Home

Westlaw (Australia)

Provides online access to Australian law titles subscribed to by QUT Library. Includes legal research titles as well as looseleaf services, full text journals published by Thomson Reuters, law reports and unreported judgments.

Lexis Advance Research

Includes the case citator CaseBase, the encyclopaedia Halsbury's Laws of Australia, as well as a range of law reports, unreported judgments, journals and commentary.

CCH iKnowConnect

Case law and looseleaf services covering a range of practice areas including Business Law, Employment and HR, Environment, Family Law, GST, Industrial Relations, Intellectual Property, Occupational Health and Safety plus more.

​AustLII

Includes an extensive collection of unreported judgments, legislation (including point-in-time NSW Acts), treaties, journals and law reform reports.

Find these and more on the Law Research databases page.

Use Alerting email or RSS feed services to keep up to date with developments in law.

• Lexology - Daily updates from over 900 of the world's leading law firms keep you informed of legal and regulatory developments globally. A free registration is required.
• Mondaq - An intelligent syndication platform providing world class content and insights from professional services firms. Free registration required
• Journal TOCs - a free, multidisciplinary service, including over 600 Law titles

If the title of the law report or journal is abbreviated, you will need to find the full title before searching the Library Catalogue.

Useful legal abbreviation indexes include:

• Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
• Legal Abbreviations from Monash University

Australian courts use a system of Medium Neutral Citation to identify judgments. Each court has an 'identifier' or abbreviation that is used in these citations. The list below will help you find the full court name:

• Abbreviations for Australian Courts