Books and eBooks

Case-studies of how teachers and practitioners have attempted to develop more effective 'experiential learning' strategies in order to better equip students for their voluntary engagements in communities, working for sustainable peace and a tolerant society free of discrimination. All chapters revolve around this central theme, testing and trying various paradigms and experimenting with different practices, in a wide range of geographical and historical arenas. Interdisciplinary in approach, the book provides a combination of theoretical reflections and concrete pedagogical suggestions.

The approach of professionals from the world-renowned Portman Clinic, which specializes in work with violence, delinquency and sexual acting out. This book focuses on the intricacies of working with young people who display such worrying behaviours. Written by experienced and eminent authors, the chapters unpack central theories and open up original ideas describing a range of work with sexual offenders, compulsive pornography users and violent young people. The central theme of the book is trauma and how acting out can be understood as a way of managing the psychic pain of such trauma.

This book describes a supportive group treatment approach for survivors just beginning to come to terms with the impact of interpersonal trauma. Focusing on establishing safety, stability, and self-care, the Trauma Information Group (TIG) is a Stage 1 approach within Judith Herman's influential stage model of treatment. Vivid sample transcripts illustrate ways to help group participants deepen their understanding of trauma, build new coping skills, and develop increased compassion for themselves and for one another.

Traumatic events known as adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) can affect children physically, mentally, and emotionally, sometimes with long-term health and behavioral effects. Abuse, neglect, exposure to community and domestic violence, and household dysfunction all have the potential to alter brain development and behavior. This book provides Information about how to detect and prevent ACEs and to help children who have lived through them.

This book outlines the trauma-informed approaches necessary to provide a more compassionate model of care for those who suffer with mental illness. The impact of abuse and trauma is frequently overlooked in this population, to the detriment of both individual and society. This work highlights the importance of recognising such a history and responding humanely. The book explores the trauma-informed perspective across four sections. The first outlines theory, constructs and effects of abuse and trauma. The second section addresses the effects of abuse and trauma on specific populations. The third section outlines a diverse range of individual treatment approaches. The final section takes a broader perspective, examining the importance of culture and training as well as the organisation and delivery of services.

This book covers identifiable treatments and specific lines of research in assisting clients in developing new meaning, such as posttraumatic growth (after sexual assault, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer, destructive natural phenomena, such as hurricanes, and refugee experiences), and finding benefit (in the context of loss--loss of health, or loss of a loved one).

The theory, research, and practice of sexual assault risk reduction, resistance education, and self-defense programs for women and other vulnerable groups, including sexual minorities, individuals with disabilities, and those with histories of victimization. Following an ecosystemic perspective, the book examines individual risk and protective factors for sexual victimization, as well as peer-, family-, community- and societal-level factors that influence risk for sexual violence and inform the content of programs. The volume provides an overview of the history of this sexual assault prevention approach and addresses current controversies and questions in the field. The authors outline risk and protective factors for victimization and discuss how these factors guide risk reduction efforts and detail what it means for prevention to be "trauma informed".

This book outlines several approaches to therapeutic treatment for individuals who have experienced complex childhood and adult trauma, providing a framework for helping challenging patients and emphasizing the importance of maintaining good therapeutic relationships.

The transgenerational, psychological impacts of trauma, and the clinical work on it. The book's expansive insight explores the psychology of the massive, collective trauma, and provides new ways of understanding the serious after-effects of man-made suffering. Crucially, this book explores the psychological effects of collective, societal traumas on whole groups of individuals. Beginning with the direct, deep psychological effects of individual trauma, and then exploring the impact of collective trauma over generations , it deals particularly with the role of the social environment in the processing of trauma, as well as its hereditary transmission.

An expanded and revised edition of the first social work text to focus specifically on the theoretical and clinical issues associated with trauma, this comprehensive anthology incorporates the latest research in trauma theory and clinical applications. It presents key developments in the conceptualization of trauma and covers a wide range of clinical treatments.

Human rights violations and traumatic events often comingle in victims' experiences; however, the human rights framework and trauma theory are rarely deployed together to illuminate such experiences. Individual chapters address these topics among Native Americans, African Americans, children, women, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgender individuals, those with mental disabilities, refugees and asylees, and older adults, and also in the context of social policy and truth and reconciliation commissions. The authors demonstrate that the trauma and human rights frameworks each contribute invaluable and complementary insights, and that their integration can help us fully appreciate and address human suffering at both individual and collective levels.

Victimology: Crime Victimization and Victim Services is a text written for undergraduate students that provides a broad overview of the theoretical basis of victimology, and the role of victimology in today's criminal justice system. This multidisciplinary approach to crime victimization, crime victims, and victim services includes chapters written by authors from a variety of disciplines: criminal justice and criminology, counseling, nursing, social work, nonprofit organizations, law, student affairs, and public policy.