Researching Social Justice policy

Here are some resources to assist you identifying the current issues and policy debates in the Social Justice sector:

The Conversation

The Conversation Australia is a website that publishes in-depth articles on various topics including Politics and Crime.  The articles are written by experts like QUT academics and journalists and it is a leading publisher of research-based news and analysis.  Written for a broad audience and a great platform for researchers.

Click on the Politics + Society tab, then search for your key concepts.  Relevance is preselected as local Australian content first.

Policy & Grey Literature databases

Australian Policy Online 

This not-for-profit APO.org.au makes public policy and research visible, discoverable and usable and focuses on Australian & New Zealand content. 

Look at the SUBJECTS headings to refine your search.

Overton database

Overton (search via the QUT Library databases page) A searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide. Each document is parsed to find references, people and key concepts which are then used to link them to relevant news stories, academic research, think tank output and other policy.

QUT ePrints and Open Access Archives (using OAISTER search engine)

• https://eprints.qut.edu.au/
• https://www.oclc.org/en/oaister.html (Links to an external site).
• These repositories are online open access collections of scholarly writings by academics of that institution prior to their being published. Free full text articles.

The Australian Government Web Archive (via Trove)

• Trove / Websites (Links to an external site).
• Very useful site for significant policy documents that may have disappeared from the internet, it aims to capture snapshots of significant digital pages – in order to preserve Australian history.
• Hosted by the National Library of Australia, can be searched with their Trove search engine
• Search all Australian archived websites, or government websites only by ticking the box
  
  

Newspapers & Media

Database guide to searching for Australian and international news. Use  Australia & NZ Newsstream via ProQuest or Factiva both via the Library website.