The use of procedural generation in game design can help with the intricate and multifarious aspects of game development. Readers will learn to create randomized maps, weave accidental plotlines, and manage complex systems that are prone to unpredictable behavior.
This title concerns the evolving discipline of procedural storytelling in video games. The reader will learn to construct narrative systems, write procedural dialog, and generate compelling characters with unique personalities and backstories.
Basics of Game Design is for anyone wanting to become a professional game designer. Focusing on creating the game mechanics for data-driven games, it covers role-playing, real-time strategy, first-person shooter, simulation, and other games.
If you are looking for an up-to-date and highly applicable guide to game design, then you have come to the right place! Immerse yourself in the fundamentals of game design with this book, written by two highly experienced industry professionals to share their profound insights as well as give valuable advice on creating games across genres and development platforms.
The contributors of "Games and Rules" take a closer look at the core of each game and the motivational system that is the game mechanics. Games are control circuits that organize the game world with their (joint) players and establish motivations in a dedicated space, a "Magic Circle", whereas game mechanics are constructs of rules designed for interactions that provide gameplay.
With its unique focus on video game engines, the data-driven architectures of game development and play, this innovative textbook examines the impact of software on everyday life and explores the rise of engine-driven culture. Through a series of case studies, Eric Freedman lays out a clear methodology for studying the game development pipeline.
Get a head start in your game development career with this all-genre guide for absolute beginners. Mostly Codeless Game Development empowers new developers with little or no previous programming experience and explores all major areas of game development in a succinct, entertaining fashion.
This book, the third volume in the popular Game Engine Gems series, contains 22 new chapters that concisely present particular techniques, describe clever tricks, or offer practical advice within the subject of game engine development. Each chapter is filled with the expert knowledge and wisdom of seasoned professionals.
ame developers, whether focusing on entertainment-market opportunities or game-based applications in non-entertainment domains, thus share a common interest with software engineers and developers on how to best engineer game software.
Essential Mathematics for Games and Interactive Applications illustrates the importance of mathematics in 3D programming, showing you how to properly animate, simulate, and render scenes and discusses the mathematics behind the processes. The book covers the low-level mathematical and geometric representations and algorithms that are the core of any game engine. It also explores all the stages of the rendering pipeline.
John Vince explains a wide range of mathematical techniques and problem-solving strategies associated with computer games, computer animation, virtual reality, CAD and other areas of computer graphics in this completely revised and expanded fifth edition.
Designed to explain the mathematical concepts involved in computer graphics and its entities, this book is ideal for courses in computer graphics, engineering, game development, as well as for professionals in industry.
The essential guide to solving algorithmic and networking problems in commercial computer games, revised and extended Algorithms and Networking for Computer Games, is written from the perspective of the computer scientist. Combining algorithmic knowledge and game-related problems, it explores the most common problems encountered in game programing.
AI is an integral part of every video game. This book helps professionals keep up with the constantly evolving technological advances in the fast growing game industry and equips students with up-to-date information they need to jumpstart their careers.
Steve Rabin's Game AI Pro 360: Guide to Movement and Pathfinding gathers all the cutting-edge information from his previous three Game AI Pro volumes into a convenient single source anthology covering movement and pathfinding in game AI.
Game AI Pro2: Collected Wisdom of Game AI Professionals presents cutting-edge tips, tricks, and techniques for artificial intelligence (AI) in games, drawn from developers of shipped commercial games as well as some of the best-known academics in the field.
The general video game AI framework and competition propose a challenge in which researchers can test their favorite AI methods with a potentially infinite number of games created using the Video Game Description Language. The present book, written by the developers and organizers of the framework, presents the most interesting highlights of the research performed by the authors during these years in this domain.
This is the first textbook dedicated to explaining how artificial intelligence (AI) techniques can be used in and for games. After introductory chapters that explain the background and key techniques in AI and games, the authors explain how to use AI to play games, to generate content for games and to model players.
Search scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), including 170 active journals, 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards and over 1,300 eBooks, with around 25,000 new documents being added each month. An archive of journals dates back to 1872.
Read the latest developments in computer sciences and information technology research and teaching. The series also includes the sub series, Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI).
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science ebook’s collate the latest research and developments in Engineering and Computer Science, providing researchers and students a complete introduction to each field.
Unity is a powerful 3D development tool for mobile and desktop games, real-time simulations and visualizations, and even short films. This course is designed to transform complete beginners into savvy users with enough skill to be dangerously effective in Unity 2019.
Master game design and digital art principles simultaneously with this all-in-one guide to creating games in the cutting-edge game engine Unity. Holistic Game Development with Unity will help the reader gain the multidisciplinary skills needed to succeed in the independent game industry. Holistic Game Development with Unity includes new coverage on Augmented Reality, Networking, and Virtual Reality.
Create your own augmented reality game from scratch and join the virtual reality gaming revolution. Use the latest Unity 5 VR SDK to create pro-level AR games like Pokemon Go. Innovate and explore the latest and most promising trend of AR gaming in the mobile gaming industry.
