Where to find scholarly information

To find scholarly information for your assignments, you will need to search in specific places that collect academic material. Usually these tools also provide advanced features that make it easier to find exactly the right information. These include:

• QUT Library search: searches the physical materials in the library (books, magazines, DVDs etc) as well as about 95% of our online collection (eBooks, journal databases, specialised information).  This is the best place to start for undergraduates.
   
• Google Scholar: searches journal articles Google has 'scraped' from the web, including journals that QUT Library doesn't subscribe to. Some academic books or theses might appear, but overall Google Scholar is better for article searching only.   It provides a couple of filtering and sorting options, like limiting to time range.  It also has an Advanced Search feature where you can search for particular phrase, or in the title only, and by author or journal. Note: Google Scholar search results include sources that QUT Library doesn't subscribe to, so you might be directed to a paywalled article - never pay to view an article. More info on dealing with paywalls sources here. Here are instructions on how to set up Google Scholar to link to your QUT Library membership. Or watch the short video below.

• Database platform search: Individual databases are hosted on platforms, and platforms allow you to search across all their databases, or just the ones you choose. For example, in Education it's common to use the EBSCOHost platform to search the databases ERIC, Education Source and APA PsycInfo simultaneously.  
   
• Direct database searching: Search just the database you want. Direct searching allows you to use those search functions that have been created specifically for that database. Using singular databases will get you fewer but more specific results often a good fit fot post-graduate research. 

For more details see Where do I find information sources? (Study Smart module 2.3)