Books

Complete integration guide, featuring practical advice, project tested methods and workflows, and tutorials for implementing Building Information Modeling and technology in construction. Updated to align with the latest software editions from Autodesk, Trimble and Bentley. How to incorporate BIM into all phases of construction management, such as: Project planning: Set up the BIM project to succeed right from the start by using the right contracts, the right processes and the right technology Marketing: Pre-construction: Take a practical approach to engineer out risks in your project by using the model early to virtually build and analyze your project, prior to physical construction. Construction: Leverage the model throughout construction to build safer and with better quality. Field work: Learn how mobile technologies can optimize efficiencies. Analyses technology trends in construction and offers a thoughtful perspective into potential use cases.

Explores innovative aspects to be taken into account in the development and application of digital platforms in the construction sector. Includes a chapter focusing on ad-hoc tools and practical solutions for managing information. Highlights the benefits and challenges of BIM implementation for designers, construction companies and building/facility managers

Practical guide to successful Virtual Design and Construction project coordination, featuring case studies from leading VDC firms. Virtual Design Coordination (VDC) employs information-rich Building Information Modeling (BIM) to enable specialty designers and contractors to create a single, coordinated set of designs that can prevent cost overruns, avoid schedule delays, and identify issues in the field. Although BIM-based design coordination is widely used in the commercial construction industry, there remains a need for a standardized practice. Covers setting up a project for success, model quality impacts on design coordination, carrying out a successful VDC session, and more.

BIM offers a novel approach to design, construction, and facility management in which a digital representation of the building product and process is used to facilitate the exchange and interoperability of information in digital format. BIM is beginning to change the way buildings look, the way they function, and the ways in which they are designed and built. Provides an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the profound advantages that effective use of BIM can provide to all members of a project team. Includes information on the ways in which professionals should use BIM to gain maximum value, collaborative working, national and major construction clients, BIM standards and guides. Contains case studies that clearly illustrate exactly how BIM is applied in a wide variety of conditions. Guides readers through successful implementations, helping them to avoid needless frustration and costs and take full advantage of this paradigm-shifting approach to construct better buildings that consume fewer materials and require less time, labour, and capital resources.

Guide to the pedagogical and industry-inspired considerations that must shape how BIM is taught and learned

The building information model is a three-dimensional (3D) objects library of the physical building. In essence, BIM is a way to construct a building virtually before building it in the real world. It is a digital simulation of the physical and the functional characteristics of a building. As such, it functions as a shared knowledge resource for information about a building, forming a dependable basis for decisions during its life cycle from inception onward.

Papers presented at the 4th International Conference on Building Information Modelling (BIM) in Design, Construction and Operations on topics such as: BIM and sustainability; Advanced BIM platforms; BIM and automation in construction; BIM and cultural heritage; Digital twin and artificial intelligence for buildings and infrastructure. Describes innovative solutions and predictions for future trends across key BIM-related topics. The modern construction industry and built environment disciplines have been transformed through the development of new and innovative BIM tools and techniques. These have fundamentally altered the way construction teams operate; the processes through which designs are evolved; and the relationships between conceptual, detail, construction and life cycle stages.

Outlines the principles of Lean, the functionality of BIM, and the interactions between the two, illustrating them through the story of how Tidhar Construction has implemented Lean Construction and BIM in a concerted effort over four years. Tidhar is a small-to-medium-sized construction company (based in Israel) that pioneered a way of working that gave it a profit margin unheard of in its market. The company's story serves as a case study for explanation of the various facets of Lean Construction and BIM. Each chapter defines a principle of Lean and/or BIM, describes the achievements and failures in Tidhar's implementation.

The use of digital representations to aid in projects Building Information Modeling (BIM) is gaining traction worldwide as an effective and beneficial approach to executing projects that can reduce errors and improve outcomes. Explains the current state of BIM use in China, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Follows multiple case studies that explore the explicit and implicit motivators that may drive BIM participation and the factors that can influence its effectiveness. Why and how BIM-enabled projects are adopted providing a lens for understanding BIM at varying levels.

A handbook on BIM courses, standards and methods used in different regions (Including UK, Africa and Australia). 13 chapters outline essential information about integrated BIM practices such as the BIM in site layout plan, BIM in construction product management, building life cycle assessment, quantity surveying and BIM in hazardous gas monitoring projects while also presenting information about useful BIM tools and case studies. The book is a useful handbook for engineering management professionals and trainees involved in BIM practice.

Pragmatic perspective on adopting BIM in construction projects. An overview of the core ideas and issues distilled from various guidance documents and by dealing with the more mundane practical issues, facilitates an understanding of the more complex and important issues of processes, standards and protocols that need to be in place for the successful adoption of BIM in construction projects. Guidance to enable the engineer or student to fully understand the implications of the process and to facilitate the application of the principles and techniques in real scenarios. Presents a balanced approach combining sufficient background theory and practical ideas to ensure the book is applicable and relevant to practising engineers, architects, contractors and client organisations. Serves as a key introduction for students. The appendices provide practical advice and material for BIM projects, dealing with issues such as compliance, project implementation plans and learning outcomes. Although much of the topic emanates from the UK it is equally applicable here in
Australia.

Reference on BIM for anyone wanting to understand its history, theory, application and potential future developments an ever evolving and disruptive technology that has transformed the methodologies of the global construction industry. Provides an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the profound advantages its effective use can provide to a project team. Provides unrivalled access to case material and relevance to the current generation of BIM masters. Covers: The history of BIM What BIM is in technical and practical terms How it changes the day to day working environment Why we need BIM and what problems it can solve Where BIM is headed, particularly with regards to AI, AR, VR and voice recognition. Presents case studies from architecture and construction management.