Key Resources, Directories, & Repositories

The Statistics section of the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) website gives you access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information.

A range of products to assist in accessing and interpreting Census information.

Table Builder Topics provides access to key statistics about a range of ABS topics.

The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. The ADA is comprised of seven sub-archives - Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International.

Data.gov.au is the central source of Australian open government data. Anyone can access the anonymised public data published by federal, state and local government agencies.

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service.

An Open-Source Application for Publishing, Citing and Discovering Research Data

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.

Serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.

The UK’s largest collection of digital social and economic research data.

The UK Data Service provides access to, and support for, the use of an extensive range of key economic and social data, spanning many disciplines and themes.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) maintains an internet based data service, bringing UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Data includes: Crime; Education; Energy; Environment; Finance; Food and Agriculture; Gender; Health; HIV/AIDS; Human development; Indicator database; Industry; Information and Communication Technology; Labour: National accounts; Official Development Assistance; Population; Refugees; Tourism; and Trade.

Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes topics such as health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labour and many more.