Food, Health, & Health Care

Statistics from the ABS regarding: Cause of Death; Drugs; Health Conditions; Health Consultations and other actions; Health Insurance; Health Risk Factors and Behaviours; Health Services and Work Force; Health Status; Immunisation; Indigenous Health; Life Expectancy; Mental Health; People with a Disability; Suicide; & Women's Health

This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981+. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.

Links to various sources of statistical information.

The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is an innovative Internet resource that aims to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. In this way, we contribute to 'closing the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians.

Medicare Australia provides health-related statistics that play a valuable role in assisting health professionals, researchers and journalists as well as the general public. Access to Medicare Australia statistics on the website is freely available to everyone

Provides links to Australian Food Statistics publications 2000 - 2013

A selection of links to Australian Health Resources

This report contains essential reading for nutritionists, dietitians, health educators and other teaching personnel, as well as professionals in the agriculture, food and health industries. Information presented includes the effects of the political, physical and social nature of Australia on nutrition; the structure of the food supply and how food is bought and sold; knowledge, beliefs and attitudes to food; what people do and don't eat, and possible reasons for their choices.

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is a major national agency set up by the Australian Government under the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare Act to provide reliable, regular and relevant information and statistics on Australia's health and welfare.

Providing information to the public is an important part of the consumer protection services provided by the California Department of Managed Health Care. Search databases and read reports to gain a better understanding of California’s health care delivery systems.

National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Surveys have been conducted in 32 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, 7 countries in North Africa/West Asia/Europe, 10 countries in South and Southeast Asia, and 13 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Microdata are available free of charge by request.

The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information. DrugBank is offered to the public as a freely available resource.

The Statistics Division of the FAO has launched the first version of the new FAOSTAT, which is part of the organization's mission to improve data collection and dissemination for development and the fight against global hunger and malnutrition.

The Guatemalan Survey of Family Health was designed to examine the way in which rural Guatemalan families and individuals cope with childhood illness and pregnancy, and the role of ethnicity, poverty, social support, and health beliefs in this process. The EGSF sample includes all rural communities in four of Guatemala's 22 departments.

The HCUP is the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, discharge-level information beginning in 1988.

The HMCA preserves and disseminates health care data collected by researchers. Subjects covered include Health Care Providers, Cost/Access to Health Care, Substance Abuse and Health, Chronic Health Conditions, and Other.

The JCUSH was a research study conducted by Statistics Canada and the National Center for Health Statistics, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data collection began in November 2002 and ended in March 2003. The JCUSH was a one-time, random telephone survey in both countries.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

The Mexican Health and Aging Study (MHAS) is a prospective panel study of health and aging in Mexico, with national and urban/rural representation. The baseline survey was conducted in the 2001, and the fourth wave was fielded in 2015.

NAMCS contains data on medical care provided in physicians' offices. It is a continuously sampled survey based on a nationwide sample of patient records.

The principle US Governmental health statistics agency, NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

This site makes available data from some of the Population Research Center's projects. Interesting datasets include the National Health and Social Life Survey, the Chicago Health and Social Life Survey, and the Chinese Health and Family Life Survey. These surveys profile sexual behavior, demography and health.

Data and research reports on many facets of American life. Can be searched by topic - and includes research Food and Nutrition, and Health and Health Policy.

The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others. In addition, the GHO provides on-line access to WHO's annual summary of health-related data for its 194 Member states: the World Health Statistics 2012.

Country statistics from the World Health Organization (WHO). All countries which are Members of the United Nations may become members of WHO by accepting its Constitution.

Data and statistics by topic on the health of the U.S. population.

CURFs microdata is the most detailed level of ABS statistical data available, and is used by researchers in Universities, Government and the private sector.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.

DSDR catalogs studies across the social science disciplines and provides SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, and ASCII files for them. Online analysis—which enables users to perform statistical procedures on a dataset without downloading it—is available for some studies. Subjects include:
* Fertility, Family Planning, Sexual Behavior, and Reproductive Health
* Health and Mortality
* Marriage, Family, Households, and Unions
* Migration and Population Distribution
* Population Characteristics
* Population Growth and Decline
* Early Life Conditions and Older Adult Health
* Children and Youth
* Childhood Obesity

NHMRC is committed to improving the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. This commitment covers all aspects of NHMRC's mandate: support for health and medical research, fostering health and medical research ethics, and fostering the development of consistent health standards.