Skip to Main Content

Internet resources

Indigenous online

The Internet provides access to a large range of resources on Indigenous matters. However, the quality of the resources varies, and as part of your research process, you will need to evaluate each web site. There are guidelines for evaluating information which can help you with the evaluation process. Here is a small sample of Internet guides and resources.

Aboriginal Languages of Australia - This site has annotated links to 180 resources for about 60 languages. About 25% of these resources are produced or published by Indigenous people.

AIATSIS: Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies - The Institute undertakes and encourages scholarly, ethical community-based research, holds a priceless collection of films, photographs, video and audio recordings and the world’s largest collections of printed and other resource materials for Indigenous Studies, and has its own publishing house.

 Archives of Australia: Indigenous Resources - This page, as part of the Archives of Australia network, offers opportunities for the promotion and protection of collections of value to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It provides annotated links to websites which provide information about archival resources relating to Indigenous Australians.

Culture and recreation.gov.au - Indigenous Arts, Culture and Heritage -  Australian Government site providing links to information about Indigenous Arts, Culture and Heritage.

Indigenous Library Services - Presents information about accessing the resources of the Queensland State Library's Indigenous Library Service (ILS) plus links to electronic resources and Internet sites.

Indigenous Studies Research Network - Promotes Indigenous research and information exchange about Indigenous knowledges and research world wide. The Indigenous Studies Research Network is based at QUT.

Commonwealth Government Indigenous Portal - The Indigenous portal provides you with up to date information on programs and services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.