Databases

Instead of browsing through journals, you may wish to use databases to locate specific articles. Locating journal articles is different from locating books. The Library Search system will tell you if QUT Library holds a particular journal but it will not provide information about individual journal articles. However, the journal databases will help you to locate references to journal articles, and sometimes the abstract and full-text of the articles.

The key to finding suitable articles is to use the appropriate keywords and search strategy. More information about searching databases is available on Study Smart.

For this topic, it is best to use the Australian databases via INFORMIT SEARCH. Some of the useful databases are listed below. If you are using the international databases, eg, those hosted via EBSCOHOST or PROQUEST, include the word Australia* as one of your keywords/concepts.

Useful and relevant databases:

A+ Education
Australian education journals.
AEI-ATSIS
Australian Education Index - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset
AHB-ATSIS
Australian Heritage Bibliography - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset
APAIS-ATSIS
APAIS - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset

Australian Public Affairs Fulltext (APAFT) (via Informit)
Editorials, opinion pieces, essays and other articles from Australian magazines and professional journals covering political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

FAMILY-ATSIS
Australian Family & Society Abstracts - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset
Learning Ground - Indigenous Education Research Database
Learning Ground is a gateway to the latest national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education. Learning Ground spans early childhood, post school education, adult learning, and encompasses areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.

Databases

Databases

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners