Background reading

The text takes on an international and comparative dimensions perspective, detailing the background and concepts behind these organizations and examining relevant theories and central issues

From BoardSource comes The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance. This comprehensive resource explores the overarching question of governance within nonprofit organizations and addresses the roles, structures, and practices of an effective nonprofit. The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance covers the topics that are of most importance to those charged with creating and sustaining effective leadership, including building a board; succession planning; policies; financial oversight; fundraising; planning; strategic planning processes; risk management; and evaluation of the board, CEO, and organization.

This multi-perspective Research Handbook provides a clear pathway through the nonprofit governance research field, pushing beyond the borders of current theory to expand and deepen the analytical framework for nonprofit governance. It offers an analysis of the basics including definitions, organizational forms and levels of governance, and takes a critical approach towards the normative and prescriptive tendencies in much of contemporary governance scholarship

Recent trends in the social, economic and political lives of many communities have created new challenges for the not-for-profit sector, which, in turn, have demanded new legal and regulatory responses. This Research Handbook takes account of these developments, providing a thorough insight to current scholarship in the field of not-for-profit law

his book discusses the role of grant-making foundations in supporting local communities, and how effective governance can contribute to greater success of the social projects they finance.

"There are no easy solutions to the complexities faced by nonprofit leaders and managers. This textbook addresses the governance, leadership, and management functions of the thousands of organizations in the nonprofit sector that provide an enormous range of services. This thoroughly revised fourth edition of Understanding Nonprofit Organizations does not simply recount and summarize seminal literature; it presents 22 of the most important and informative articles, chapters, and essays written about the workings of nonprofit organizations, alongside 18 case studies that illustrate the complex governing, leading, and managing issues raised in the chapters. The introductions that open each of the sections explore important issues and concepts, provide context, and explain what students should be looking for as they read each of the chapters... "

Bringing together a diverse team of renowned accounting scholars, this incisive Research Handbook presents a comprehensive evaluation of current research on nonprofit accounting, noting its major accomplishments and outlining opportunities for future study. The Research Handbook provides a broad overview of key topics related to accounting and financial reporting, including donor use of financial information, methods of measuring nonprofit performance, solvency and volunteer efforts, and the misuse and misstatements of accounting information. Chapters further examine a variety of oversight mechanisms, such as the roles of auditors, nonprofit boards, regulators, monitoring groups, taxes, and accounting standard-setters.

Adopting a critical multijurisdictional approach to charity law, this thought-provoking book provides a comprehensive analysis of the challenges facing charitable organisations. Exploring the contrasting approaches to charity governance and regulation in both common law and civil law jurisdictions, the book imparts practical guidance for a vast array of stakeholders in the charity law field. Rosemary Teele Langford brings together unique perspectives from a diverse range of eminent scholars across the globe, presenting invaluable insights on charity governance and regulation from multiple jurisdictions such as England and Wales, Australia, Germany, Korea and Japan (to name a few).

This global encyclopedic work serves as a comprehensive collection of global scholarship regarding the vast fields of public administration, public policy, governance, and management. Written and edited by leading international scholars and practitioners, this exhaustive resource covers all areas of the above fields and their numerous subfields of study. In keeping with the multidisciplinary spirit of these fields and subfields, the entries make use of various theoretical, empirical, analytical, practical, and methodological bases of knowledge. Expanded and updated, the second edition includes over a thousand of new entries representing the most current research in public administration, public policy, governance, nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations, and management...

In the face of improved First Nation outcomes in many western nations, Australia is still dealing with a seemingly intractable gap between the quality of life of its Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the non-Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population. Philanthropy in Australia provides a smaller proportion of funding for community projects than is the case in other countries and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander causes have been significantly under - represented as recipients. This paper reports on a qualitative study aimed at understanding the issues affecting the decisions and actions of grantmaking organisations and individuals who wish to support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander causes in the current Australian context.