This is the "Books and more" page of the "Chemical Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Start looking for resources in the Chemical Sciences with the aid of this guide.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.qut.edu.au/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Books and more Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick and smart catalogue searching

Quick:  Use any keyword(s) or beginning title words to search, locate and access books, ebooks, DVD's and other library resources.


Smart:
  Once you have found a highly relevant item, use the assigned subject terms (or 'tags') to locate similar items. You can also browse subject lists. Some examples of chemistry related subject terms are listed below.

 Catalogue record for Practical environmental analysis.

 
Hint:
  For even greater flexibility, use the drop-down menus in Advanced Search, enter the subject, and then add keywords to other search boxes to refine your search.

 

Electronic book collections


American Chemical Society (ACS) Symposium Series Online
Publication Date: 2009-2012
The ACS Symposium Series contains high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. Each chapter is carefully authored by an expert in the field, and the collection of chapters edited by an internationally recognized leader in the field. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Symposium Series Archive Online
Publication Date: 1974-2008
The ACS Symposium Series Archives contains a total of 1,278 books and 19,170 chapters inclusive of all ACS Symposium Series titles from 1974-2008 as well as the full Advances in Chemistry Series from 1950-1998.

ASM Handbooks Online
Provides access to the fulltext of 24 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Produced by the American Society of Materials International.

CHEMnetBASE
A collection of major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall plus CRC Press.

EBL Ebook Library
Search across a selection of thousands of titles across all subject areas.

ebrary
Search across a selection of thousands of titles across all subject areas.

ENGnetBASE(via CRCnetBASE)
A collection of over 2000 ebooks in engineering, including handbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

Knovel
A collection of over 2400 ebook titles in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) ebook Collection via Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing (all titles including those published in 2011)
The current RSC eBook collection includes around 1000 titles covering all areas of chemical sciences from core chemistry, food science, nanoscience and biosciences.

ScienceDirect Chemistry eBook Collection (2009-2012)
The ScienceDirect chemistry ebook collection provides access to ebooks in chemistry published by Elsevier from 2009 to 2012.

ScienceDirect Energy eBook Collection (2012)
The ScienceDirect energy ebook collection provides access to ebooks in energy published by Elsevier from 2008 to 2012.

ScienceDirect Forensics eBook Collection (2009-2012)
The ScienceDirect engineering ebook collection provides access to ebooks in forensics published by Elsevier from 2009 to 2012.

ScienceDirect Materials Science Ebook Collection (2008-2012)
The ScienceDirect materials science ebook collection provides access to ebooks in materials science published by Elsevier from 2008 to 2012.

SpringerLink ebooks - Chemistry & Materials Science (2005-2011)
A collection of ebooks in chemistry and materials science published by Springer from 2005-2011.

 

Chemistry, Physics and Mechanical Engineering new titles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Key Books

Cover Art
A Guide to the Complete Interpretation of Infrared Spectral of Organic Structures - Noël P. G. Roeges
Call Number: 547.046 1
ISBN: 0471939986
Publication Date: 1994
Presents a compilation of the infrared absorption regions of ninety of the most important organic molecular fragments. This highly practical guide introduces the reader to a straightforward technique for determining all the fundamental vibrations of a molecular fragment.

Cover Art
ASTM Standards Source
Publication Date: Updated to January 2012
ASTM is a leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. Today, some 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade and build consumer confidence.

Cover Art
Atmospheric chemistry and physics - John H. Seinfeld, Spyros N. Pandis
ISBN: 9781601195951
Publication Date: 2006
Examines atmospheric chemistry today, including Chemistry of the stratosphere and troposphere, Formation, growth, dynamics, thermodynamics and properties of aerosols, Meteorology of air pollution, Transport, diffusion, and removal of species in the atmosphere and more.

Cover Art
Characterization of Materials - Elton N. Kaufmann (Editor)
ISBN: 0471268828
Publication Date: 2003
Up-to-date coverage of materials characterisation techniques including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy and more.

Cover Art
Chemical Engineers' Handbook - Robert H. Perry; Don W. Green
ISBN: 9780071422949
Publication Date: 2007
Includes new information on condensers, reboilers, evaporators and vessels; multicomponent and enhance distillation including azeotropic, extractive, and reactive methods; gas absorption processes with data on plate performance, plate design, and packed towers, super-critical fluid and membrane separation processes; biochemical separation processes; materials of construction and materials for process applications.

Cover Art
ChemSpider - Database of Chemical Structures and Property Predictions
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Cover Art
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Publication Date: Continuously updated
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of comppounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Formerly available from the following products:
* Dictionary of Analytical Reagents
* Dictionary of Carbohydrates
* Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
* Dictionary of Natural Products
* Dictionary of Organic Compounds
* Dictionary of Drugs

Cover Art
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II - J. A. McCleverty (Editor); Thomas J. Meyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780080437484
Publication Date: 2003
Surveys new developments, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.

Cover Art
Comprehensive Membrane Science and Engineering - Enrico Drioli (Editor); Lidietta Giorno (Editor)
ISBN: 9780444532046
Publication Date: 2010
Covers all aspects of membrane science and technology--from basic phenomena to the most advanced applications and future perspectives.

Cover Art
Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology, Five-Volume Set - David Andrews (Editor-In-Chief); Gregory Scholes (Editor-In-Chief); Gary Wiederrecht (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123743961
Publication Date: 2010
Designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its five volumes cover a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences.

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, Third Edition - Thomas J. Bruno; Paris D. N. Svoronos
ISBN: 9781420080438
Publication Date: 2011
Researchers in organic chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical science, forensics, and environmental science often make routine use of chemical analysis in their daily activities and this book is the first stop for reference information when designing those analyses.

Cover Art
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Publication Date: Annual
A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.

Cover Art
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook - Pradyot Patnaik
ISBN: 0071410600
Publication Date: 2004
Conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips and numerous tables and charts are provided.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Engineering Materials - Uwe Erb; Harald Keller
Call Number: 620.1103 11
ISBN: 0471444367
Publication Date: 2004
Contains more than 25,000 generic, trade-named, and trademarked engineering materials, all alphabetically arranged and complete with full explanations.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry - Robert A. Meyers (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0471976709
Publication Date: 2000
Covers all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Applied Spectroscopy - David L. Andrews (Editor)
Call Number: 621.361 10
ISBN: 9783527407736
Publication Date: 2009
Covers the theory, hardware and applications, features colour figures as well as abstracts and detailed tables of contents for easy access. A must-have for those applying spectroscopy in all branches of physics, chemistry and biology.


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering - James R. Pfafflin (Editor); J. R. Pfafflin; E. N. Ziegler
Call Number: 628.03 3 /5
ISBN: 9780849398438
Publication Date: 2006
Spans the entire spectrum of environmental science and engineering.

Cover Art
Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook - Jack Cazes
Call Number: 543.07 9 /3
ISBN: 0824753488
Publication Date: 2005
Studies a vast array of modern technologies and instrumentation practices - providing a firm foundation in theory and methodology, as well as current applications in the field.

Cover Art
Handbook of near-infrared Analysis - Donald A. Burns; Emil W. Ciurczak
ISBN: 9781420007374
Publication Date: 2007
Presents coverage of the instrumentation, computerisation, calibration and method development in NIR spectroscopy.

Cover Art
Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference - D. Sangeeta; John R. LaGraff
ISBN: 9781420041422
Publication Date: 2004
Expands upon new chemical precursors available to materials scientists, the applications of those materials, and existing or emerging topics where materials chemistry plays an important role, such as in microelectronics, surface science and nanotechnology.

Cover Art
Instrumentation Reference Book - Walt Boyes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780750683081
Publication Date: 2009
This book addresses the various applications that may be needed with reference to the practical techniques that are available for the instrumentation or measurement of a specific physical quantity or quality. This makes it of direct interest to anyone working in the process, control and instrumentation fields where these measurements are essential.

Cover Art
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology - National Research Council Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9781591244912
Publication Date: 2003
Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those in chemistry, physics, and engineering.

Cover Art
Materials Handbook - Francois Cardarelli
ISBN: 9781846286681
Publication Date: 2008
Also available as an eBook
Provides access to the accurate physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class.

Cover Art
Nanotechnology - Günter Schmid, Harald Fuchs, Rainer Waser (Editors)
ISBN: 9783527317233
Publication Date: 2008
Reference set in 9 volumes, providing an excellent, in–depth overview of everything you need to know about nanotechnology and nanoscience.

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry - John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199204632
Publication Date: 2008
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,300 entries - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to studentsin these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.

Cover Art
Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater - prepared and published jointly by American Public Health Association, American Water Works Association and Water Environment Federation
Call Number: 628.161 20 /22
ISBN: 9780875530130
Publication Date: 2012
This edition contains new and revised methods for the examination of water and wastewater.

Cover Art
The Merck Index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.

Cover Art
The Systematic Identification of Organic Compounds - Ralph L. Shriner; Christine K. F. Hermann; Terence C. Morrill; David Y. Curtin; Reynold C. Fuson
Call Number: 547.0028 6 /8
ISBN: 9780471215035
Publication Date: 2003
Explains how to identify organic compounds through step-by-step instructions. Topics include elemental analysis, solubility, infrared, nuclear magnetic resonance and mass spectra; classification tests; and preparation of a derivative.

Cover Art
Wiley Encyclopedia of Composites - Assunta Borzacchiello (Editor); Stuart M. Lee (Editor); Luigi Nicolais (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470128282
Publication Date: 2012
Written by prominent international experts from industry and academia, the Wiley Encyclopedia of Composites, Second Edition presents over 260 new and revised articles addressing the new technological advances in properties, processing, formulation, design, analysis, evaluation, manufacture, testing, and reliability of composites. The entire range of industrial applications of composites is covered. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for researchers in both library and professional settings and provides information about composite materials and related processing technologies.

Cover Art
Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities - Richard P. Pohanish; Stanley A. Greene
ISBN: 9780470523308
Publication Date: 2009
A portable reference on reactive substances to guide all personnel.

Cover Art
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry - Glenn D. Considine (Editor)
ISBN: 0471615250
Publication Date: 2005
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip