Skip to Main Content

Finding legal commentary

Quickfind Quick Tips

Search across almost all of the library's fulltext articles, ebooks, books and more.

CCH Intelliconnect

CCH Intelliconnect Scroll down the subject listing on the left-hand side and select the plus + symbol. Also you can use the search box at the top of the page, for example type "fair work act" "leave entitlements" > run search & view the results > select a heading to view the paragraph

Tip: Select Document Path at the top of the paragraph to see a breadcrumb trail of where you are in the commentary. You can select one of the hyperlinked headings to view other sections of the commentary.

Westlaw AU (Thomson Reuters)

Westlaw AU

Note: To retrieve more relevant results, you can also search within a specific commentary title.

Tip: You can also browse the Table of Contents for a commentary by using the headings on the left-hand side. E.g. select Chapter 14 Sentencing from the menu to view the contents of that chapter.

Lexis Advance Pacific

Lexis Advance Pacific provides a range of commentaries, including:

  • Australian Corporation Law Principles and Practice
  • Cross on Evidence
  • Ritchie's Uniform Civil Procedure NSW
  • Australian Family Law

 

Tip: You can also search the commentary by selecting Search from the left-hand side of the Table of Contents page.

 

Finding articles on a topic

AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service)

Note: AGIS is an index of articles - you are not searching full-text articles

Tip: Always check the help section before using a new database to find out the correct way to enter your keywords.  Go to tab Display Fields at the Top and select Complete - you will then see the full record. Easy way of finding legislation and commentary

Tip: If an article isn't available in full-text, use QUT Fulltext Finder.

Westlaw AU

Note: You are searching full-text articles in Westlaw AU, so you may need to limit your search by adding more keywords or restricting the date range if you get too many results.

 

Finding articles about cases

Articles about cases, or case notes, are generally shorter than scholarly articles, and can help by providing analysis of the key aspects of a case. There are many ways to find articles about cases, the resources below are just a starting point.

Q. Find some analysis of the High Court Case Gilbert v R (2000) 201 CLR 414

CaseBase

In the Citation box type 201 clr 414 > Scroll down to the section Journal articles referring to this case.

AustLII

Select Advanced Search > In the Search Query box type "201 clr 414" or "2000 hca 15" > Under 'Databases to search' select All Journal Databases > View results

Note: It is important to search for both medium neutral and reported citations in AustLII as the reported citation may not always be included in records.

Tip: Use the Library Catalogue to find full-text of any articles not available from a particular database.