Building Virtual Reality with Unity and Steam VR takes a hands-on approach to getting up and running with virtual reality using the Unity game engine. This book also looks at some of the main issues surrounding virtual reality, such as motion sickness and performance issues, providing practical ways to reduce their impact to make better VR experiences.
Do you want to build mobile games, but lack game development experience? No problem. This practical guide shows you how to create beautiful, interactive content for iOS and Android devices with the Unity game engine.
Unreal isn’t just for gaming anymore. Industries such as automotive design, architecture, healthcare, and education are embracing the real-time development tools for creating engaging and interactive visuals. Unreal Engine can power it all. In this course, Simon Manning teaches the essential skills you need to build immersive user experiences of all kinds with Unreal Engine 4, including lighting, effects, and visual scripting.
Get started creating video games using Unreal Engine 4 (UE4) and learning the fundamentals of game development. Through hands-on, step-by-step tutorials, you will learn to design engaging environments and a build solid foundation for more complex games. Discover how to utilize the 3D game design software behind the development of immensely popular games for PC, console, and mobile.
Apply the techniques needed to build VR applications for mobile and standalone head-mounted displays (HMDs) using the Unreal Engine. This book covers the entire VR ecosystem including production tools, Unreal engine, workflows, performance and optimization, and presents two fully-developed projects to reinforce what you've learned.
Write efficient, reusable scripts to build custom characters, game environments, and control enemy AI. Build captivating multiplayer games using Unreal Engine and C++Incorporate existing C++ libraries into your game to add extra functionality such as hardware integration. Practical solutions for memory management, error handling, inputs, and collision for your game codebase.
Blender is a powerful open-source solution for 2D and 3D modeling, animation, compositing, and post-production. In this course, get a thorough overview of the feature set in Blender 2.83, as well as practical production techniques that combine know-how with a healthy dose of how-to.
Make your 3D world a reality. Some of the dramatic visual effects you've seen in top-grossing movies and heralded television series got their start in Blender. This book helps you get your own start in creating three-dimensional characters, scenes, and animations in the popular free and open-source tool.
The Complete Guide to Blender Graphics: Computer Modeling and Animation is a unified learning manual for beginners and a reference for advanced users. The manual introduces the basic components of the Blender program with reference to the interface using written instruction in conjunction with illustrations and examples.
Get up and running with Blender 3D through a series of practical projects that will help you learn core concepts of 3D design like modeling, sculpting, materials, textures, lighting, and rigging using the latest features of Blender 2.83.
C# is the language at the heart of many Windows applications, including Windows Phone and Windows Store apps. It is the principle programming language for Microsoft and required knowledge for developers in this area. Learn the fundamentals of C# version 7, including basic language syntax and object-oriented programming techniques, in this training course with instructor Alexander Zanfir.
Developing computer games is a perfect way to learn how to program in modern programming languages. This book teaches how to program in C# through the creation of computer games - and without requiring any previous programming experience. The reader will be guided through the development of four games showing the various aspects of game development. At the same time, they provide a thorough introduction to C# and object-oriented programming, introducing step by step important programming concepts such as loops, methods, classes, collections, and exception handling.
Designed for beginners with no knowledge or experience in game development or programming, this book teaches the essentials of the Unity game engine, the C# programming language, and the art of object-oriented programming.
Get started with C# and strengthen your knowledge of core programming concepts such as procedural, object-oriented, generic, functional, and asynchronous programming along with the latest features of C# 8.
When you have questions about C# 8.0 or .NET Core, this best-selling guide has the answers you need. C# is a language of unusual flexibility and breadth, but with its continual growth there’s so much more to learn.
Learn C++ programming, starting with the basics. Widely used for both systems and applications development, C++ is available for virtually every operating system and has influenced and informed many derivative languages, including C# and Java. In this course, Bill Weinman guides you through the nuts and bolts of this essential language.
Learn C++ the quick, easy, and "lazy" way. This book is an introductory programming text that uses humor and fun to make you actually willing to read, and eager to do the projects -- with the popular C++ language.
A clear and student-friendly way to teach the fundamentals of C++
Starting Out with C++: From Control Structures through Objects covers control structures, functions, arrays, and pointers before objects and classes in Tony Gaddis's hallmark accessible, step-by-step presentation.
C++ is one of the most widely used languages for real-world software. Wherever performance matters, C++ is the de facto standard. It's the language behind operating systems, embedded devices, games, web browsers, and virtual reality systems. As a C++ developer, you can program efficient software on virtually any platform. C++ Crash Course cuts through the weeds to get you straight to the core of C++17, the most modern revision of the ISO standard.
Gain a deeper understanding of HTML5, and learn how to create richer, more meaningful webpages with HTML5 structural tags and enhanced semantic markup. In this course, senior author James Williamson presents an overview of HTML5, demystifies the language's new tags and attributes, and discusses how browsers parse and display HTML5 content.
If you are a HTML5 game developer who can make basic single-player games and you are now ready to incorporate multiplayer functionality in your games as quickly as possible, then this book is ideal for you.
Build Your Own 2D Game Engine and Create Great Web Games teaches you how to develop your own web-based game engine step-by-step, allowing you to create a wide variety of online videogames that can be played in common web browsers.