A reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. Contains references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.The alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offers concise but substantial information.
The Dictionary of Public International Law contains a chronology, an introduction, glossary of Foreign Terms, tables of Treaties and Cases, an extensive bibliography, and an index. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on significant persons, important treaties and conventions, organizations and tribunals, and important cases and issues they have dealt with. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about international law.
A comprehensive online resource and one of the most trusted reference works in international law, the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. This database also provides access to the newly-launched Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
Provides a comprehensive update to the United Nations' institutions, procedures, policies, specialized agencies, historic personalities, initiatives, and involvement in world affairs. Entries include brief references, longer explanatory essays, and detailed data on the UN. The appendices contain important UN documents, such as the Charter of the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Summarises information on the large number of reform concepts developed and implemented since the late 1990s. The book provides, in addition to concise and comprehensive information on the UN system, insight into recent UN developments and reform efforts in the face of global opportunities and challenges, such as the Millennium Summit 2000 and World Summit 2005, and the establishment of important new UN organs, the Human Rights Council and the Peacebuilding Commission, in 2006.
The Encyclopedia of Private International Law quite simply represents the definitive reference work in the field. Bringing together 195 authors from 57 countries the Encyclopedia sheds light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration.