Books

This book provides 101 real life construction management case studies. It includes jobsites that cover: organisation, procurement, estimating, scheduling, subcontractors, communications, quality and cost control, change orders, claims and disputes, safety and close outs.

With larger projects it makes sense to involve a project controller who will competently secure the client's interests and effectively ensure that the client's objectives are met throughout the project. To achieve this specialist project management skills are a mandatory requirement for the success of a project.

In the complex, cash-strapped, high pressure world of modern construction, what do you do when something goes wrong? This work looks beyond the best-case scenario to give project managers, contractors, architects and engineers the tools to prepare effectively for the unexpected.

Explore the most up-to-date green and sustainable methods for residential and commercial building construction as well as the latest materials, standards, and practices

Latest edition available from Course Reserve, level 4, Gardens Point Library.

This book addresses how consulting and contracting firms in the construction and engineering industries integrate Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) into business strategy and how this translates into better business performance.

This is the first book looking at social value in construction and it sets the agenda by asking and answering important questions like: How is the construction industry developing and supporting social enterprise and social value and for who? How and when is the industry recording and measuring social value and its effect? Which organisations are doing things well and what can we learn from their experiences? What can industry players do together to consolidate efforts and drive improvements? What are the key challenges in the field and what does the future look like?

Explores the importance that human dynamics play in risk management of construction projects. Every time a project is structured, designed and built, personal behaviours and inputs can either lead to success or be the cause of failure. Offers insight into stakeholders' reactions in a variety of situations and provides expert analyses of risk management and proposes potential solutions and recommendations in order to ensure effective construction management.

A guide to effective corporate and project management in the construction industry with a focus on the role that people play in the processs.

An authoritative textbook on construction management offering a clear model for understanding theoretical aspects. The construction industry has become a truly global network of interconnected stakeholders making demands which require the involvement of skilled workforces from all over the world. Construction Management Strategies sets the foundations for understanding and managing construction's inherent complexity and uniqueness. It establishes clear definitions of commonly accepted terms like built environment, construction, civil engineering, etc. which are often given confusing and conflicting interpretations. It cuts through the plethora of overlapping role titles currently used in the construction sector that make it difficult to establish how projects are actually managed. Construction Management Strategies: Offers a robust and consistent theoretical basis to explain the performance of the main approaches to construction management. Describes corporate and project management in construction as an integrated whole. Provides the basic toolkit a student needs to think through the practical situations they will later face. Helps bring the theory of construction management to international students who struggle to find a solid grounding in this complex and fragmented subject. Includes a companion website featuring a wealth of directly transferable examples for students, as well as PPT slides and topic discussion ideas for lecturers.

This practical book focuses on the basic concepts underlying the technical aspects of quantity surveying and contains many worked examples together with useful figures and real-life cases to help readers digest and understand the essentials and become better professionals as a result.

The construction industry is undergoing great change particularly with the introduction of digital technologies and the increasing emphasis on sustainability and ethical practice. The fifth edition of New Aspects of Quantity Surveying Practice introduces and discusses these changes and their impact on the industry.

An introduction to the measurement process for all key building elements, covering first principles and to NRM2 standards. Begins with an overview of the need for measurement and the differing rules governing measurement at different stages of the design or project cycle. Includes guidance on how to use data to create tender documents.

This book gives an overview of the profession of Quantity Surveying, the role it plays in the construction industry, working for clients and contractors, and also covers cost planning, measurement, procurement and project management.