers, and advanced students in the fields of management studies, strategy, and organizational studies.

A leader's ability to discover and implement innovations is crucial to adapting to changing technologies and customer preferences, enhancing employee creativity, developing new products, supporting market competitiveness, and sustaining economic growth. Gliddon and Rothwell provide an exciting and comprehensive resource for readers that are currently seeking to build success in organizations with new ideas. Innovation leadership involves synthesizing different leadership styles in organizations to influence employees to produce creative ideas, products, services, and solutions. It is a practice and an approach to organization development and organizational change. Innovation leadership commonly includes four basic stages, which are: (a) support for idea generation, (b) identifying innovations, (c) evaluating innovations, and (d) implementation. There are two types of innovations, including: (a) exploratory innovation, which involves generating brand new ideas, and (b) value-added innovation, which involves modifying and renewing ideas that already exist. The two fundamental leadership theories that are generally necessary for innovation leadership are path-goal theory and Leader Member Exchange theory. The key role in the practice of innovation leadership is that of the innovation leader. However, there are currently multiple perspectives on the definition of an innovation leader. An individual in an organization, a group within an organization, the organization itself, and even a community, state, or nation can be considered an innovation leader. The book explores each of these perspectives on the definition of an innovation leader.

Offering a conceptual framework that integrates strategy, product, process and human resource research, this timely book interrogates these four critical and interrelated areas of innovation management. Chapters examine new insights into the latest trends in the field, providing a holistic view into key management strategies that benefit both up-and-coming and established businesses. International contributions from leading scholars analyze cases and research from the USA, Japan, China and Brazil as well as a range of European countries, highlighting the successes and failures of key innovation management systems. The book looks at ways to create a sustainable innovation strategy, and how this can be implemented to achieve competitive advantage in the long run. The suggested integrated framework allows for a sound understanding of influential managerial elements, making this an important read for practitioners hoping to define and renew successfully innovative organisations. Management and entrepreneurship scholars will benefit from the novel insights into innovation strategy explored in the book. Contributors include:V. Auruskeviciene, F. Bernhard, J. Chen, A. Chmieliauskas, S. Conner, G. Gopal, K. Grigorjevaite, A. Klimaviciene, J. Li-Ying, D.P.T. Lopes, T. Onaka, E. Pilkauskaite, S. Senkevic, S. Sereika, S. Simkonis, V. Skudiene, O. Stangej, K. Tadakuma, G. Vezeliene, Y. Wang, R. Wickramasekera

Innovation is an essential growth lever for organizations. Like any strategic element, it must be managed to ensure the right decision is made at the right time. When we talk about management, we naturally also consider management control. However, using management tools can be a danger to developing creativity - an essential element of innovation. This book examines the interdependencies between management control and creativity. By comparing two organizational contexts, we highlight the vital role of organizations as generators of creativity. We also underline the acceptance of an imbalance between the elements in tension, which can lead to the questioning and fostering of innovation; and the role of senior management as mediators between organizations and local actors.

This book offers new insights into the complex set of activities and decisions of product innovation management. It provides concepts, methods, and tools that can help accelerate the introduction of successful products to the market in an increasingly competitive and changing business landscape. It also offers examples and case studies, and it is the result of more than 20 years of study, research, and consulting carried out by the two authors in the field of innovation management. The book discusses the demanding challenges of product innovation and offers practitioners guidance on how to respond to these challenges. It presents a three-level framework (the "innovation pyramid"), which reflects the core components of a firm's innovation capability: first, intelligence - absorbing information and knowledge from the outside world by looking beyond the familiar territories of the current market, technology, and customers; second, discovery - exploring opportunities for innovation through creative ideation and technology experimentation; and third, development - transforming opportunities into profitable new products and services.  

This book features state-of-the-art studies on the responsible innovation management. It illustrates the innovative methods from socio-economic and sustainable development dimensions and specifically mentions digitalisation's dark side, technology application challenges and enterprises management issues. The selected works contain enormous new case studies exploring ways to improve the development of related industries from responsible innovation perspectives. It covers about the multidisciplinary areas, and hence, it fosters close collaboration between researchers in diverse fields such as social science, economics and engineering. Researchers, corporate executives and engineers in these areas can benefit from the book.

Innovation contributes to corporate competitiveness, economic performance and environmental sustainability. In the Internet era, innovation intelligence is transferred across borders and languages at an unprecedented rate, yet the ability to benefit from it seems to become more divergent among different corporations and countries. How much an organization can benefit from innovation largely depends on how well innovation is managed in it. Thus, there is a discernible increase in interest in the study of innovation management. This handbook provides a comprehensive guide to this subject. The handbook introduces the basic framework of innovation and innovation management. It also presents innovation management from the perspectives of strategy, organization and resource, as well as institution and culture. The book's comprehensive coverage on all areas of innovation management makes this a very useful reference for anyone interested in the subject. Chapter 5 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781315276670

Organization studies, although a relatively recent notion, has roots that go back at least to the early days of the twentieth century. The study of how people construct organizations, how they use the structures, processes, and practices that they have designed, and how these, in turn, use people, organize social relations, construct institutions, organize them, and, consecutively, enable them to organize us--has matured along multiple fronts. Over the last two decades more diverse approaches, drawing on more qualitative and ethnographic styles of research, have predominated. This Encyclopedia represents both the older and the newer styles of work, with their respective concerns. The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner. The old model of a North American core exporting its domain assumptions to the rest of the world, while by no means absent, is less marked than it used to be. Thus, editors Stewart R. Clegg and James R. Bailey have sought to capture much of the cutting-edge thinking that characterizes the best scholarship--in the United States and elsewhere. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced, and entries are based around a series of broad themes. Key Features Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize this diverse field of organization studies Illustrates the fluidity, dynamism, and innovation that now occur in organization studies--internationally Brings together a team of international contributors from the fields of management, psychology, sociology, communications, education, political science, public administration, anthropology, law, and other related areas Examines how organizations are devices for structuring life and lives are structured by organizations Key Themes Approaches to Organization Theory Approaches to Management Theory Culture and Symbolism Human Resource Management International Approaches Issues in Organization Practices Issues in Organizational Structure Innovation and Creativity Knowledge and Learning Leadership Theory Organizational Behavior Organizational Cognition, Change, and Communication Organizational Economics Organizational Relations Organizational Power, Politics, and Conflict Philosophy of Organizations Research Practice and Methodology Social Issues Teams Technologies The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the premier reference tool for students, educators, scholars, and practitioners to gather knowledge about a range of important topics from the unique perspective of organization studies with extensive international representation.

Recent Advances in Knowledge Management investigates the multidimensional aspects of knowledge management by exploring different perspectives and practices as well as existing theories of effective knowledge management in a changing world. Chapters address such topics as tacit knowledge, knowledge management frameworks, informally structured domains of knowledge management, and more. Beyond understanding the nature of knowledge management processes in different kinds of organizations, this book examines the nature of knowledge management focusing on what we know and how we know it.

Knowledge capital is at the core of the socio-economic global system. Profit and not-for profit firms, institutions, and organizations, in general, face unique opportunities and threats related to knowledge management. Digital technologies and digital transformation offer a wide array of opportunities for value creation. At the same time, organizations need to foster newer, faster, and more dynamic ways of mobilizing and managing knowledge. Emerging trends, such as artificial intelligence, collective intelligence, agile methodologies, open innovation, and co-creation enable new business models and managerial paradigms that need to be understood and conceptualized.This book offers an extensive overview of the most recent trends in knowledge management and the most advanced theoretical approaches, while, at the same time, providing a wide array of case studies and evidence-based knowledge management practices. It takes into account the interrelation between ICT and knowledge management challenges, in terms of human/non-human interactions, which requires extraordinary organizational change and renewal. Further, the book presents an up-to-date examination of and guidance for the implementation of knowledge management in an era of unprecedented human/non-human interaction.The book conveys the results of more than a decade of research and applied experience in the field of knowledge management carried out by the author.It is intended not only for students and academics but also for managers and practitioners who are interested in deepening their understanding of knowledge and learning.

As knowledge economies become increasingly important around the world, it is essential that organizations are able to transform their knowledge into a competitive advantage. This textbook offers an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge management written specifically for postgraduate students in business and management schools. Knowledge Management presents classic and advanced concepts, models and frameworks using a clear logical structure, which covers building knowledge competence, the knowledge lifecycle, and integration of knowledge management with business decision making. An overall framework illustrates links between chapters and ensures readers can gain a body of actionable knowledge rather than learning isolated, uncontextualized topics. Based on cutting-edge research findings and covering the most advanced IT and IS technologies, this book emphasises the need for knowledge management to span boundaries across organizations, supply chains and partnerships, rather than being limited to individual learning and sharing within businesses. Knowledge Management is international in scope and includes real world case studies and role play scenarios to show how theories are applied in practice, and "think back" and "critique discussion" questions to encourage reflective learning and critical thinking. This indispensable text provides a dynamic picture of the evolution of knowledge management and demonstrates its full potential to enable better business decisions. Accompanying online resources include PowerPoint slides for lecturers and exercise questions for students.

This thoroughly revised fourth edition of the leading knowledge management (KM) textbook offers a comprehensive and accessible overview of the theory and practice of KM. Today's knowledge-driven economy raises the stakes for organizations and individuals whose success depends on the effective management of information and knowledge. Knowledge is an asset that is not always easily tapped, especially when embedded in products and in the tacit understanding of highly mobile individual employees. Knowledge management (KM) represents a deliberate and systematic approach to cultivating and sharing an organization's knowledge base. This thoroughly revised new edition of the leading knowledge management textbook offers a comprehensive and accessible overview of the theory and practice of KM. Drawing on ideas, tools, and techniques from such disciplines as sociology, cognitive science, organizational behavior, and information science, it serves as an invaluable resource for students and researchers across information sciences, business, education, and communication. Global in scope and updated to reflect the maturing field, this fourth edition emphasizes optimizing KM and measuring its success and impact in meaningful ways. Fourth edition highlights- Comprehensively updated to integrate the latest theories, practices, and technologies in KM Discusses not only how to implement but how to sustain successful KM strategies and systems in the long term Includes new coverage of KM governance and the KM ISO standard introduced in 2018 Features detailed, real-world vignettes and a wealth of instructor resources, including slides and solutions

The book presents a new type of leadership focused on sustainable human development and organizational sustainability, which is based on the self-realization of the person of the leader, which means the satisfaction of their needs, according to the scale of Abraham Maslow, through integral human development in all aspects of life. Because the term "leader" appears to refer to anyone with the authority to confer a position with subordinates, the reality within organizations has shown that a leader must go further and demonstrate commitment, awareness, and concern for the common good. Which person has these characteristics? People who have had more opportunity to develop in different areas of their being, resulting in them being conceived as more educated. The qualities in a person are the basis of leadership. Education and practice are much more important than all hereditary and genetic codes. This volume explores the various ways of making explicit the dimensions of social, economic, and environmental sustainability through knowledge management that addresses the identification, collection, processing, circulation, use, exchange, and preservation of knowledge within operating systems and the context of organizations, considering issues that contribute to sustainability - human and organizational - where the leader is the main actor and the means is knowledge management.