EconLit contains a variety of peer-reviewed, scholarly information including: Articles, Books & Working Papers. Subject descriptors that appear as JEL codes are appended to articles, working papers and other publications in EconLit. JEL Codes can be helpful in narrowing a search to a specific subject area of economics and when combined with keywords are a sound method to locate applied economics research.
In additional to peer-reviewed information ABI/INFORM also features country-and industry-focused reports and data in series from EIU and Oxford Economics. ABI/INFORM includes a broader range of business information and is useful for locating a particular business issue across both peer-reviewed and generalist / trade information.
Elgar Online provides Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Books and Research Reviews. Short literature reviews on key concepts and topics in Economics are a useful way to quickly find major researchers, theorists or economists in a given area and provide a rapid overview of the context, development and debates of economics theories or topics. To locate these reviews use the search facility provided using either common language or disciplines specific terms then filter the returned results using the search facet filter.
Informit primarily features a broad scope of research focusing upon Australia across a broad range of subject areas related to Indigenous culture, health, legal and regulatory scholarship, policy commentary and social science research.
RePEc is an online collection largely consisting of economics and finance working papers an. Working papers are often early versions of manuscripts produced and shared by economists and academics for feedback. Often such working papers are subsequently refined and submitted to academic journals for peer-review and publishing. Searching working papers in addition to published articles is a useful way of locating current issues or ideas and is a ready way to gauge emerging research on a topic or theory. Always check to see if there is a published version of any paper and locate the published article if available.
SSRN is a open-access repository for scholarly papers in the social sciences, business, and law. Much like subject-specific repositories such as RePec, SSRN contains early scholarly research in the form of working papers. Economics subject descriptors (JEL codes) are supplied in a standalone index through which users may browse towards indexed papers.
The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is a public research university located in London, England. Provided here is the LSE research repository as a entry point for locating economics research papers - start with the top level theory or context for which you are searching research (use the in-page search facility also Ctrl-'F' as a shortcut) to gauge available papers or use the in-built search facility to devise a keyword or subject heading search using JEL Codes.
Search across almost all of the library's fulltext articles, ebooks, books and more.
Australian and international newspapers and journals plus global company information. This database is useful for rapidly retrieving multiple news items across all major Australian newspapers and news publications.
Factiva contains the digital version of The Australian Financial Review at afr.com and can be accessed by locating this edition via the 'Source' field directly underneath the Factiva text search box. AFR Online via Factiva is available approximately 72 hours after the article appears online and in some cases appears under a different title.
Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics by Donald Rutherford
It's an international dictionary that includes succinctly explained A to Z entries and definitive explanations of the key terms, accompanied by a short bibliography and comprising supplementary online definitions.
This book delves into economic concepts such as opportunity costs, profit maximization, greed, business ethics, monopoly, economic growth, and entrepreneurship through examining how such theories manifest in popular film narrative.
the EE Handbooks series provide an overview of many aspects of a particular field of economics. This book series is useful for applied economics research in particular environmental and social conditions. Presented here are many such handbooks published by Edward Elgar. Page through results or revise the sample search with title or subject keywords to pinpoint relevant volumes.
This is where you will find census data, economic indicators, consumer price index, population demographics & social trends. ABS regularly reports on the state of the Australian economy in key series titled: 'Key Economic Indicators' and 'Business Indicators'. Regional series, 'Data by Region' , also report on regional economies outside of the large urban centres.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) Data and statistics is the best source of detailed and comparable worldwide economic and financial statistics. Key series included World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Report, Fiscal Monitor.