This is the "Comparison of Programs" page of the "Bibliographic Management Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bibliographic Management Tools  

This guide briefly overviews four bibliographic management tools which are alternatives to Endnote. They are Zotero, Mendeley, BibTex and Papers.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.qut.edu.au/bibliographic_management_tools Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Comparison of Programs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to choose

Wikipedia maintains a comparison table of many bibliographic management tools.

The following articles compare, in easy-to-read styles, the characteristics of several tools, including Zotero, Mendeley and BibTex:

Alexander, Christine (2010) Comparison of Reference Management Software. [Unpublished Library Guide from the Genetics Library at Cambridge University].

Ovadia, Steven (2011). Managing Citations with Cost-Free Tools. Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarian , 30 (2), p. 107.  [QUT username and password are needed to view this article].

The following video [8minutes30] is a researcher's tips on how to investigate and decide on the best bibliographic software for your needs; he touches on criteria such as collaboration, system compatability, free v cost and functionality.

 

Comparisons of Bibliographic Software



Endnote [& EndNote Web as indicated]
Mendeley    BibTeX Zotero Papers
Free of charge
No But QUT has a site license. So there is no cost to individual staff and students whilst at QUT.  
Yes Yes Yes No But offering a free 30 day trial  
Software based on desktop or Web  

EndNote: On desktop

Endnote Web:

Desktop & web component On desktop Desktop (& can be synchronised on Zotero server) On desktop
Referencing Styles Over 5000 styles Over 4000 styles Most journals or publishers that support LaTeX have a customized BibTeX bibliographic style files. 44 are exemplified in this FAQ.
Over 1000 styles Over 1600 styles
Direct Export from Database Over 50 databases allow direct export of records into Endnote including online searching of the QUT Library Catalogue

Direct export from about 12 database vendors and web sites.

Google's system for searching scholarly literature provides BibTeX format citations if you enable the option in 'Scholar Preferences'.

100s of web resources allow direct export of records.

Direct export from many popular databases including IEEE Xplore, PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar and more. .

Word Processing integration   MS Word
MS Word, Open Office, Google docs
LaTeX, plus there are additional programmes to enable compatability with MS Word MS Word, Open Office and Google Docs MS Word, Pages, Mellel, Open Office and Google Docs
Mobile & iPad No Yes No No Yes
Ability to edit citation styles Yes Yes No Request new styles from Zotero or create using CSL (XML) Yes
Sharing libraries

No  Endnote

YesThe Endnote Web component enables sharing of Libraries

Yes via Web interface No Yes via Zotero server Yes Share through Livfe
Annotate PDFs No Yes No No Yes
Text highlighting No Yes No Yes Yes
Add comments Yes Yes No Yes Yes
Built-in full text indexed search No Yes No Partial Requires additional application Yes
Extraction of citation details from PDFs without embedded metadata No Yes No Yes YesWill attempt to find metadata from online repositories if connected to Internet.
Browser independent
Yes Yes Yes No Yes
Readership statistics & community tags No Yes No No No
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip