Programming Languages

With hundreds of programming languages in existence and an enormous combination of specialist uses for them in each faculty, it's impossible to compile tutorials for them all on the one page. Here, we've compiled tutorials for the most popular programming languages in use at QUT, but that doesn't mean you can't find more information for your specific programming needs. Check the home page of this LibGuide for more ideas on where you can search for more information. If you'd like some help finding specific resources, you can either book an appointment or chat online with a librarian.

General Purpose

Learn C Programming by Jeff Szuhay
Call Number: Online eBook
Get started with writing simple programs in C while learning the skills that will help you work with practically any programming language.
Practical C Programming by B.M. Harwani
Call Number: Online eBook
A comprehensive guide with practical instructions for learning data structures, low-level programming, high-performance computing, networking and IoT to help you understand the latest standards in C programming.

C Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
This course teaches the fundamentals of programming in C, covering four introductory aspects: code structure, data, program flow, and functions.
Learning C (LinkedIn Learning)
In this course, get a quick introduction to the vocabulary and basics of programming in C. It will cover flow control, variables, and other basic topics, but also introduces advanced concepts such as pointers and memory allocation.
C Programming: Features & the First C Program (YouTube)
This course is broken up into bit-sized chunks in a YouTube playlist for easy learning, with videos ranging from 5 to 20 minutes each.
C Programming Tutorial for Beginners (YouTube)
This course will give you a full introduction into all of the core concepts in the C programming language.

Beginning C++ Programming by Richard Grimes
Call Number: Online eBook
This book gets you started with the exciting world of C++ programming It will enable you to write C++ code that uses the standard library, has a level of object orientation, and uses memory in a safe and effective way It forms the basis of programming and covers concepts such as data structures and the core programming language.
Learning C++ Functional Programming by Wisnu Anggoro
Call Number: Online eBook
Apply Functional Programming techniques to C++ to build highly modular, testable, and reusable code.

C++ Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
This course will guide you through the nuts and bolts of this essential language. These exhaustive tutorials provide a solid C++ reference for both experienced programmers and those who are brand new to the language.
Learning C++ (LinkedIn Learning)
This course will get you up and running fast. It covers simple data types, including numbers and strings; flow-control features like loops and if, else, and switch statements; and functions, the code that encapsulates tasks your program performs.
C++ Full Course For Beginners (YouTube)
This 10 hour C++ programming course will take you from beginner to advanced programming level, which each section building on the last. This video is timestamped for easy navigation upon return.
C++ Tutorial for Beginners (YouTube)
This course will give you a full introduction into all of the core concepts in C++.

C# Programming for Absolute Beginners by Radek Vystavěl
Call Number: Online eBook
This book provides you with a step-by-step introduction to the principles of programming in C#. The task-solution approach will get you immersed, with minimum theory and maximum action.
Learn C# Programming by Marius Bancila, Raffaele Rialdi, Ankit Sharma, & Dino Esposito
Call Number: Online eBook
Get started with C# and strengthen your knowledge of core programming concepts such as procedural, object-oriented, generic, functional, and asynchronous programming along with the latest features of C#.

C# Essential Training 1 (LinkedIn Learning)
Get started in Microsoft application development by learning C#. This C# Essential Training course is broken into two parts, so you can focus on the language features you need to learn most. This part teaches the essential components of the syntax, including variables, strings, operations, classes, and methods.
C# Essential Training 2 (LinkedIn Learning)
Get started in Microsoft application development by learning C#. This course is the second half of C# Essential Training, which covers slightly more advanced techniques such as testing code, storing data in arrays and collections, processing lists with LINQ, controlling program flow, and handling exceptions.
C# Tutorial - Full Course for Beginners (YouTube)
This course will give you a full introduction into all of the core concepts in C# (aka C Sharp).
C# Tutorial For Beginners (YouTube)
This C# tutorial is perfect for beginners. Get up and running with C# and code in just 1 hour, with no prior knowledge needed.

Introduction to Java programming by Y. Daniel Liang
Call Number: Online eBook
This comprehensive introduction to the concepts and practice of Java programming builds carefully and cumulatively from chapter to chapter.
Java Programming for Beginners by Mark Lassoff
Call Number: Online eBook
Java Programming for Beginners is an introduction to Java programming, taking you through the Java syntax and the fundamentals of object-oriented programming.

Java Essential Training: Syntax and Structure (LinkedIn Learning)
In the first installment of this essentials course, start exploring this essential language, and learn about basic Java syntax and the Java platform's fundamental architecture.
Java Essential Training: Objects and APIs (LinkedIn Learning)
This course is the second in the Java Essential Training series, which provides the foundation for learning Java 9.
Learning Java 11 (LinkedIn Learning)
Get up and running with this popular language in a course that covers all the basics: data types, strings, functions, and loops. This course is perfect for developers who need to get up to speed with Java fast, as well as for beginning programmers who want their first taste of this popular language.
Java Tutorial for Beginners (YouTube)
This video is a beginner-friendly short course, structured to help you practice while you learn.
Learn Java in 25 Minutes (YouTube)
Learn how to create variables, conditionals, loops, functions and more in this energetic Java programming tutorial for beginners.

Beginning JavaScript by Russ Ferguson
Call Number: Online eBook
Discover everything you need to know to get up-to-speed with JavaScript development and add dynamic enhancements to web pages.
JavaScript Everywhere by Adam D. Scott
Call Number: Online eBook
Both new and experienced JavaScript developers will learn how to use this language to create APIs as well as web, mobile, and desktop applications.

JavaScript Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
Through practical examples and mini-projects, this course helps you build your understanding of JavaScript piece by piece, from core principles like variables, data types, conditionals, and functions through advanced topics including loops, and DOM scripting
Learning the JavaScript Language (LinkedIn Learning)
This course explores the syntax behind the JavaScript language. It shows how to "speak" JavaScript by gaining an understanding of variables, types, objects, arrays, operators, control structures, loops, and functions, through a series of hands-on examples that put these ideas into action.
JavaScript Tutorial for Beginners (YouTube)
This JavaScript tutorial for beginners will help you learn JavaScript basics in one hour.
Javascript Full Course for Beginners to Advanced (YouTube)
This course will provide you with a solid foundation, enabling you to start to building backend applications in Javascript using NodeJS and frontend applications using React or Vue.

Starting out with Python by Tony Gaddis
Call Number: Online eBook
This title is an evenly-paced, accessible text that introduces students to the basics of programming and prepares them to transition into more complicated languages. It covers control structures, functions, arrays, and pointers before objects and classes.
Introduction to Python Programming by S. Gowrishankar and A. Veena
Call Number: Online eBook
Introduction to Python Programming is written for students who are beginners in the field of computer programming. This book has been written with the goal to provide students with a textbook that can be easily understood and to make a connection between what students are learning and how they may apply that knowledge.

Python Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
This course demonstrates how to use Python 3 to create well-designed scripts and maintain existing projects. It covers the basics of the language syntax and usage, as well as advanced features such as objects, generators, and exceptions. Learn how types and values are related to objects; how to use control statements, loops, and functions; and how to work with generators and decorators.
Learning Python (LinkedIn Learning)
Whether you're new to programming or an experienced developer, this course can help you get started with Python. It provides an overview of the installation process, basic Python syntax, and an example of how to construct and run a simple Python program. Learn to work with dates and times, read and write files, and retrieve and parse HTML, JSON, and XML data from the web.
Python Tutorial for Beginners (YouTube)
In this complete 5-hour Python course, you will learn everything you need to get started with Python. By the end of this course, you will have a good understanding of the concepts and hands-on experience with several demo projects you can follow along.
Learn Python - Full Course for Beginners (YouTube)
This course will give you a full introduction into all of the core concepts in Python.

