Evidence based practice is the provision of health care guided by the integration of the best available scientific or research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values.
This approach allows health care practitioners to critically assess evidence such as research studies, clinical guidelines, and other information resources in order to correctly identify the clinical problem and apply the most high-quality intervention.
The best sources for filtered information are specialised Library databases that provide access to evidence based systematic reviews, summaries, recommendations and clinical guidelines, including:
You can often find clinical guidelines and recommendations freely available on the web from government websites and professional associations. A key Australian example is:
Good sources of unfiltered information are journal articles from peer-reviewed journals. This is where researchers publish the results of their research studies. Other sources include preprints, conference proceedings and theses.
You can find journal articles using Library Search or use subject specialised journal article databases, such as nursing databases and psychology databases.
Key databases for finding health related journal articles include:
The key psychology database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides access to summaries of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, books, chapters and dissertations covering behavioural science and mental health, with some citations dating back as far as the 1600s.Add to your HiQ Launchpad
Selected fulltext of articles and other publications covering numerous nursing and allied health disciplines.Add to your HiQ Launchpad
The authoritative database for medicine and health research produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It indexes the most prominent journals used in the field of medical research.Add to your HiQ Launchpad
Journals and books covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences and humanities.Add to your HiQ Launchpad
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.