Handbooks and Encyclopedias

The editors have curated a comprehensive collection highlighting the relativity of deviance, with chapters exploring the deviant behaviors related to sport, recreation, body modification, chronic health conditions, substance use, religion and cults, political extremism, sexuality, online interaction, mental and emotional disorders, elite societal status, workplace issues, and lifestyle.

An interdisciplinary coverage of new understandings of the most important developments in the sociology of crime and deviance that is current and emerging for research, methodology, practice, and theory in criminology.

Social deviance--any behavior that violates a cultural norm--can involve something as major as crime or as minor as consistently and deliberately wearing lively mismatched socks.

A definitive reference for professionals, researchers, and students that provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the sociology of deviance.

This handbook engages key debates in Australian and New Zealand criminology over the last 50 years. In six sections, containing 56 original chapters, leading researchers and practitioners investigate topics such as the history of criminology; crime and justice data; law reform; gangs; youth crime; violent, white collar and rural crime; cybercrime; terrorism; sentencing; Indigenous courts; gun laws; alcohol policies; and criminal profiling.

The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise: Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community Courts, Sentencing and the Judicial System Crimes, Criminals and Victims Crime Places and Situations Explanations for Criminal Behavior Forensic Science Data, Methods, and Statistics Police and Law Enforcement Psychology of Law Social Interventions and Prevention

The main objective of the second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Critical Criminology is twofold: (1) to provide original chapters that cover contemporary critical criminological theoretical offerings generated over the past five years and (2) to provide chapters on important new substantive topics that are currently being studied and theorized by progressive criminologists.