books & ebooks

Grounded in history, theory, and empirical research studies, Strategic Media Relations in the Age of Information: An Evidence-Based Approach presents a clear and accessible overview of the modern practice of media relations. It focuses primarily on the development and strategic execution of media relations programs across a wide variety of organizations.

The second edition of Pitch, Tweet, or Engage on the Street offers a modern guide for how to adapt public relations strategies, messages, and tactics for countries and cultures around the globe. Drawing on interviews with public relations professionals in over 30 countries as well as the author's own experience, the book explains how to build and manage a global public relations team, how to handle global crisis communication, and how to practice global public relations on behalf of corporations, non-profit organizations, and governments. It takes readers on a tour of the world, explaining how to adapt their campaigns for Asia-Pacific, Europe, the Middle East, the Americas, and Sub-Saharan Africa. Along the way, readers are introduced to practitioners around the globe and case studies of particularly successful campaigns. This new edition includes updates to country profiles to reflect changes in each local context, as well as expanded coverage of social media and the role of influencer engagement, and a brand-new chapter on global crisis communication. The book is ideal for graduate and upper-level undergraduate public relations students, as well as practitioners in intercultural markets.

Effective communications are essential for all sport organizations. In this fully revised and updated third edition of his ground-breaking guide to communications in sports, Joe Favorito introduces the skills, knowledge and techniques needed to become a successful communicator. Favorito outlines the history of sports communications, explores the most important professional themes, topics and issues, and highlights exciting opportunities for future development. With a strong emphasis on professional practice and the day-to-day realities of working in sports and entertainment, the book covers all the core functional areas such as: ·         Digital and social media strategy ·         Crisis management ·         Creative writing ·         The value of audio storytelling ·         The role of communications in business. This new edition includes more international cases and data, interviews, best practices, and expanded coverage of social media, gaming, eSports and technological developments in communications; discussion of key contemporary issues such as multicultural media relations and 'athletes as brands'; and an emphasis on the importance of strategic planning. No other book offers such a valuable insider's view of the sports communications industry or the importance of PR and media relations in building successful sports organizations. Sports Publicity: A Practical Approach is essential reading for all students working in sport business, marketing or communications, and any PR practitioner looking to improve their professional skills. The author maintains a podcast of updated best practices, The CUSP Show, which is widely available, as well as a blog of best practices at joefavorito.com. Both of these resources make the perfect companion to this book.

In addition to traditional management tools, government administrators require a fundamental understanding of the tools available to address the ever-changing context of government communications. Examining the ins and outs of the regulations influencing public information, The Practice of Government Public Relations unveils novel ways to integrate cutting-edge technologies--including Web 2.0 and rapidly emerging social media--to craft and maintain a positive public image. Expert practitioners with extensive government communications experience address key topics of interest and provide an up-to-date overview of best practices. They examine the specifics of government public relations and detail a hands-on approach for the planning, implementation, and evaluation of the wide-ranging aspects of government public relations--including how to respond during a crisis.In addition to the tools provided on the accompanying downloadable resources, most chapters include a Best Practice Checklist to help you successfully utilize the communication strategies outlined in the book. Focusing on the roles of government managers enacting policies adopted by elected officials and politicians, this book is ideal for program managers seeking innovative and inexpensive ways to accomplish their programs' missions. While no manager can be an expert in all aspects of public administration, this book helps you understand the external communications tools available to advance the mission and results of your agency.

This is a media writing guide for PR people.The media use one per cent of the material PR people send them. What can we do to increase the hit-rate of the stories we write on behalf of our clients or employers?We need to know exactly what the media want and what they don't want.We should be able to write material according to the rules and conventions which the media themselves observe.We ought to know how to compose, present and lay out stories in a manner which saves the media time and earns their approval.We can enhance our pick-up if we know how to produce good media photography, video and infographics.We must know how to pitch a story professionally.This Guide is an A to Z of media writing for anyone working in PR who wants to get better results.

Digital changes everything. That's a truth that has played out across industries the world over. And PR is a perfect example of an industry that has been forced to transform. Across every PR discipline, from media relations and content creation through to social media and influencer marketing, digital has changed traditional PR techniques and ushered in a whole new wave of specialisms that previously did not exist. This book acts as a guide to this era of transformation. It's a manual that summaries the trends affecting our industry. It examines the techniques that have changed and also investigates some of the new approaches that are starting to emerge. It poses the questions that modern PR practitioners need to ask, whether working in-house or in an agency, and will be equally relevant for those studying PR or coming into the industry as it will those who are hardened professionals facing a future that looks significantly different to the tried and tested approaches of the past. This is a book about opportunity. A book that shines a light on how adoption of data, audience planning and creativity, seen through a digital lens, can transform an industry, making it more relevant and necessary that ever before. It's a celebration of the power of earned media in a world where we are, as consumers of media, increasingly shunning interruptive marketing and looking for connection and true engagement.

As awareness of social and environmental issues becomes more central to business and reputational success, communications and marketing professionals need to be able to make the most of opportunities to communicate effectively about these issues. This is the definitive guide to planning and delivering great communications on complex social and environmental issues. Outlining the steps needed to plan, risk-proof and execute effective communications strategies, the book provides a clear framework to help leaders, communications managers and marketing practitioners build the knowledge and skills needed to spot risks and opportunities around complex issues, such as climate change and ethical supply chains. Including real-world case studies, practical exercises and further reading, each chapter offers a beginning-to-end framework: from making the business case and mapping stakeholders, to messaging, framing relevant tactics, and then risk-assessing the plan. Whether a local authority, brand, educational institution or senior leader, this guide will equip you with all the necessary skills to make your communications effective.

A good reputation is vital to success in business and in life. Organisations with the best reputations outperform rivals in a myriad of tangible ways; they recruit higher quality staff, succeed with smaller marketing budgets, and exert greater influence over Governments. Although in the long term reputation is based on reality and behaviour, short term examples of organisations and individuals building unfair advantage can be seen all around us. Despite this, reputation remains an often misunderstood and neglected asset.  InReputation Management: The Future of Corporate Communications and Public Relations, Tony Langham argues that reputation management is the future incarnation of public relations and corporate communications. Featuring specially commissioned essays, as well as exclusive interviews with leading CEOs, influencers and celebrities, the book covers issues as diverse as fake news, AI, James Bond, cyber security and internet bullying. Also included are contributions from thirty-nine of the world's leading reputation managers who exclusively reveal the time they made the most difference to an organisation's reputation.  Reputation Managementprovides a complete blueprint and toolkit for reputation management and is essential reading for CEOs, Board Directors and shareholders in businesses who ultimately bear the responsibility and costs of reputation management. It will also prove indispensable to all professionals and students working in or studying business, marketing, corporate communications and public relations.

Global movements and protests from the Arab Spring to the Occupy Movement have been attributed to growing access to social media, while without it, local causes like #bringbackourgirls and the ice bucket challenge may have otherwise remained unheard and unseen. Regardless of their nature - advocacy, activism, protest or dissent - and beyond the technological ability of digital and social media to connect support, these major events have all been the results of excellent communication and public relations. But PR remains seen only as the defender of corporate and capitalist interests, and therefore resistant to outside voices such as activists, NGOs, union members, protesters and whistle-blowers. Drawing on contributions from around the world to examine the concepts and practice of "activist," "protest" and "dissent" public relations, this book challenges this view. Using a range of international examples, it explores the changing nature of protest and its relationship with PR and provides a radical analysis of the communication strategies and tactics of social movements and activist groups and their campaigns. This thought-provoking collection will be of interest to researchers and advanced students of public relations, strategic communication, political science, politics, journalism, marketing, and advertising, and also to PR professionals in think tanks and NGOs.

From pitches and press releases to news and feature stories to social media writing and more, this new book by author Whitney Lehmann and a handful of experienced contributors breaks down the most widely used types of public relations writing needed to become a PR pro. The Public Relations Writer's Handbook serves as a guide for those both in the classroom and in the field who want to learn, and master, the style and techniques of public relations writing. Eighteen conversational chapters provide an overview of the most popular forms of public relations writing, focusing on media relations, storytelling, writing for the web/social media, business and executive communications, event planning and more. Chapters include user-friendly writing templates, exercises and AP Style skill drills and training. Whether you're a PR major or PR practitioner, this book is for you. Lehmann has combined her industry and classroom experience to create a handbook that's accessible for PR students and practitioners alike. A dedicated eResource also supports the book, with writing templates and answer keys (for instructors) to the end-of-chapter exercises in the text. www.routledge.com/9780815365280.