Video Art and Culture

Some books about video art

A history of video art : the development of form and function
Call Number: 700.904 49
Video Art
Call Number: 702.81 33
Film and video art
Call Number: 791.43 518
Digital Currents: art in the electronic age
Call Number: 700.105 13 /3
Video art by Sylvia Martin
Call Number: 778.59 108
Video Art
Call Number: 702.81 44

Streaming Festival

The Streaming Festival is an art event for independent artists exhibiting unconventional audio visual art from all over the world.

In addition to the festival, there is a growing permanent collection with video art which can be viewed at all times. In the Video art database you can find interviews and background info on video's screened at the Streaming Festival. Click below to go to the Home Page of the Streaming Festival.

Streaming Festival for Audio Visual Art

Internet Resources

The Australian Video Art Archive
VideoArt.net - the underground video artists network
By carefully curating thousands of video artworks by hundreds of artists all over the world, Videoart.net prides itself in providing the most rousing, thought-provoking, unprecedented, and significant works in film and video currently being produced.
Electronic Arts Intermix - Media Art
The Creators Project
The Creators Project celebrates visionary artists across multiple disciplines who are using technology in innovative ways to push the boundaries of creative expression.
Art Babble - Video Art
ArtBabble was conceived and built by a cross-departmental team at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. It is intended to showcase art video content in high quality format from a variety of sources and perspectives.
MediaArtTube - Youtube Channel

The Guggenheim's take on video art

The top videos selected by the YouTube Play jury were revealed at the Guggenheim Museum in New York. They comprise the ultimate YouTube playlist: a selection of the most unique, innovative, groundbreaking video work being created and distributed online during the past few years.

The History of Video Art

Expanded Cinema: Art, performance, film.
Call Number: 790.2 32
The Place of Artists' Cinema : space, site and screen
Call Number: 700.904 55
Art and the Moving Image: a critical reader
Call Number: 700.9 27
Vertigo : A century of multimedia art from futurism to the Web
Call Number: 709.0407 33
Synthetics : aspects of art and technology in Australia, 1956-1975
Call Number: 776.099409045 1
Before Projection: video sculpture 1974-1995

Databases

Why use journals and databases???

Journals focus on a particular subject, and each issue of a journal will contain articles on current developments, or industry trends, or the latest news, or research.

The easiest way to find these articles is to keyword search in a database that has all the info about all the articles in the best journals for your topic.

The best databases at QUT on video art are:

Performing Arts Periodicals Database
PAPD covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art and more. The database currently includes over 345,000 records, the majority of which index issues from the most recent six years of each journal.
Project Muse
Indexes nearly 250 journals, with over 170 in fulltext, in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music and film, and more.
** You can search across both JSTOR and Project Muse using an advanced search feature
Art & Architecture Complete
Film and Television Literature Index
Factiva