Race & Ethnicity

The 1991 National Race and Politics Survey was a nationwide telephone survey carried out by the Survey Research Center of the University of California, Berkeley. Respondents were asked questions about welfare, race relations, altruism, and members of other races.

A telephone survey of African Americans aged 18 years or older, residing in areas of Chicago. The Survey Research Center of the University of California, Berkeley, conducted the survey from February 10 to August 3, 1997. There were 756 completed interviews.

The Australian Census of Population and Housing is a rich source of data about Australians and their cultural characteristics. In 2011, the Census revealed that over a quarter (26%) of Australia's population was born overseas and a further one fifth (20%) had at least one overseas-born parent. Throughout the 100 years since the first National Census in 1911, migrants have made up a large component of the Australian population. Historically, the majority of migration has come from Europe, however, there are increasingly more Australians who were born in Asia and other parts of the world. This pattern of migration is evident in the make-up of the richly diverse society which has been recorded in the 2011 Census. This diversity can be seen in the variety of languages, religions, ancestries and birthplaces reported by Australians.

ADA Indigenous is a specialised trusted research data management facility for Australian Indigenous research data, providing a central hub for the preservation of and access to digital research data on topics involving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

The Australian Bureau of Statistics is a leader within a national data community that informs people about the social and economic outcomes of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. This 'Topics at a Glance' page acts as a portal to Australian Bureau of Statistics and other organisations' data and articles about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

This collection of statistics has been chosen to highlight the current situation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in Australia (hereon referred to as indigenous peoples) across a range of indicators including: health; education; employment; housing; and contact with criminal justice and welfare systems.

There has been significant progress in the availability and quality of statistical information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples over the last decade in Australia. Considerable effort has been devoted to enumerating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples more accurately through the Census. In addition, specific surveys of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples are being conducted regularly to address gaps in health and welfare information and allow for monitoring of changes over time. There are also a number of ongoing programs and strategies to develop more consistent and complete Indigenous identification across administrative data sets.

​​The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviours, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972. The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioural, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.

This data collection measured the political attitudes and behaviors of three specific Latino groups in the United States: Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Cuban. A non-Latino comparison group was also interviewed. Sample size is 3415 Total: 2817 Latinos (1546 Mexican, 589 Puerto Rican, 682 Cuban), 598 non-Latinos.

Little Village, a neighborhood on the south side of Chicago, is the largest Mexican community in the Midwestern United States. The Little Village Survey consists of business and household surveys. As of July 2005, the household data is being prepared for publication. Sample size is 244 business and 325 household respondents.

The Diversity Archive consists of numerous studies with racially and ethnically diverse samples. The Murray Research Archive also houses a number of studies focusing on specific ethnic groups and on ethnic relations. Application needs to be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use restricted data.

The purpose of this data series was to provide large-scale scientific surveys and make possible in-depth investigation of the political attitudes, perceptions, and electoral behaviors of a large, representative national sample of adult Black Americans. The studies permit analyses and change in the Black community on a scale that had not been possible before the series began.

NHMRC is committed to improving the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. This commitment covers all aspects of NHMRC's mandate: support for health and medical research, fostering health and medical research ethics, and fostering the development of consistent health standards.

Developed to provide comprehensive data to test different theoretical explanations for minority underachievement in higher education of college students at regular intervals. The survey includes equal-sized samples of white, black, Asian, and Latino freshmen entering selective colleges and universities.

National Survey of Black Americans 1979-1980, 1987-1988, 1988-1989, 1992 (ICPSR)
The survey investigates neighborhood-community integration, services, crime and community contact, the role of religion and the church, physical and mental health, self-esteem, life satisfaction, employment, the effects of chronic unemployment, the effects of race on the job, interaction with family and friends, racial attitudes, race identity, group stereotypes, and race ideology.

A non-partisan research organization to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the United States. Downloadable datasets include the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Politics and Civic Participation, the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Education, and the 2002 National Survey of Latinos

RCMD is a recent initiative of ICPSR. The changing demographic composition has expanded the scope of the U.S. racial and ethnic mosaic. As a result, interest and research on race and ethnicity has become more complex and expansive. Initially, ICPSR tapped its archives to assemble existing data files that focused upon communities of color. Since the late 1990's, there has been a marked increase in studies and projects on more minority communities and exploring a wider range of experiences and relationships.

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.