Industry Reports

Industry Research Databases

Note: The reports and profiles provided may not all be relevant to your assignment. You will need to review and evaluate the content based on your requirements.

IBISWorld industry reports

Key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast and major industry participants.

See:
- OD5181 - Fitness and Athletic Clothing Stores in Australia

- OD5521 - Online Sporting Apparel in Australia

- C1351B - Women's and Girls' Wear Manufacturing in Australia (includes sustainable fashion more broadly, not specifically activewear)

Marketline Advantage
International industry, country & major company reports - includes information on Market value, forecast, volume, rivalry & segmentation. This is applied information so look for more recent material e.g. last 18 months

PESTLE analyses are available under Analysis - Countries & Cities - Country Profiles.

See also:
- Australia - Apparel Retail
- Australia - Sports Equipment Retail (search clothing and/or apparel)

Thematic analysis:

Millennial Consumers: Understanding key trends driving consumer behaviours (check date)

The Future of Retail: Five ways e-commerce and high street stores are evolving to suit changing consumer behaviors (check date)

Case studies

Clothing retailers' ethical problems: Consumer-retailer relationship allows issues to persist (includes sustainable fashion) – note this is dated information (2017)

For example: Australia Country Reports for PESTLE analysis. Limited value for the assignments.

Passport

A market research database with reports and data on industries, economies and consumers internationally. Includes PEST and PESTLE analyses within Country Reports.

You'll need to register & login first time. Database of Consumer information - prepare to dig in this database.
Registration required:
- You will need to register for an individual account to access this resource. For privacy purposes you do not need to add your full name or details of your course or department (e.g. just enter "n/a" or similar), but it is recommended to use your QUT email address.
- The first time you login you will be prompted to read and accept the vendor's privacy and security policy - click on the link provided, scroll to the bottom of the policy, and accept it. The tick box will then be automatically selected. Select 'submit' to continue to the registration form.
- Once you have registered, if prompted to select a Euromonitor product, please choose Passport (not Euromonitor International).
Login help:
- If you receive a Bad request or Bad message error when signing in please clear your OpenAthens cookies.

Industries

Industries > Luxury & Fashion > Apparel and Footwear > Sportswear

Select geographies: Australia

Results: Market sizes, Company shares, Brand shares, Retail channels, Sports apparel by demographic.

Analysis – Sportswear in Australia

Consumers

Lifestyles > (choose analysis) All, (choose geography) Australia

Consumer Values and Behaviour in Australia

Consumer Lifestyles in Australia

Australia: Consumer Profile

Consumer Types in Australia

Megatrends in Australia

Keyword search: ‘sportswear Australia’

Country report > Sportswear in Australia (includes demographics and context)

WARC (World Advertising Research Center)

Case studies, research reports and summaries for the marketing, advertising, media and research industries. Also includes best practice papers, guides and daily news.

General search: Sportswear

- Where consumers shop for apparel and footwear

- World market for apparel and footwear

Industry (from tabs)

More > Categories > Clothing and accessories > sportswear

Brand

More >Topics > Marketing management > Brand Management > clothing and accessories

Explore reports and articles

Products > Strategy > Case studies > Case finder > (keyword) e.g., Sportswear

Explore case studies (learn from the best with over 21,000 advertising effectiveness case studies)

Industry Reports

Industry Research Databases

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners