This book provides a comprehensive overview with practical strategies and contemporary teaching techniques. Written to address the Australian Curriculum, Humanities and Social Sciences and covers all four strands of the subject: History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business. Cross-curriculum priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures, Australian’s engagement with Asia and Sustainability are incorporated. Rich with activities, exercises and practical tasks to support learning and help apply theory to practice.
Prepares teachers to develop and implement programs in the broad field of social and environmental studies, including humanities, history and geography. Blends theory with practical approaches to provide a basis for teaching that is engaging, inquiry based and relevant to students' lives.
Enquiry processes are central to learning and teaching in both History and Geography. This book aims to demystify and justify the approaches, identifying their common features and unique attributes. Combines theoretical coverage with practical examples. Covering issues such as planning and assessment in history and geography, using resources in teaching and exploring creative and cross-curricular approaches in humanities.
Through case studies of teachers and students in diverse classrooms and from diverse backgrounds, shows children engaging in authentic historical investigations, often in the context of an integrated social studies curriculum.The premise is that children can engage in valid forms of historical inquiry-collecting and analyzing data, examining the perspectives of people in the past, considering multiple interpretations, and creating evidence-based historical accounts.
Specifically presents ways to use primary sources as means to explore the community where the students reside, to make connections to past and present events, and to research a specific change agent in a particular place. Contains: questions and pedagogical strategies for critically reading, viewing, and responding to varied authentic artifacts; techniques for interacting with primary materials;.modifications to meet the needs of diverse learners; assessment techniques; information tied to technology and the new literacies.
This book is packed with fun and exciting activities that enable the child to make sense of the world that they live in and relate it to their own experiences in order to enhance their personal and social development.
Key databases for education literature including journals, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers and books and ERIC Digests. These are one to two page records, written specifically for teachers, administrators, and other practitioners, which provide an overview of information on a given topic. This search also includes the full Education Source database.
Multidisciplinary database collection that provides mostly fulltext access to journal and newspaper articles, ebooks, conference papers and theses. TIP: Select Proquest Education and use the Advanced Search.