The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.
The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviours, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972. The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioural, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
HILDA is Australia's first nationally representative household based panel survey. The first wave of HILDA was conducted in 2001. Interviews are conducted annually with all members of each household aged 15 years and older.
Waves of data include core questions as well as special modules such as wealth, retirement, disability, fertility, religion, health and social capital.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. The database also holds over 5 million searchable variables, representing about 76% of ICPSR's holdings that have quantitative data described in statistical syntax.
Medicine in Australia: Balancing Employment and Life Australia's national longitudinal survey of doctors. Access by application for researchers with the necessary quantitative skills and who are aware of the limitations of this type of survey data.
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) series was begun in 1968 to fill the need for a better understanding of the determinants of family income and its changes. Longitudinal survey of US individuals and the families in which they reside.
The Pew Research Center for The People & The Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997. Datasets include: U.S. Politics & Policy; Journalism & Media; Internet, Science & Tech; Religion & Public Life; Hispanic Trends; Global Attitudes & Trends; Social & Demographic Trends
The goal of re3data.org is to create a global registry of research data repositories. The registry will cover research data repositories from different academic disciplines. re3data.org will present repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
Conducted every three years, this survey collects information on the assets, liabilities and other financial characteristics of households. It is the only U.S. survey that contains an oversample of wealthy households. Sample Size is about 4,500 families.
A longitudinal U. S. government survey of the financial status of American households conducted since 1984. Covers government transfer and service programs, pension coverage, housing affordability, financial assistance for education, among other topics. The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) makes the SIPP data and documentation available along with Stata, SPSS, and SAS programs for reading the data. Users may find the NBER site the easiest to use.
Almost all agencies of the United States Government provide access to related data at their agency websites. You may search a U.S. federal government agency's website to see what types of statistical information they provide, or do a Google search for the agency and 'data' or 'statistics.'
The series is designed to enable a crossnational comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available at ICPSR for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2004.
The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. The ADA is comprised of seven sub-archives - Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International.
First published in 1878, the Statistical Abstract serves as the official federal summary of statistics and provides over 1,400 tables of benchmark measures on the demographic, housing, social, political, and economic condition of the United States.
DSDR catalogs studies across the social science disciplines and provides SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, and ASCII files for them. Online analysis—which enables users to perform statistical procedures on a dataset without downloading it—is available for some studies. Subjects include:
* Fertility, Family Planning, Sexual Behavior, and Reproductive Health
* Health and Mortality
* Marriage, Family, Households, and Unions
* Migration and Population Distribution
* Population Characteristics
* Population Growth and Decline
* Early Life Conditions and Older Adult Health
* Children and Youth
* Childhood Obesity