Databases

Key Databases

A+ Education (via Informit)
Articles from Australian education journals covering all levels and aspects of education.
tag-community access
AustLIt: The resource for Australian literature
Creative literature, poems, plays, novels and short stories as well as criticisms and reviews of Australian literature, literary aspects of stage, film and sound productions and awards.
tag-community access
Australian Public Affairs Fulltext (APAFT) (via Informit)
Editorials, opinion pieces, essays and other articles from Australian magazines and professional journals covering political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.
EBSCOhost databases
Useful databases include Academic Search Elite (multidisciplinary), Education Source, ERIC, Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts
ERIC plus Education Source (via EBSCOhost)
Key databases for education literature including journals, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers and books and ERIC Digests. These are one to two page records, written specifically for teachers, administrators, and other practitioners, which provide an overview of information on a given topic.
This search also includes the full Education Source database.
Project MUSE Humanities collection
Peer-reviewed journals and books in the humanities discipline including history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music, film and more.
tag-community access
ProQuest databases
Useful databases include Education Database, Research Library (multidisciplinary)

Key Databases for Classroom Resources

Scootle
Digital resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum including interactive, multimedia resources as well as audio, photo and video resources. It includes work samples, collections of curriculum resources, teacher ideas and tools to create learning resources. Register (free) to access content.
Hint: the Advanced Search allows you to limit by Year level (F to 12), Learning area (e.g. Arts), Resource type (e.g. Interactive)
EBSCOhost databases
Access Primary Search for elementary school resources and MAS Ultra: School Edition for high school resources
JacPLUS
Educational resources for secondary school in all key learning areas aligned to the Australian Curriculum including lesson plans, e-textbooks, assessment tools, educational games and a range of applications.

Many of the current textbooks used in Queensland are available in the eBookPLUS format. These provide additional resource overview document and a resource summary, which is available through the Prelims chapter of most eBookPLUS titles.
The Source (by Magpies)
Information about children's literature from around the world with a focus on Australian and New Zealand books. Provides publication details and summaries of each book.
OER Commons
Freely available open educational resources for teaching and learning.

Videos for the classroom

StoryBox library
Videos of stories by Australian authors and illustrators, being read aloud by storytellers.
Education in Video (via Alexander Street)
Contains videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
tag-community access
Kanopy videos (documentaries, films and interviews)
Online streaming videos including documentaries, feature films, interviews and other short video series. Covering a large number of topics including Education.
Topics include:
- The Arts (architecture, dance, design, fashion, literature, music, performance art and visual arts)
- Business plus media and communications
- Education
- Health (nursing, diet and nutrition, psychology, social work and human services, sports and fitness)
- Sciences and engineering, information technology and library science
- Law and criminal justice
ClickView
QUT's official service for off-air broadcast videos.
tag-video
tag-BUS
tag-LAW
tag-STEM
Staff can embed ClickView videos to Canvas, access off-air recordings and a wealth of films, documentaries and more for teaching purposes; including the creation of Interactive Videos to use in lectures and tutorials.
Students can view videos selected by teaching staff in the Libraries section, upload videos to their 1GB of personal Workspace for editing into clips or creating Interactive Videos to share with other QUT students or staff.
ARTS:LIVE
Visual and performing arts videos and associated teaching materials aligned to the National Curriculum. For primary and secondary students.

Databases

Key Databases

Key Databases for Classroom Resources

Videos for the classroom

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners