Skip to Main Content

financial & abs data

Financial Datasets at QUT

Datasets for Research

There are datasets available for re-use, this presentation is part of our research skills series but includes useful links to social science and finance datasets available to you. Some can be obtained for a small fee, please let us know if we can help. 

Now available - Census of Population and Housing, 2016, Basic CURF 1% sample microdata

Information about the Basic Confidentialised Unit Record File (CURF), including the data item list, can be found in Microdata: Census of Population and Housing, 2016 (cat. no 2037.0.30.001).

The CURF includes:

  • a 1% sample of unidentified private households (houses and apartments), including dwelling and family characteristics
  • associated characteristics of people living in these households, such as age, education and employment information, ancestry and country of birth
  • a 1% sample of people in non-private dwellings, for example hotels and caravan parks.

To access the basic CURF, log into MicrodataDownload.

To use the basic CURF you will need to:comply with the conditions agreed to by you and your Responsible Officer. Your obligations as a microdata user, detailed in the Responsible Use of ABS Microdata Guide, include:

Dataset: Tourism Research Australia

Provides statistics and research on both international and domestic tourism within Australia.

It provides research and analysis on the economic value of tourism to the economy. Data assists the government, tourism industry and other Australian businesses to make informed planning, marketing and investment decisions.

Key findings

  • China continued to underpin growth in visitation with an increase in visitors (up 13%) and spend (up 15%). China also accounted for 81% of the growth in spend for the year. Trip spend from China was more than three times that of the US.
  • The US and Japan saw steady growth in visitation – up 5% to 742,000 and 4% to 408,000, respectively. US spend dropped slightly (down 3%) to $3.7 billion, while trip spend from Japan was almost unchanged at $1.8 billion (up 1%).
  • New Zealand and the UK recorded small increases in the number of visitor arrivals with 1.2 million (up 1%) and 698,000 (up 2%), respectively. Both, however, recorded a decline in trip spend with New Zealand down 4% to $2.5 billion and the UK down 1% to $3.5 billion.
  • India continues to be the fastest growing market in percentage terms, with visitor numbers up 21% to a record 314,000, and trip spend up 5% to a record $1.5 billion.

 

Five Safes: Working with identified data

The Five Safes model or framework was developed by the UK Data Service to provide secure access to undertake research using sensitive data that would not usually be possible.  The Australian Bureau of Statistics has employed this model of sensitive data provision to our researchers who access detailed microdata and Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) through DataLab, the ABS’ secure desktop environment.  All QUT researchers wishing to use these datasets must undergo a half-day training session on the Five Safes model and sign an agreement.

The basic premise of the framework is that data access can be seen as a set of five ‘risk dimensions’: safe, projects, safe people, safe data, safe settings and safe outputs.  Each of these dimensions provokes a question:

 

 

ABS questions

Safe projects

Is this use of the data appropriate?

Is the data to be used for an appropriate purpose?

Safe people

Can the researchers be trusted to use it in an appropriate manner?

Is the researcher appropriately authorised to access and use the data?

Safe data

Is there a disclosure risk in the data itself?

Has appropriate and sufficient protection been applied to the data?

Safe settings

Does the access facility limit unauthorised use?

Does the access environment prevent unauthorised use?

Safe outputs

Are the statistical results non-disclosive?

Are the statistical results non-disclosive?

 

Fun tidbit: the Five Safes framework was original known as the VML Security Model but was changed to Five Safes after a Google New Zealand search for ‘felix Ritchie Five Safes’.  Felix Ritchie like it so much, he changed the name!

On the topic of sensitive data, the recently updated National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (2007) – Updated 2018 “does not use the terms ‘identifiable’, ‘potentially identifiable’, ‘re-identifiable’, ‘non-identifiable’ or ‘de-identified’ as descriptive categories for data or information due to ambiguities in their meanings. Re-identification and de-identification are best understood as processes that change the character of information and are only used with this meaning.”

Open Data Barometer

The Open Data Barometer – which measures how governments publish and use open data for accountability, innovation and social impact – has been released by the World Wide Web Foundation. It reveals that government interest in open data has decreased over the past five years – something that the CEO of the Open Data Institute, Jeni Tennison commented on this week:

"While the use of data for artificial intelligence and creating more ethical use of personal data are of growing importance, open data – from both the government and the private sector – is still crucial to the foundation of the data infrastructure that every sector of our societies rely on."

Australia is sitting at no. 3 in the Top 10 countries after Canada and the UK, ahead of France and Korea. 

 

Using Request Tables to Manage Eikon Data Retrieval

Eikon Datastream Data at-a-glance:

  • Financial Markets data (equities, bonds, and so on): 1960s onwards.
  • Economic: 1950s onwards.
  • Company accounts: 1980s onwards.

Possible Datastream Request Table Use-Case:

  • Retrieving company & market data where you might different date ranges or data coverage.
  • Managing a range of data requests across different markets, instruments etc.

Setting Up Excel to Access & Retrieve Data.

  1. Note the logins available on the database page here.
  2. Select, 'Sign in & Download' (inset below) to download the software installer: EikonInstaller.apac1.exe
  3. Close all Microsoft Office Apps, launch the installer & follow prompts.

eikon sign in and download screen where to click

 

Accessing the Datastream Add-In & Creating a Request Table

  • Open Excel and click on the ‘Thomson Reuters Datastream’ ribbon tab.
  • Click the ‘New Request Table’ button to open a macro-enabled Excel Request Table Spreadsheet.
  • Save the Request Table - note the facility to sequence and enter more than data request per row.

excel ribbon displaying TR toolbar and Request Table Login

  • Work from left-right beginning with selecting whether the request table will update to refresh data upon launch.
  • Specify the request type - Static or Time Series.
  • Specify labeling and format for the resultant data (hint: mouse over the grey shaded cell for field codes.

examples of request table columns

  • Click the Orange, 'Find Series' button to select market, instrument, geography etc.
  • Take note of the chronology for certain markets, instruments and data descriptions provided, use the filters down the left hand side to drill-down and refine selections.

first level market instrument selections

  • Column F provides an inventory for all available data points, be sure to select a data type (Static or Time Series) that corresponds to preferences entered in Column A.

Data Types

  • A Static request will have a value for the 'Start Date' Column but no value for the 'End Date'.
  • A Time Series request with have a Start and End date specified.
  • Note the tool tips provided in the column heading for guidance with date formats:
    column date tool tips
     
  • Lastly, create a new worksheet within the excel file in which to store the retrieved results and click, 'Data Destination', to specify a cell therein.
  • You can bypass the Data Destination selection tool by manually entering the destination worksheet into the 'Destination' cell using this format ='WORKSHEET_NAME'!$A$1

click process tbale

Click, 'Process Table' to execute the request or series of requests contained in the table.

Take note of training and resources from Refinitiv linked toward the lower portion of the database page here.

For additional guidance with the Datastream Excel add-in please refer to the interface reference guide linked below.

As always, contact your Business Liaison Librarian regarding access and other library related enquiries.

Fitch Connect Excel Add-In Update (Training Scheduled for 20th May 2020)

Fitch Solutions

FC Excel Release Notes May 2020

As we head toward scheduled training on Wednesday 20th of May at 1:30pm please be aware of the Excel Add-In update recently supplied by Fitch:

undefined


The latest release for the Fitch Connect Excel Add-In is now available for download. Customers are strongly encouraged to upgrade. This version includes feature and security updates, including:

  • Updated Template Library Structure: Makes it easier to find templates
  • New Performance Template: Run tests to ensure optimal setup

Download the Excel Add-in including updates via the Fitch database website.

undefined

 

Eikon Training

Refinitiv offers frequent webcasts on Eikon/Datastream/Thomson.One and how to retrieve data.

Time is Singapore Time which is 2 hours behind AEST (Brisbane Time)

Webcasts include: 

  • Getting Started with Eikon
  • Extracting Company data with Eikon Excel
  • Capturing Agriculture market drivers with Eikon
  • Capturing Interest Rate Trading Opportuinities with Implied Deposits data in Eikon
  • Monitor new Bond Issues
  • Socially Responsible Equity Investment
  • Making the most of news in Eikon

Eikon Training:
Finding the Signals from the Noise
[ 36 mins ] - May 12 2020.

Finding the Signals fromtheNoise in Fast Moving Markets

Fitch Connect Excel Add-In Training

Join Fitch Connect trainer, Huy Tran for training  - building and customising data request vis the Fitch Excel Add-in and web platform.

Wednesday, 20 May 2020 1:30-2:30 PM

Fitch Connect provides a comprehensive credit analytics platform that provides access to proprietary ratings, research, financial data and analytics. Fitch provides data across the following areas:

Asset-Backed Securities Emerging Markets Non-Bank Financial Institutions
Banks Funds & Asset Managers Public Finance: International
CLO & Structured Credit Infrastructure & Project Finance Public Finance: US
Commercial mortgage-backed security Insurance RMBS
Corporates Leveraged Finance EMEA Sovereigns
Covered Bonds Leveraged Finance US Structured Finance

Public Economic Data via API

This week, open source & open access economic data via one of the many excellent CRAN packages available for R.

pedquant (Public Economic Data and QUANTitative analysis) as an add-on package to Rstudio this package provides an interface to access public economic and financial data for economic research and quantitative analysis. 

Three functions within the package provide for basic quantitative analysis on time series market data and ensuing visualisations alongside a robust and efficient method for retrieving NBS economic indicators (see City/County index guide linked below).

If you thinking of sharpening your R skills or have some background with Stata you will find some excellent guides via Github from Francis Smart and as a primer from Oscar Torres-Reyna, Further to these guides a complete package to save you the time and effort having to translate all of your Stata work by importing it directly into R - more on this here.

WRDS LOGO

Getting Started with Wharton WRDS & RStudio

R is both a programming language and a software environment for statistical computing and research, and offers researchers reproducible, robust data analytics and information processing capabilities. It includes a wide array of add-in packages for retrieving public economic data as well as presenting and visualising plots as interactive web applications.
In this edition of Adlib we have included guidance on retrieving datasets from your laptop via RStudio with a view to showcasing other available open datasets in coming newsletters.

 All WRDS data is stored in a PostgreSQL database, and is available through R via the native R Postgres driver package. There are three steps two setting up your PC to query and ingest data.

1. Download and edit the linked configuration file in Notepad or similar. Replace the placeholder text with your WRDS Username and Password.

2. Install the relevant R package to connect to WRDS (copy & paste snippet below)

  • install.packages("RPostgres")

​3. Download, edit & run this R script linked here to authenticate your laptop against the WRDS database.

Lastly, to test your configuration has been successful download and run the R test script via this link. Once run the linked script will run a short query against the Dow Jones Daily dataset to retrieve a vector of date data, storing the data in a data frame titled, 'DJ_Date_Data'. Most difficulties experienced with connecting and retrieving data from WRDS stem from a faulty configuration file in the first step i.e mistyped username or password.

New releases to TableBuilder and MicrodataDownload

These datasets have recently been released to TableBuilder and MicrodataDownload:
Labour Force TableBuilder data series: Barriers and Incentives to Labour Force Participation, Retirement and Retirement Intentions, 2018-19

  • detailed information on characteristics of people who are not participating or fully participating in the labour force
  • factors that influence people to join or leave the labour force
  • information on the factors that retirement trends and decisions to retire
  • income arrangements that retirees and potential retirees have made to provide for their retirement

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples TableBuilder data series: National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health, 2018-19

  • health status and  health actions taken
  • chronic conditions including asthma, diabetes, heart and kidney disease and mental health
  • information about use of health services
  • provides lifestyle factors which may influence health

Basic Microdata in MicrodataDownload: Disability, Ageing and Carers, 2018

  • data on people with disability, older people (aged 65 years or more) and people who care for people with disability or older people
  • the need and receipt of assistance across common activities of daily living
  • specific impairments and underlying health conditions
  • demographic, labour force, education and employment restrictions, social and community participation, and other socio-economic information

Log into TableBuilder and MicrodataDownload to access these datasets. If you do not already have access and would like to purchase a data series subscription, see How to apply.
Contact microdata.access@abs.gov.au with any enquiries.

Up & Running with Fitch Bank Fundamentals

Fitch Connect & Bank Fundamentals At a Glance:

  •  Detailed information, including financial statements, ratios and credit ratings for over 30,000 banks worldwide.
  •  Macro-economic data and credit ratings for sovereigns, debt instruments and banks. 
  • Webinars detailing first-hand changes in issuings, instruments, credit markets during pandemic QE era.
  • Entity-level ratings comparison between Fitch, Moody's & S&P Global.

Facilities for Data Access:

  • Adhoc lookup via Fitch Connect web with facility to create comparative portfolio groupings of up to 500 entities.
  • Excel Add-in for rapid bulk retrieval of data for cross-sectional or longitudinal bank research.

First Steps with Fitch Excel Add-In:

1. Login to Fitch Connect with your QUT credentials.
2. Download the Excel Add-In via this link here.


Structured Ad-hoc Analysis & Data Retrieval - Fitch Templates

For single entity financials and analysis start with one of the pre-built excel templates from the template library (see below)

undefined

Fitch templates are provided in the form of macro-enabled spreadsheets and require a user to save the spreadsheet before re-opening, editing and updating data fields.

undefined


Build Your Own - Using Excel to Retrieve Data

Fitch Connect provides all data based on a single Excel formula which functions as a basic building block from which to construct all queries.
The function relies upon a bare minimum of three parameters as arguments within the function to specify the entity, the data type & year for which the data is reported.

Fitch Prefix Entity Identifier Data Point ID & Currency Year
=FC.ED FitchID!<ID> <Data Field Name >!AUD 2020

The embedded Entity lookup in the Excel ribbon can be used to cross reference identifiers along with the Field Lookup for obtaining the Fitch data point ID (inset below)

undefined

The Field Lookup for data points available under the Fitch Bank Fundamentals are located under 'Bank Financials'.

undefined

 

For more guidance please see the linked guide below, excel spreadsheet for bulk data download alongside support provided by Fitch via the Library Business team.

New releases to TableBuilder: Labour Force and Work-Related Injuries


Three datasets have recently been released to TableBuilder:

Labour Force data series: Jobs in Australia, 2011-12 to 2016-17

  • enables simultaneous analysis of met supply and demand in the Australian labour market
  • provides new insights to describe the number and nature of filled jobs, the people who held them, and their employers
  • includes data for 2011-12 to 2016-17 across more than 2,200 different regions in Australia
  • based on the Linked Employer-Employee Dataset


Labour Force data series: Labour Force Status and Other Characteristics of Families, 2009, 2014 and 2019

  • research family dynamics including the number and age of children in the household
  • cross-classify a range of demographic characteristics such as age and sex, as well as labour force characteristics.
  • compiled using data collected in the June month of the Labour Force Survey


Work-Related Injuries data series: Work-Related Injuries, 2017-18

  • research types of work-related illnesses and injuries, including how they occurred, absences and workers' compensation
  • cross-classify with labour force characteristics, including occupation and industry, and demographics such as sex and age
  • collected from the 2017-18 Multi-Purpose Household Survey


Log into TableBuilder to access these datasets. If you do not already have access and would like to purchase a data series subscription

ABS Census TableBuilder access

J.Crew Redux? Fitch Connect research on pandemic-era high-yield debt market.

Further to the Adlib news item last week on retrieving data points from our Fitch Bank Fundamentals (see,"Up & Running with Fitch Bank Fundamentals") this week a highlight of country, market and industry reports available from Fitch Connect. One can target searches from within Fitch Connect based on research type, entity and general descriptors (see inset below). Much of the research on offer provides instrument-level analysis such as Fitch webinars embedded below on current issues effecting bonds from both the buy and sell side. 

undefined

Phillip Brown Prize - SIRCA.

 

 

 

Philip Brown Prize - Call For Papers

RoZetta Institute are seeking submissions for the 2019 Philip Brown Prize.

RoZetta Institute proudly sponsors the Philip Brown Prize to acknowledge the significant contributions of Philip Brown in the establishment of RoZetta Institute's predecessor SIRCA, and the work he did in developing databases used for finance and accounting research.

The Philip Brown Prize award recognises the best-published paper in an A* journal in the previous calendar year using SIRCA data and is awarded through recommendation from prestigious academics in Australia.

This year the winner of the Philip Brown Prize for 2019 will be announced in July, 2020 at the Accounting & Finance Association of Australia & New Zealand (AFAANZ) virtual conference.

The use of authorised SIRCA data must be cited within the paper. To submit an application, email a full PDF version of the paper to adam.catarius@sirca.org.au by 19/06/2020.

Financial Times - Market Data Archive

Did you know you can access archived market data as part of your Financial Times account. FT offers data from its archive of indices for the last five years. Spot rates for world currencies are listed against the Pound, Dollar, Euro and Yen with underlying data derived from WM Reuters Spot Rates and Morningstar data. Full page pdf downloads for Fixed Income,Commodities & Interest rates can be retrieved for specific date ranges using the category / date filter.   For quick access to the data archive keep this url handy - https://markets.ft.com/data/archive.

  • Start at the Market Data page where the Data Archive appears as part of the additional tools to the right of the page.

  • Access the built-in filter tools to query the data archive.
Fitch Analyst Webinars -
'
Six Downside Pressures On Long Term Growth' & 'Asia After Covid-19'.

Fitch Solutions

 

 

 

Wednesday, 17 June 2020 | 16:30 Brisbane (AEST).  Six Downside Pressures On Long Term Growth 

There are still some spaces left but they will be offered on a first come, first served basis. So if you would like to join please register now to attend the webinar as a live event.

In the webinar we will discuss the following topics:

  • Fiscal and monetary policy
  • Trends in trade protectionism
  • Political risk
  • Demographics and growth policies

Thursday, 2nd July 2020  | 16:30 Brisbane Asia Macroeconomic Quarterly Update: Asia After Covid-19

In this webinar we will discuss the impact that Covid-19 has had on Asian economies and how we see the recovery following the crisis to shape up. Our discussion will outlay both the economic and policy outlook for the short and medium term.

The key discussion topics of the webinar will be:

  • Economic Forecast
  • Political dynamics
  • Geopolitics 
  • Policy and long term shifts

You will also have the chance to participate in a live Q&A session where you can pose any questions you may have. To attend the live Q&A session register now.

Recorded webinars and other assorted analyst reports are available via the QUT Library Fitch Solutions subscription please see link here to access the Fitch Solutions platform.

Econometrics by the Numbers

In light of upcoming Software Carpentry training (July through August) and all things data analysis (read:R and Python) here is a quick piece on open source alternatives for rapidly mapping fields of research via outputs, authors and publications.

Bibliometrix provides additional descriptive statistics and visualisations to aid mapping emerging research trends at author, publication & discipline level. In addition to co-citation analysis Bibliometrix also provides qualitative data visualisation tools see here for an example of a keywords correspondence analysis of research topics in applied econometrics (2015 - 2019).

undefined

Fitch Ratings Special Report - Coronavirus Ratings Impact Global Banks

On Tuesday Fitch issued an overview of ratings movement for financial institutions globally as part of their Covid-19 coverage. A seven page report from five regional banking analysts provides context for recent ratings decisions alongside a monthly timeline for recent ratings movements. To access Fitch ratings wire alongside select and event driven research please request access here.

undefined

Eikon Q&A Session Recording

Wednesday last, Eriko Kamatsu (Refinitiv) provided a live online Q&A online session demonstrating longitudinal financial data retrieval from both Eikon web platform and the Datastream Excel Add-In.

Please find serialised below a recording of the session begriming with a live demonstration of retrieving yield and price data for fixed income securities. Due to the length of the Q&A session we will release additional segments over the next 2 editions of AdLib in the interests of sharing insights from the session alongside providing readers an idea of the format of these Q&A sessions.

(please note you will need to be signed into QUT Office 365 to view the video stream below)

Eikon Q&A Session Recording - Part 2

Eikon Q&A Session Recording

Earlier last month, Eriko Kamatsu (Refinitiv) provided a live online Q&A online session demonstrating longitudinal financial data retrieval from both Eikon web platform and the Datastream Excel Add-In.

Please find below the second part of the session that provided a live demonstration of retrieving price data for fixed income securities using the Eikon  Datastream Excel Add-in. To access the first portion of the session please refer to the 'financial & abs data' tab in AdLib. Provided below is a specimen Excel request table that accompanied the live demonstration in the video. The file provides a worked example of data retrieval for both static and time series data types, however, requires the installation of the Excel Add-in and activation of Eikon Datastream component. These add-ins may be download from the Eikon sign on page.

(please note you will need to be signed into QUT Office 365 to view the video stream below)

Recent Fitch Analyst Reports - June/July

  • Fitch Financial Institutions Data Tracker: Coinciding with the EOFY the Fitch Tracker monitors financial institution rating actions on a portfolio of 1,619 global financial institution public ratings. The data tab includes over 20 data points for each issuer including issuer reference data and rating activity since the start of the pandemic. Once logged into the Fitch Solutions library database see here to download the report as a spreadsheet. 
  • The Next Phase: Change Accelerated: Coronavirus Pandemic Brings Forward Important Shifts for Credit. (Please access this report here once logged into Fitch Connect.) 
  • Coronavirus Ratings Impact: Global Corporates. (Please access this report here once logged into Fitch Connect.) 

Quant Research Reuse & Reproducibility with Code Ocean

Code Ocean allows for the sharing of quantitative research in the form of code,data and computational environment for research where there are no negative constraints due to funder, requirements, ethics / IRB, copyright, or other compliance requirements.

While attributes of the data, such as disclosure risk, sensitivity, or size, may limit sharing, there are many options for granting partial and restricted access to the data and associated materials between researchers, and reviewers.

A brief overview of the service is as follows:

  • ​A cloud-based computational reproducibility platform.
  • Preserve your Stata,R, SPSS,SAS code & data.
  • Containerise your code for portability reducing the need for reviewers or collaborators to match software or prerequisities to run code.
  • Embed a working copy of your code directly into any webpage or LMS such as Blackboard.

While the free version of the service provides a scaled-back feature-set, a subscription provides additional features such as the minting of DOI for code alongside additional computational resources.

See more detail here on creating containerised quantitive analysis.
 

Refinitiv Developer Webinar Series - for Eikon

WEBINAR | July 16 | 17:00 AEST | 12:30 IST | 15:00 SGT Deployment of Machine Learning pipeline with SageMaker and Step Functions (AWS)

In this webinar we will demonstrate how to create a Machine Learning pipeline that includes training and deployment of the Machine Learning model using Python code, and how to make this process repeatable.

WEBINAR | July 29 | 17:00 AEST | 12:30 IST | 15:00 SGT Quickly Build Zero Curves and Volatility Surfaces from Market Data

Join this webinar to see how to generate a wide variety of analytics using our new Instrument Pricing and Analytics API. We will cover zero-coupon curve building, volatility surface generation, as well as instrument-level analytics. Finally we’ll show how the API can integrated in workflows.

WEBINAR | August 11 | 17:00 AEST | 12:30 IST | 15:00 SGT Quickly and Easily Retrieve Data Using Python & Notebooks

Join the exclusive webinar focused on CodeBook - our new cloud-hosted scripting environment. We will cover several samples showing how you can use Python to accomplish following

Upcoming Fitch Webinar

Globalisation, Trade Wars And Covid-19: Where Does Global Trade Go From Here? 

Register now  for this webinar on Tuesday, 28th July 2020 at 12:30 Brisbane AEST for a presentation on the following topics:

  • Globalisation has plateaued in recent years. Are we looking at a longer-term reversal or is this just a temporary phenomenon?
  • How will US/China and US/EU trade tensions play out in the months ahead?
  • What impact will the US’ November presidential election have?
  • How will Covid-19 impact supply chain dynamics? Will certain sectors be more impacted than others?
  • Over the long term, which regions and countries are set to benefit from shifting supply chains?

You will also have the chance to participate in a live Q&A session where you can pose any questions you may have.
 

Picks from CEPR Series "Economics in the Time of COVID-19"

Christopher Pissarides presents "Search and Matching".

Part of the joint CEPR and Graduate Insitute of Geneva series of online seminars, based on a selection of papers published in Covid Economics – Vetted and Real-Time Papers, Christopher Pissarides, Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics and Nobel Laureate presents the paper "Modelling Contacts and Transitions in the SIR Epidemics Model"

Anton Korinek presents "Externalities of Social Distancing"

Part of the joint CEPR and Graduate Insitute of Geneva series of online seminars, based on a selection of papers published in Covid Economics – Vetted and Real-Time Papers, Anton Korinek, Associate Professor of Business Administration, University of Virginia and CEPR presents the paper “COVID-19 Infection Externalities: Pursuing Herd Immunity or Containment?”.

Thomson Reuters - Tick History Trainng

Eikon training available in August

ESA - Policy Hackathon

What does the event involve?
You'll compete in a team under the mentorship of an economist to develop a very brief, specific and actionable policy proposal that relates to improving the health of the Australian economy in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. This event is all about encouraging innovative ideas.

When is the event?
One-hour introductory Zoom call to meet your team mates and mentor, brainstorm and chat about your proposal, on 27 July, 6-7pm.
One-hour Zoom call with your mentor sometime between 27 July and 7 August, to be scheduled at a time agreed with your team and mentor.
One-hour Zoom call on 10 August, 6-7pm, to present your idea.
Who is it for?
We’re targeting young professionals (including economists and anyone with an interest in economic policy, not necessarily with an economic background) and students.

More Information Here.

Wharton Learning Pathways

Researchers Pathways
•    Research-focused, competency-based, curated, online resources are accessible through webinars and videos.
•    A range of analytical tools enable you to quickly answer the most critical questions with your data.
•    Step-by-step instruction guides you on how to access and manipulate WRDS data using multiple programming languages.
•    Programming with WRDS Data is supported with our series of step-by-step guides for the more popular languages.
•    Research Applications improve efficiency and quality of empirical research, WRDS replicated widely-cited papers that represent various areas of research.
•    Find the Right Data you need in WRDS Data by Concept.

Access the full suite of Learning Pathways here.

Fitch Analyst Reports

Sustainability Of Coronavirus Rescue Financing

Read a market-focused anaysis of global Coronavirus rescue financing schemes with a focus on Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) objectives.

An Overview of Structured Finance Ratings: Fitch’s Coronavirus Response 

A recent analyst report focusing upon RMBS,CMBS & CLO global markets ratings movements.

Please see Fitch's Index to all recent pandemic-era research and analysis 

Please note: access requires initial login to Fitch Connect.

Eikon & Datastream - Public Economic Data Indicators Made Convenient

Looking for a quick method to aggregate and download macroeconomic indicators?

The Datastream Excel Add-In available through the Eikon database provides search and filter facilities to aid the process of identifying comparable economic series:

  • Economic indicators for 175 countries.
  • Coverage extends to include series from all major economic news releases, as well as other important publications or national databases. 
  • Macro time series in the 'Economics' section are monthly, quarterly and annual, with up to 60 years' coverage.

Historical macro content is available from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Historical micro content is available from a number of well established industry sources. Forecast and poll series are supplied by leading authorities. The Economist, EIU, Oxford Economics, Intelligence Unit, Consensus Economics, World Bank and OECD.

Each data point is accompanied by a thorough profile with detailed information about the frequency, range & provenance of the source.

A replication database for economics and social sciences: The ReplicationWiki

The ReplicationWiki currently offers a database of 4,484 studies from the social sciences for which empirical methods were used. It lists which of the studies have data and code available online. In cases where replications are known they are classified by their type and results.

The topic of replication has become more and more prominent in the scholarly discourse in recent years. Yet, much needs to be done to make the availability of code and data more mainstream. 

by Jan H. Höffler -  Continued at the RePEc Blog

Accessing Matlab, SAS & Stata Data in R [Part 1]

There are numerous reasons to investigate open source alternatives to proprietary software like Matlab, SPSS, SAS & Stata - the major barrier typically being the difficulty with importing the native formats that each of these proprietary software packages use to store data.

If you are looking into investigating the brave new world of machine learning and the various applications of this to prediction, classification and categorization - ancillary R packages such as foreign and haven can take the pinch out of wrangling datasets resident in other proprietary software (the many listed above) freeing you up to tinker with hyper-parameters rather than purging problematic datapoints.

No doubt Stata will always be the go-to tool for regression as this is its bread and butter nevertheless R also provides easy access to a whole range of public economic data from which to draw from when testing out various ML alternatives including these packages: pedquant, pdfetch, priceRgetSymbols -- packages to run Stata code from within R & many more.

But don't just take this humble Econ./ Fin. Librarian's word for it, here's a glowing endorsement from the folks at Core-Econ here.

Lastly, your four-line vignette to getting started in R (below) for a quick chart rendition of two 10 Year US Treasury securities - with more on your first steps in machine learning with CARET in next week's Adlib  - stay tuned...

install.packages("pdfetch")
require(pdfetch)
USFRED_Data_Example <- pdfetch_FRED(c("THREEFY10", "THREEFYTP10")) 
plot(treasury)

### For the intrepid: please see the ebook below for more detail on using R for more conventional quant. economics through R -- available through the Springerlink database via the QUT Library.

Fitch WEBINAR Invitation: China and Indonesia's Mining Outlook & Implications for Australia, Tuesday 8th September

Fitch is hosting a webinar on China and Indonesia’s Mining Outlook & Implications for Australia on Tuesday 8th of September 11am (AEST) 

Talking points will be:

  • Key individual mineral sector trends ahead for the two countries, thematic outlook. 
  • Risks and Rewards of operating mining businesses in China and Indonesia.
  • How current trends in China and Indonesia will impact Australian producers.
  • Some of the questions that will be discussed include:
    • What is China’s mining investment outlook, will Covid-19 slowdown mining investment abroad?
    • Is Indonesia moving up the mining value chain, one of its long-term goals?
    • What is the regulatory outlook in China and Indonesia and implications for domestic and foreign mining players?
    • How will developments in China and Indonesia impact Australian producers in the coming years?
  • Q&A

Let your librarian know if you are interested & we'll arrange an invitation

Rozetta Institute (SIRCA) Training

 

Hosting introductory webinars for our Gateway platform.
These webinars will give users an overview of the platform, data extraction and basics on Gateway analytics; ensuring our users are more comfortable with our platform capabilities. 
The webinars will be available in two streams, one for Accounting researchers and one for Finance who are either new to Gateway or want a better understanding of the platform. 
The dates for the webinars will be:

Accounting: Tuesday 1 September at 2pm (AEST)

Finance: Wednesday 2 September at 2pm (AEST)

If you would like to register for one of the events please email: data@rozettainstitute.com

( For access or orientation to the Rozetta (SIRCA) Gateway please contact your liaison librarian at lib.bus@qut.edu.au )

September Eikon Training

Some quality insights from Real Vision TV (part of the Reuters Insider suite of video content).

Plenty of Datastream Charts, market experts, and trade ideas.  In News Monitor input short code is REALV

REALV is also accessible from the COVID-19 app (short code: MACROVIT ) under [Refinitiv Insights] tab > VIDEO

Earning Seasons app (short code: EARN )

As you may already know Aussie stocks annual earnings have mostly reported.  In this view as screenshot below it can get bigger picture such as % of reported, % of beating earnings/revenues estimates by sector, and underlying company details by clicking each sector hyperlinks.  Please utilise EARN app handy at each earning seasons approaches, for tracking the progress and get big picture of company earnings.

Below is the link for checking upcoming scheduled live eTrainings in Sep.  Please click each topic name for registration links.

Varieties of course available include ESG and API. Please note the session times appear in Singapore time.

https://training.refinitiv.com/portal/emails/flyers/2020/sep/asia_all_etraining_09_20.pdf?r=18

Retrieving Common Finance Metrics using Datastream

Did you know Datastream provides pre-assembled formulas for calculating common finance indicators?

In this week's Adlib we will look at the facilities in Datastream to retrieve and crunch data to calculate the Equity Risk Premium:

There are 4 Datastream global expressions available to measure the risk premium. They use what is termed the GRFL# function, which calculates the annualised rate of growth.

For Quick Reference the Datastream formula references and Formulas are as follows:

180E "RISK PREMIUM UK MEASURE"

GRFL#(TOTMKUK(RI),10Y)-GRFL#(AUKGVG1(RI),10Y) 

181E "RISK PREMIUM US MEASURE"

GRFL#(TOTMKUS(RI),10Y)-GRFL#(AUSGVG1(RI),10Y) 

182E "RISK PREMIUM JAPAN MEASURE"

GRFL#(TOTMKJP(RI),10Y)-GRFL#(AJPGVG1(RI),10Y) 

183E "RISK PREMIUM GERMAN MEASURE"

GRFL#(TOTMKBD(RI),10Y)-GRFL#(ABDGVG1(RI),10Y) 

A similiar metric may be retrieved from Eikon Excel.  You can easily find this datatype by typing the following mnemonic into the Eikon search box: TR.WACCERP on Formula Builder.  You can refer to the Datastream spreadsheet to see how it gets calculated by referring to the Excel Template titled – “WACC: Data Items and Formulas”.

Software Carpentry at Hacky Hour

Hacky Hour is a regular online meet-up where researchers can collaborate, converse and get research help.
Experts are on hand online to advise on problems related to coding, data analytics, digital tools or open research, with knowledgeable folk from QUT Library, the Digital Observatory and the Office of eResearch.
Hacky Hour meets next week September 10 and every Thursday 2-3pm for a virtual meet up via Zoom. 
Schedule and registration here.

Bring your questions on:


•    Data wrangling
•    Programming with R, Python, SQL
•    Building and interacting with databases
•    Data management planning and storage
•    Machine learning
•    Web APIs and web/social media data collection
•    Version control with Git
•    Open Scholarship and Open Research
•    Research data publishing
 

Fitch Webinar - US: Potential For A Contested Election

Join  Cedric Chehab (Global Head of Country Risk) & Yoel Sano (Head of Global Political Risk) on Wednesday, 23rd September 2020 at  16:30 Brisbane for this webinar, where we will discuss the following topics:

  • Core and risk scenarios for the US general election
  • Implications on the political and business environment
  • Economic growth scenarios following election
  • Key international political implications of the election

You will also have the chance to participate in a live Q&A session where you can pose any questions you may have.

The webinar is free of charge and without obligation,
register now to secure your place.

ESA Presentation - Shannon Cotter (E&Y) ACCELERATING INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT DELIVERY POST-COVID

The NSW Women in Economics Network (WEN) presents Shannon Cotter, Infrastructure Advisory Leader (Australia and New Zealand) at EY.

With COVID-19 driving economic downturn in Australia and globally, the role for fiscal support, including infrastructure investment, will be critical in promoting recovery. There are several things governments can focus on to accelerate investment and strengthen the role infrastructure can play in bolstering growth- across project selection; accelerating the development process; mobilising for success and streamlining construction. In this session, we discuss some key insights for Australia, including through domestic and international case studies

Event Dates: 16-Sep-2020 @ 04:00 PM

Registration: Please see booking details on the ESA Page here.

Why R ! R Programming Conference 2020

The fourth edition of Why R? Conference (2020.whyr.pl) is starting in 1 week! It is scheduled for September 24-27 2020 and happens remotely. Some pre-events, like Text Mining Hackathon start on 23rd (and lasts till the end of 24th).

Includes KeyNotes from Roger Bivard (Norwegian School of Economics), Paula Brito (Faculty of Economics University of Porto) & Riinu Pius (Senior Data Manager, University of Edinburgh).

Please note localised times for workshops start at 5:00pm on the 25th of September and run to late eve on the 25th.

Full event details via the relevant links below:

New ABS website launching Monday 21 September

From  Monday, 21 September, the Australian Bureau of Statistics has a new website.

What’s not changing?
  • abs.gov.au will always be the official source of statistics
  • access to Census data won’t change – you will still be able to easily access all our Census products: Quickstats, Community Profiles and TableBuilder in the same way you do now
  • historical statistical content will still be available
  • new releases will continue to be listed on the homepage
  • data files will remain the same
  • time series identifiers and file names won’t change
  • TableBuilder, MicrodataDownload and DataLab will remain and won't change
What is changing?
  • A simplified website structure will make information easier to find
  • URLs will become more predictable and user friendly
  • Improved citing and referencing guidelines, using American Psychological Association (APA) referencing
  • ABS catalogue numbers will no longer appear in release titles, but you will still be able to search by them to locate information
  • Existing bookmarks and links to pages on the ABS website may no longer work, or may not take you the latest available information. We recommend you rediscover content and create new links and bookmarks.
  • We will no longer publish statistical content as PDF files. Content will be available through a series of user-friendly web pages. This is to ensure that the content is accessible to everyone, including those using screen readers.

There is also some information for data users, web scrapers and developers here

Eikon : recent ESG enhancement - added 32 new data points

ESG Content added:

  • 32 new data points (Including 17 related to UN Sustainable Development Goals)
  • 11 new ESG indicators along with their corresponding indicator scores
  • 6 new data point scores used in summary score calculations
  • Data presentation enhancement
  • Full details can be found in our latest content notification published in Aug 2020 – to download, please copy & paste following URL on Eikon:
    https://thesource.refinitiv.com/thesource/getfile/index/b49df7fb-8a84-456c-ae59-daf01377749b
  • New ESG Report View (sample image is below)

New report view provide you a useful tool to create an ESG company profile that includes company’s overall ESG profile, performance drivers, relative along with customizable commentaries.

How To: Formula Builder in Datastream / Eikon

Not sure where to start with data retrieval via the DFO excel add-in or perhaps wondering what is available in terms of static and time-series data? The Eikon Excel add-in provides an in-build facility that provides a searchable library of available financial data and market indicators that aids in the construction of complex excel data queries.

Below is a 3 step quick-start guide to designing and retrieving queries from within Excel using the Datastream Formula Builder:


  • The Formula Builder is located under the Thomson Reuters ribbon tab in Excel - this is an add-in that is independent of the Datastream Ribbon and is installed by default.

  • The Formula Builder provides a simple entry point into various static and time-series data facilitates a company/instrument look-up field and a searchable index of indicators and derived metrics (click for a full schematic).
  • The formula builder matches the identified instrument or company with the available indicators or data so that choosing an indicator or series is much easier, however, please note certain data that you may which to work with is only available through Datastream.

(click the above image for a closer view of the Formula Builder)

  • The data item search box matches static and time-series data based on keyword.
  • For additional customisation of the selected data points - access these parameters via the button to the right of the description.
  • The selected data items appear as a prebuild excel formula in the lower portion of the formula builder - to reorder or remove the resultant retrieved data click and drag the labels that appear above the formula.

(click the above image for a closer view of the data retrieval options)

  • lastly, the top field used to identify instruments & companies can be used to reference prepopulated cell references. This is quite handy if you already have a ticker, ISIN or CIK identifiers set up inside Excel you can use a cell range to save time during the process of designing your data requests.

Eikon training

----- Just for your interest -------

Reuters Graphics sourced from Refinitiv Datastream.

2020 asset performance http://tmsnrt.rs/2yaDPgn

World FX rates in 2020 http://tmsnrt.rs/2egbfVh

 

 

 

Sustainable Governance Indicators (SGI) are now available on Datastream Economics.

Over 17,000 time series covering the Sustainable Governance Indicators (SGI) are now available on Datastream Economics. The dataset covers a cross-national comparative survey which explores how governments target sustainable development through effective policymaking. The data are built on three pillars such as policy performance, democracy and governance, driven by evidence-based analyses. The dataset contains 200 indicators for 41 countries and 3 country groups, detailing country rank and score of sustainable governance, combining qualitative expert ratings with quantitative data. The series are annual with history generally from 2015.

Please see https://www.sgi-network.org/2020/  for more information.

The series are available in the following location of Datastream Navigator, Economics Explorer:

Economics » International Business & Governance Indicators » Sustainable Governance Indicators

Active Data Management with CloudStor

New: Active Data Management with CloudStor

 

Session Information

 
 

In this hands-on, train-the-trainer workshop facilitated by AARNet (Australia’s Academic Research Network), we will be exploring and discussing methods for active data management.

Participants will become familiar with the CloudStor interface and its associated tools and services for managing active research data. Learn how to organise, maintain, store and analyse active data, and understand safe and secure ways of sharing and storing data.

When: Wednesday, 2 December, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Where: Online via Zoom. Register here now.

Content:

Topics such as cloud storage, collaborative editing, versioning and data sharing will be discussed and demonstrated. Participants will learn how to set up an automatic way to move data to the cloud so that the data is safe and secure.

Participants can also ensure that they are sharing data securely by knowing what tools are best for this operation.

To familiarise yourself, please log into CloudStor prior to the event at cloudstor.aarnet.edu.au.

 
 

Contact us

For enquiries, contact the Office for Scholarly Communication at: osc@qut.edu.au

Online Eikon training available in December

Refinitiv Academy (scheduled live eTrainings) : December schedule is now published

Varieties of topics are available.  Please feel free to register and join. 

If you find any difficulties to access, please let me know.

If you require personal/closed group sessions, please let me know.

RoZetta Institute - SIRCA users

The Bulk Downloading feature has been modified, now allowing for a larger bulk download file, from 2.5GB to 5GB of compressed data files, which is roughly the equivalent of 30GB of data depending on the dataset.

We hope this platform enhancement helps our users, making it easier to access the data required for their research.

As always, we are open to suggestions and feedback from all users. If you have any request or feedback, please feel free to email us at enquiries@sirca.org.au.

Connect 4

New Expert Report report type – ‘GN performance securities’

‘GN performance securities’ has been added to the list of report types in the Expert Report module and relates to the issue of performance securities. This was introduced in August 2020 in response to the revision of ASX Guidance Note 19 dated 28/08/2020 that includes a new requirement, in certain circumstances, for companies to commission Independent Expert Reports (IERs) when issuing performance securities.

Quick Guides

To provide some background information about various aspects about the ASX, Australian financial market, listed entities and company announcements, Connect 4 created its first ‘Quick Guide’ and will produce more over time. They will be found in the ‘Help’ section of the relevant modules.

The first Quick Guide was the ‘Quick guide to end of financial year reporting / annual reports’ and is an excellent example. It was produced to help explain when certain documents become available, a summary of ASX & ASIC requirements and market practices of lodging these with the ASX.

ASIC / ASX – extension of Extended Reporting and Lodging Deadlines

As part of COVID-19 relief measures to listed entities, ASIC and ASX have granted extensions in reporting and lodging (including annual reports) for listed entities whose balance dates fall between 21/02/2020 and 07/07/2020 to now include balance dates up to 07/01/2021 (https://www.legislation.gov.au/Details/F2020C01100). The ASX is to release a new class waiver to cover this extension but as of 20/12/2021, it is still not on the ASX website. Listed entities are required to notify the market that they are using this relief.

For example, under this relief, listed entities will have up to 5 months from their balance dates to lodge annual reports. If taken up, this will delay when annual reports become available to the market. Financial market information users will need to take this into account.

Updated Thomson Reuters End User License Terms and Conditions

Thomson Reuters End User License Terms and Conditions have recently been updated and can be found at the ‘Terms & Conditions of Use’ link at the bottom of the webpage. Note: these are end user Ts & Cs and are not subscription Ts & Cs.

Connect 4 Training

Please contact your liaison librarians. Training will be conducted via Microsoft Teams or Webex.

Quick random indicators of market activity throughout 2020 vs 2019

2020 has seen a high level of market activity and this has continued into the second half of 2020. Below are some random indicators for 2020 (up to 18/12/2020) compared against all of 2019. These are sourced from Connect 4 New Issues and Takeovers & Mergers modules.

  • IPOs – 74 IPOs listed in 2020 so far with potentially another 6 to list by year end (63 IPOs in 2019). This was extremely lumpy with only 5 IPOs listing from March to July 2020 and 25 IPOs listing so far in December 2020 alone.
  • IPO stag return – Stagging is a buying/selling activity where investors buy securities in an IPO and then sell those securities on the first day of trading. To get an idea of the return from stagging, it is often calculated using the % difference of the 1st day of trading closing price vs the issue price. Using data from the New Issues module, a 32% average return across 74 IPOs in 2020 (so far) was calculated vs a 24% average return across 63 IPOs in 2019.
  • Priority offers (accelerated offers) – 79 announced in 2020 vs 53 for 2019
  • Security Purchase Plans (SPPs) – 236 announced in 2020 vs 201 for 2019
  • Takeovers & Mergers – a bit harder to judge activity due to the length of time these transactions take and takeovers being frequently revised. For example, the TPG / Vodafone Hutchison merger scheme first announced back on 30/08/2018 was finally approved by the FIRB on 07/05/2020 and closed on 29/06/2020.
  • Takeovers – 28 announced in 2020 vs 26 in 2019
  • Mergers – 28 announced in 2020 vs 40 in 2019

WRDS Update - RStudio & Python on WRDS Cloud

New on Wharton WRDS - the WRDS Cloud available to all WRDS users who have an individual WRDS account. RStudio and Jupyter Notebooks via Jupyter Hub. For large datasets, this is a dramatic performance improvement over a client-server submit approach. The WRDS Cloud is hosted on a high-performance computing (HPC) cluster designed for high-throughput, big data research computing, allowing you to write and execute research programs that run over a span of hours or days. Please note upon accessing either RStudio or Jupyter after authenticaating with WRDS you will need to supply your WRDS login credentials in order to access either tool.

Quick start to accessing WRDS in Jupyter Notebooks 
(click to see screenshot at full resolution): 
Sample Screenshot of WRDS
see inset image for steps in situ
1. Import the WRDS module and initiate a new connection with the WRDS database.

2. Upon initiating the connection an interactive prompt will be supplied name the connection according to your preference using the method: wrds.Connection()

3.  use the 'raw_sql' database method from the WRDS module to retrieve the corresponding table and variable identifiers to retrieve the particular dataset (in this example the Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes) DJ_Data =  db.raw_sql('select date,dji from djones.djdaily'). To locate the relevant table and variable column names to construct a SQL query simply navigate to the product dataset page within WRDS where you will find both reference information in proximity to the web based retrieval form (see here for a sample reference table for CRSP). Often the official product manual provided as a pdf on the dataset page with also provide a schema displaying cross references for variables across different libraries and tables contained in the dataset.

As always please contact the Business Liaison Team for assistance with QUT Library financial data.

Carma

CARMA's third set of 2020-21 Live Online Short Courses will be in April 12-23.

Course List:

“Introduction to SEM with LAVAAN” – Dr. Robert Vandenberg, University of Georgia

“Intermediate SEM, Model Evaluation” – Dr. Larry Williams, Texas Tech University

Reprisk now available via WRDs

HIGHLIGHTS
•    Data on 79,000+ public and private companies, from all countries and sectors
•    Project-level data (14,000+) including mines, pipelines, factories, etc.
•    Unique perspective on company performance and risk exposure – based on media, stakeholders, and third-party sources in 15 languages
•    Coverage from 2007
ACCESS RepRisk
•    Investment analysis and portfolio screening of companies related to ESG and reputational risks
•    Credit risk analysis, as well as due diligence and compliance review of companies related to Know-Your-customer and lending procedures
•    Sector- and country-level research related to ESG and reputational risks
•    Supply chain analysis and supplier screening and monitoring related to ESG and reputational risks
•    Benchmarking of companies on CSR and sustainability-related issues and risks
•    Analysis and monitoring of NGO activities
•    Research and ESG on reputational issues and trends 
USERS of RepRisk
•    Global commercial and investment banks
•    Insurance providers and export credit agencies
•    Asset managers
•    Asset owners, including pension funds, sovereign state funds, and central banks
•    Multinational corporations
•    Sustainability index providers and initiatives (e.g. DJSI, CDP, SASB, UNPR)
•    Academic researchers
•    Consultants and advisors

Financial planning - new subject guide

The Business Library team has developed a subject guide that will help guide students in financial planning to the best legal and business resources to support their studies.

The guide provides key books, journals and online resources on the key areas within the financial planning discipline. 

Click here to explore our Financial Planning guide, and feel free to share it with your students via Blackboard.  If you have any comments or suggestions about the content, please get in touch with the Business Library team.

In case you missed last week's AdLib, our team has also recently launched our Indigenous Business subject guide. Please explore and send us your feedback. 

Fitch Connect Software Tool Updates

 


Retrieving Fitch data via the Excel Add-In? The Fitch Connect Excel Add-In will be updated on the 25 May 2021 with new and enhanced features to support your workflow. There is no action on your part to benefit from these new features, updates will flow through to any new add-in software install as well as pre-installed software.

New Features include:

  • New Filter in Template Library is now available to make it easier to find templates most relevant to you
  • New Filter in Field Lookup to make is easier to find data points to include in your templates
  • Banks Fundamental History Template updated to allow users to retrieve consolidated or unconsolidated statements results
  • Bank Peer Analysis Template updated to fix an issue with Moody’s ratings not displaying correctly

View Release Notes

Equity Markets & COVID-19 a visual summary of research themes

Just in time for the recent release of SJR data, an overview of research outputs investigating pandemic effects on equity & crypto markets as gauged by available Scopus data 2019 - YTD.

[Co-occurrance of terms from article abstracts.]

[Co-occurrance of terms from article titles.]

An image produced by vosviewer that demonstrates connections and networks of research papers titles

OneDrive & research data storage

QUT OneDrive is now sanctioned as a suitable option for research data storage*. 

Previously, QUT OneDrive was not recommended for research data storage as it was unclear if it met data sovereignty requirements i.e. data is retained in servers onshore here in Australia.  This has been confirmed as being the case (servers are located in Sydney) and is the reason for the change in recommendation. 

QUT staff and HDR students have access to QUT OneDrive, however there are limitations to using the platform for research data storage (as opposed to general/personal file storage):

  • Sensitive data should not be stored in QUT OneDrive – the Research Data Storage Service (RDSS) should be the only solution used to store sensitive data.
    • If researchers need to share sensitive data files, it is recommended they use CloudStor to do so, as encryption occurs during transfer.

  • Master copies should not be stored in QUT OneDrive – the RDSS should be the only solution used to store master copies of research data.
    • Multiple backup copies of data in RDSS are housed in multiple locations and can be recovered.

  • Researchers are restricted to 1TB of storage with QUT OneDrive
    • Researchers have unlimited storage in the RDSS.

The QUT digital data storage options table has been updated on both the staff and student gateways:

Clicking on ‘QUT OneDrive’ either in the table or in the list below it will take users to pages about file storage and sharing (staff) and OneDrive (students).  Responsibility for maintaining these webpages belong to DBS and they will soon be updated to reflect QUT OneDrive’s research data storage capability. 

It should be noted that if QUT OneDrive is sanctioned for research data storage, this also means the other applications in the Office365 suite are also sanctioned, however, we don’t recommend research data be stored in those applications.  As an example, if an interview is conducted using Microsoft Teams, the recording will save in Microsoft Stream.  We recommend moving the recording (master copy) to the RDSS for safe storage. 

Proprietary Global News Sentiment Index

Coronavirus News Sentiment Data.

The Ravenpack Coronavirus Media Monitor is a live and interactive website that tracks the latest info on the novel Coronavirus by analysing news sources across the globe to identify key trends and patterns emerging from the news media. A series of indexes track the levels of media coverage by country and highlight some of the most important themes including the levels of panic, media hype, and fake news. Data on the website is sourced from RavenPack and other news sources and updated hourly while news is displayed in real-time. This data is provided for open use on the internet, however, is a derived dataset developed using proprietary methodology - please note this is not a library subscription database.

The full web visualisation is available at: https://coronavirus.ravenpack.com/ with direct download link below, dataset overview, research outputs to date and methodology document.

Historical (updated daily to include the latest data from the past day):
https://coronavirus.ravenpack.com/data/1.4/export/ravenpack_coronavirus_data_historical.zip
This .zip file contains three .csv files for our historical data from Jan 2020 to date:

Datasets:
* ravenpack_coronavirus_countries_historical.csv: 
This file contains one row of data per country per day and includes the historical Covid-19 cases and RavenPack indicator data.
* ravenpack_coronavirus_topics_historical.csv: 
The Trending Topics data shows the main themes mentioned together with Coronavirus keywords in the media. Each ratio is the % value of all news stories about the Coronavirus and each topic compared to the total of all news stories about Coronavirus.
* ravenpack_coronavirus_entities_historical.csv: 
This contains the data for entities being mentioned in the news with Coronavirus keywords.