Research Connections offers both research data suitable for further analysis and statistical results generated from public sources. We use the term "research data" to refer to the coded responses from each respondent, documentation that provides the original questions asked, and discussions of complex statistical methods.
The Civil Rights Data Collection collects data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools for use by the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR), other Department of Education offices, and other policymakers and researchers. This data collection provides information about students in public elementary and secondary schools on a variety of indicators, including enrollment, access to educational programs or services, and academic proficiency.
Annual, national statistical database of information about public elementary and secondary schools (e.g., enrollment by grade, student characteristics, number of teachers) and school districts (e.g., number of students, number of high school graduates in the previous year).
The Consortium conducts research on Chicago's public schools, the problems they face, and the mechanisms for improvement. Includes surveys of students, teachers, and principals, and compiles test scores, grade files and administrative histories. The archive also houses additional data including census data for Chicago, crime statistics, administrative history, data on students, and detailed information on 363 Chicago neighborhoods.
Footprints in Time is the name given to the Longitudinal Study of Indigenous Children (LSIC), an initiative of the Australian Government. Footprints in Time is conducted by the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (FaHCSIA) under the guidance of the Footprints in Time Steering Committee, chaired by Professor Mick Dodson AM. The study aims to improve the understanding of, and policy response to, the diverse circumstances faced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, their families and communities.
Growing Up in Australia: The Longitudinal Study of Australian Children (LSAC) is a major study following the development of 10,000 children and families from all parts of Australia
HILDA is Australia's first nationally representative household based panel survey. The first wave of HILDA was conducted in 2001. Interviews are conducted annually with all members of each household aged 15 years and older. Waves of data include core questions as well as special modules such as wealth, retirement, disability, fertility, religion, health and social capital.
IPEDS is a system of surveys designed to collect data from all primary providers of postsecondary education. Study components include earned degrees/completions, fall enrollment, staff, finance, institutional characteristics, salaries, tenure, and fringe benefits of full-time instructional faculty.
The Longitudinal Surveys of Australian Youth (LSAY) is a research program that tracks young people as they move from school to post-school destinations.
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of some 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed. A number of questions on drug use are asked.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. As such there are a number of longitudinal studies available on the NCES web site as well as at ICPSR.
A sample of eighth-graders surveyed in 1988 on a range of topics. A sample were resurveyed through four follow-ups in 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2000. The study has four types of data files - student, teacher, parent, and school - although note each type is available for each survey year.
These surveys cover learning at all ages, from early childhood to school age to adulthood. Surveys include adult education (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001, 2003), early childhood program participation (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001), and parent and family involvement in education (1996, 1999, 2003) among others.
The National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth are designed to document the transition from school to work and into adulthood. They collect extensive information about youths' labor market behavior and educational experiences over time. Data are also available from SSDS.
The National Postsecondary Student Aid Survey (NPSAS) provides information on how postsecondary student financial aid is targeted, received, and used. A significant component of the NPSAS is the Student Loan Recipient Transcript Survey, which collected postsecondary-school transcripts for Guaranteed Student Loan (GSL) recipients who were surveyed in the Student Loan Recipient Survey (SLRS).
"The mission for the Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) is to provide educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States."
"Welcome to MapED, a new dynamic data mapping tool that provides geographic context to NCES, Census, and other education demographic datasets. Create your own customized maps using the Interactive Data Map or explore our pre-existing Story Maps."
In addition to SESTAT, a comprehensive and integrated system of information about the employment, educational, and demographic characteristics of scientists and engineers, this site also makes available several surveys of recipients of higher education.
A multi-year study that investigates college planning and enrollment behavior under a policy that guarantees admission to any Texas public college or university to high school seniors who graduate in the top decile of their class. Officially ended on 31 December 2010.
This was the first program in the United States to provide major subsidies to private schools as part of a general voucher program. The data were collected as part of the annual evaluation of this program.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.