Application or Domain Specific

Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists
Call Number: Online eBook
This book provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality, covering both fundamentals and applications. The essentials are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus.
MATLAB: An Introduction with Applications
Call Number: Online eBook
This concise book is known for its just-in-time learning approach that gives students information when they need it. This book includes numerous sample problems in mathematics, science, and engineering that are similar to problems encountered by new users of MATLAB.
MATLAB: a practical introduction to programming and problem solving
Call Number: Online eBook
This book will guide you through both programming and built-in functions to easily exploit MATLAB's extensive capabilities for tackling engineering and scientific problems.

MATLAB 2018 Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
This course covers creating MATLAB scripts, accepting user input, extending MATLAB with user-defined functions, controlling flow with conditional logic and loops, managing text strings and other data structures like numbers, performing advanced plotting, and summarizing data using statistical analysis functions.
Learning MATLAB (LinkedIn Learning)
This course shows you how to harness the MATLAB tools and create programs to model your own data and hypotheses.
The Complete MATLAB Course: Beginner to Advanced (YouTube)
This 4 hour course will take you from absolute basics to advanced skills in MATLAB.

Beyond Spreadsheets with R by Jon Carroll
Call Number: Online eBook
Beyond Spreadsheets with R shows you how to take raw data and transform it for use in computations, tables, graphs, and more. You'll build on simple programming techniques like loops and conditionals to create your own custom functions. You'll come away with a toolkit of strategies for analyzing and visualizing data of all sorts using R and RStudio.
Beginning R 4
Call Number: Online eBook
Learn how to use R 4, write and save R scripts, read in and write out data files, use built-in functions, and understand common statistical methods.

R Essential Training 1: Wrangling and Visualizing Data (LinkedIn Learning)
This two-part training series provides a thorough introduction to R. In part one, it shows how to get R and popular R packages up and running and start importing, cleaning, and converting data for analysis. He also shows how to create visualizations such as bar charts, histograms, and scatterplots and transform categorical, qualitative, and outlier data to best meet your research questions and the requirements of your algorithms.
R Essential Training 2: Modelling Data (LinkedIn Learning)
This two-part training series provides a thorough introduction to R. In part two, it shows how to compute statistics, analyze data, predict outcomes, and group and classify cases. These are the fundamental techniques you need to generate meaningful insights for your organization.
R Programming Tutorial - Learn the Basics of Statistical Computing (YouTube)
Learn the R programming language in this tutorial course. This is a hands-on overview of the statistical programming language R, one of the most important tools in data science.
R Programming for Beginners (YouTube)
This tutorial will set you up with everything you need to know to start coding in RStats and RStudio. All the basics and fundamentals for non-coders and beginners in R programming.

Learn SQL Database Programming by Josephine Bush
Call Number: Online eBook
Learn everything you need to know to build efficient SQL queries using this easy-to-follow beginner's guide.
The SQL Workshop by Frank Solomon, Prashanth Jayaram, and Awni Al Saqqa
Call Number: Online eBook
Cut through the noise and get real results with a step-by-step approach to learning.

SQL Essential Training (LinkedIn Learning)
This course is designed to help users understand the most common language for database wrangling, SQL. It teaches all the major features of SQL: creating tables; defining relationships; manipulating strings, numbers, and dates; using triggers to automate actions; and using subselects and views.
Learning SQL Programming (LinkedIn Learning)
This course provides an introduction to SQL, a core programming language. Learn how to request data from a database, limit and sort the responses, aggregate data from multiple tables with joins, and edit and delete data.
SQL For Beginners Tutorial (YouTube)
This tutorial will cover important SQL concepts and get you started in SQL in just 4 hours.
SQL Tutorial - Full Database Course for Beginners (YouTube)
In this course, you'll learn database management basics and SQL using the MySQL RDBMS.

Programming Languages

General Purpose

Application or Domain Specific

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners